Fiction logo

Roadie

Trip

By Alex JennettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Roadie
Photo by Joshua Koblin on Unsplash

I have always wanted to go on my own private road trip, with a few of my friends, to see the country. To fly by on the seat of my pants and just let the good times roll. It has been a dream of mine since I was a young child. Submitting only to my musical whim of another time gone by. It might seem a little childish to you but it is not to me. I have worked really hard to hide this impression from the outside world. Two is better than one, I just thought I would put that in there, to see if you were paying attention to the story.

So anyways about the road trip. It was a far fetch from the ordinary and suprisingly, it seems to take up most of my time as well. I love traveling by car. It gives me the freedom to express my self in none other than words, that you would not ordinarily recognise. Blue skies all the way into neverland. The tires on the car were extraordinary and they would expand with the knowledge of the road. Curving every twist and moving towards something that would be great for everyone.

In the meantime, I will transform my knowledge of road trips to transcend the ever present meandering of a great child. A child that likes to go to different places in the rain. A difference of many chances that the world has to take. It would be on edge the whole time. And then where would we end up?

The rest of the crew on the trip had an outburst of great ideas. They would end up following the path of least resistance. Through the mountains and into the woods, this trip would take me somewhere I had never been before. And that is the point of a road trip. To voyage into the great unknown and make some new memories along the way.

Pleasant memories to set aside and follow until the end of my days. The road is a weary place. Potholes, tumble-weeds, nuance of deserts, that I have to pass through, to get to the other side of my travels. I love driving, leaving the city behind me and the troubles it holds. To extend my long brown hair and let it float in the wind. My beard covered in the dust and grime of the road.

Allowing myself to relax and let the good times roll through. In the meantime i will adore the companionship of my family traveling with me. And it will be a good time. To contemplate what I have left behind me. The cadillac I drive is nice and pink and reflective in the setting sun. It reminds me that I can have all that I want in the world and will stand the test of time throughout the day.

Making out on the road is also nice.

Sending shivers down my spine, but not in front of the kid. That can wait for another time and place. Maybe in the motel, that we have already passed in the rear view mirror. The dirty bedsheets and linen smelling walls, that should put me in the mood.

And even if it doesn't I still have the road to lull me to sleep. It will be comfortable as well. The back seat of my car is nice and plush. With the remanants of a lover that I met in my past life and have rekindle in my soon to be present life. This should be a wild adventure. Let us cuddle up and enjoy the stars.

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Alex Jennett

Just starting to publish my works. Enjoy listening to music and writing poetry. I am surprised that since I started writing, within 2 years, with Vocal I have created 78 stories. Music and the written word, help me ease my high anxiety.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.