Fiction logo

Rest In Peace, Sweet Camelot

I Will Follow You

By David X. SheehanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Eddie circled the Joppa, but did not find Brenda’s car, so after risking his life getting back on to route 18, from a weirdly angled route 106, he headed to the Riviera Café, just a mile or so toward Bridgewater center.

He spotted her car and pulled in beside it, got out and walked in to their place for pizza, and one of the first places they drove to, when he first got his driver’s license. He looked over at their old booth and Brenda was sitting there, stirring a big glass of ice water. “Hey baby”, Eddie said and bent low to kiss her and give her a big squeeze, “how you doing?” Brenda smiled and said “guess what” and Eddie said quickly, “I know, you love me”. Brenda said, “I do, but there’s more today”. “What’s that mean?”, asked Eddie looking worried and concerned. Brenda looked Eddie in the eyes and said, “you know the part where the Doctor says the rabbit died?” Eddie said “yeah’. “Well, it did” Brenda said smiling her biggest smile ever. Eddie said, “you killed a rabbit?” He was pretending to be dumb, but he knew and proceeded to drape himself all over Brenda, wanting her to know how incredibly happy he was. That’s great, when? and how are you feeling? Do you know who the father is? and is it a boy or a girl? And I love you so much. Brenda tried her best to answer the tsunami of questions as fast as they came. “I don’t know the sex of the baby, but I hope he’s an Eddie Forest Junior”, Brenda said. The waitress came over and Eddie ordered two draft beers, “both for me, I’m drinking for two now.”

They knew this day would come, but had not put any time limit or number to when and how many. Eddie said, “lets have five or six” and Brenda said, “lets just have this one first.” Brenda’s due date was projected at November 22, 1963, and said “if I’m a little late, I could have the baby on Thanksgiving the 28th.” Eddie said humorously, “hope not” “I’m going to be at the field in East Bridgewater to watch the Westies football team kick some Viking butt, on Thanksgiving.” Moments like this usually earned Eddie a bop on the head, but Brenda just sat back and said, “well, I guess I’ll have to go sooner than later."

Eventually, Eddie got around to talking about his conversation with Dave, and Brenda didn’t seem too surprised. Eddie showed her the contents of the shoe box, and felt the new $100.00 bills, joking, saying he was paying for this date.

1963 $100 Bill

Feeling the new bills too, Brenda was far more concerned with why Dave was having to go to Louisiana and with whom. Eddie didn’t really know why, but it had to do with Frenchy having an aunt and friends down there, and wanted Dave to meet them. “I hope he takes care of himself”, smiling broadly Brenda said, I need help picking out maternity clothes and fixing up the spare bedroom into a first-class nursery”. Brenda and Eddie talked about the homosexual aspect of Dave’s revelation and though Eddie was a bit unnerved and not very understanding, Brenda had a more maternal view, her mind set was just being glad he had someone, “I always hated thinking of Dave being lonely and alone his whole life.” The waitress returned with Eddie’s beers and he ordered two linguica pizzas for his pregnant wife. “I’ll drink and you eat”, he said winking and slurping the frothier of the two glasses. Brenda did not argue.

“Let’s just go home in my car and we’ll pick yours up tomorrow morning, how’s that sound?” “OK by me”, Brenda said. The short ride home was comfortable, with Brenda pulled close up beside Eddie, the sound of the defroster removing the fogginess on the windshield from their breath. They listened to “I Will Follow Him”, by Little Peggy March, and Brenda squeezed herself even closer to Eddie; knowing, in her heart she would always follow him.

Historical
2

About the Creator

David X. Sheehan

I write my memories, family, school, jobs, fatherhood, friendship, serious and silly. I read Vocal authors and am humbled by most. I'm 76, in Thomaston, Maine. I seek to spread my brand of sincere love for all who will receive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.