Fiction logo

Reverie

a tale of love & the cost of destiny

By Olivia RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Reverie
Photo by Hanne Hoogendam on Unsplash

At first, my life seemed a fair trade for the promise of everlasting fame. To live in the hearts of all was a gift bestowed upon me from the Gods. Even if I had the mind to refuse, prophecy left me bound at the heel and wrapped in immortality. Perhaps the promise of eternal life would be enough for a mortal, but what was life without the adoration and praise of every Greek man, woman, and child? They will sing my name until the end of time. Until the world goes up in flames, leaving only ash and dust. And tell tales of the quickness of my legs and the prowess behind my spear, which would inevitably guide Myrmidon men to war. Despite my mother's desperate pleas, Zeus allowed her to be seized by my father, king of the Myrmidons. To quiver in the guise of destiny would be cowardly and a waste of my talents. I would undoubtedly wither into a nameless, barren soul. Though I was grateful for my 'half-god' status, my mortality often left me weighing the worth, but to speak in such a way would be an insult to the Gods. So to keep my mother's wrath at bay, I learned to keep my head high and chest puffed forward.

Phthia was home to many boys who'd been exiled. My father took in sons from all over the region, cast out of their homes for various crimes, in hopes of giving them a second chance. If nothing else, they provided extra hands and were great company at times. In this case, it was said that he killed a nobleman's son, and the price for such was typically death. But when he arrived at the palace, merely a guilt-ridden boy carrying his weight in riches, my father did not refuse him. I'd spend my days playing as a prince, but once the night settled in, you'd find me amongst the outcasts eating dinner, trading stories, and making up games. Naturally, they looked up to me and fought over the chance to laugh and play with the warrior-to-be. He was different, though. He ate away from the group, and when they were given leave to run amuck, he could be found in some dingy corner idly rolling dice. He was nothing special to everyone else, but I was intrigued from the moment I caught his gaze. And he would become the greatest gift that I would ever receive.

Fate had led both of us to study and train on Mount Pelion. There, we would learn the art of spear and sword, along with the ways of men and war. Nothing had ever been challenging to me before, but he excelled where I did not with his skill in medicine. I grew into a man, and he followed closely behind me. Best of all, we were free to enjoy the present moment unapologetically from the sun's rise and through the dark of night. From the heat of the summer months, then nestled together through the chill of winter. We spent every day like this until the call came. We often ran through the thick trees, chasing each other until our breath went heavy. I'd go after him, staying just behind him even though we both knew I was faster. I liked to let him win almost as much as I loved watching his lean figure cut through the wind. I did a lot of watching in those days. The seasons as they changed, his body as it stretched, and the rise and fall of his chest as he slept. The imminent death that hung above my head never caused fear before; the reward had always been more enticing than any earthly possessions. But as we lay together beneath a pear tree, it was clear I now had someone to lose. His lips were sweet with fruit against mine, and I'd hold him like this forever if I could. Even if only a minute were added to every day. Indeed Kronos could wield such power. It was foolish to dream, though. God's only care for lust and love was a game for mortals, thus rendering it worthless. But love often started wars and drove men to their deaths. Love was a tool that could build whole villages or destroy them just as easily. Love was lying beneath the shade of a tree with a pear in hand and my lover in another, pleading to the sky to let it last just a little while longer.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Olivia Robinson

too little to say, too much time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.