Fiction logo

Reset Your Password: The Key of Reset

A journey through a reset world in search of the ultimate password.

By InnominairePublished about a year ago 5 min read
2
Reset Your Password: The Key of Reset
Photo by Onur Binay on Unsplash

I wake up to the sound of my alarm blaring in my ear. I groggily reach for my phone to reset my password, as I do every morning. But as I enter my usual code, I'm met with an error message.

"Incorrect password. Attempts remaining: 2."

My heart races as I try again, but to no avail. I have only one attempt left before my account is locked.

I jump out of bed and rush to my computer, frantically typing in my password over and over. But it's no use. My account is locked, and I can't access anything. I'm trapped in my own home, cut off from the world.

By Elina Emurlaeva on Unsplash

I try to call for help, but my phone is also locked. I run to the window, but the streets are deserted. I'm alone in a world that's been reset, and I have no idea what's happened.

As I sit and ponder, I realize the only way to survive is to find a way to reset my password, and quickly. I start to explore my tiny apartment, looking for any clues on how to reset my password. I find a book on my bookshelf, and open it to find a message written in the margins.

"To reset your password, you must venture into the Forbidden Forest and retrieve the 'Key of Reset' from the guardian of the forest."

I quivered as read Forbidden Forest.

By Derrick Cooper on Unsplash

The Forbidden Forest is a labyrinthine, shadowy, and enigmatic woodland that lies beyond the confines of my familiar realm. It is a place of formidable peril and uncertainty, replete with impenetrable thickets, yawning chasms, and ferocious beasts. I have been advised that none who enter the forest have ever emerged. My father had always warned me to stay away from the forest, saying

"It's a place of darkness, a place where nothing good comes out of it, stay away from it."

But despite the hazards, and my father's advice, I must traverse the Forbidden Forest to obtain the Key of Reset, the only means to access my account and subsist in the reset world.

I couldn't believe it, but I had no other choice. I grabbed my jacket and set off into the unknown.

As I walked through the forest, the trees grew taller and the air grew colder. I could hear strange noises in the distance and felt like I was being watched. But I pushed on, determined to find the key to reset.

The tree where the old man was sitting was a towering behemoth that stood at the very centre of the forbidden forest. It was a gnarled and twisted creature, with bark so rough and knotted that it seemed almost sentient. Its branches reached high into the sky, casting a dark and ominous shadow over the surrounding area. The trunk of the tree was so wide, that several people could stand around it and still not be able to encircle it.

The old man was sitting cross-legged at the base of the tree, his back leaning against the trunk, his gaze fixed on the horizon as if waiting for someone to come. He looked up at me with piercing eyes and said "You seek the Key of Reset?"

I nodded, unable to speak.

The old man reached into a knapsack and pulled out a small golden key. "Take this," he said, "but be warned, it will not be easy to use. Many obstacles and trials lay ahead."

By Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

I took the key, and with renewed determination, I set off back home.

As I walked back, I was met with all sorts of challenges. I had to navigate through a maze of thorns, cross a rickety bridge over a deep chasm, and even fight off a pack of wolves. The fight with the pack of wolves was a brutal and intense battle. As I walked through the forest, I heard the howls of wolves in the distance. I knew they were getting closer, and soon enough, I was surrounded by a pack of snarling, slavering beasts. They were massive and terrifying, their fur matted and bloodied, their eyes glowing with an eerie, feral light.

By Thomas Bonometti on Unsplash

I knew I had to defend myself, so I grabbed a nearby branch and prepared for the fight. The wolves lunged at me, but I was able to fend them off with my makeshift weapon. The fight was gruelling, the wolves were relentless and I was barely able to fend them off. The wolves were not giving up, they were biting my legs, and clawing at my arms, but I kept fighting. I was able to fend them off, one by one, until finally, the last wolf lay at my feet, its body limp and lifeless.

I was badly wounded, my clothes were torn, and my body was covered in scratches and bruises, but I knew I had to keep moving. I couldn't let the wolves defeat me, I had to get the Key of Reset and reset my password.

Despite my injuries, I was able to emerge victorious and continue on my quest to find the Key of Reset. But I finally made it back to my apartment.

I inserted the key into my computer, and to my amazement, it worked. I was able to reset my password and access my account. I felt a sense of relief wash over me, but I knew the trials were far from over.

After resetting my password, I looked out the window and was met with a world vastly different from the one I knew. The sky was obscured by a thick blanket of smog, casting a dull, orange glow over the city. The streets were littered with debris, and I could see the ruins of buildings looming in the distance. The once bustling city was now eerily quiet, with no sign of human life. Strange creatures roamed the streets, their forms are twisted and grotesque. It was as if the world had been plunged into a perpetual state of decay and destruction. The familiar world I knew was gone, replaced by a dystopian nightmare.

I knew that to survive in this new world, I would have to continue to reset my password and face whatever obstacles lay ahead.

The Key of Reset may have unlocked my account, but it also opened a world of unknown dangers and challenges. I would have to be constantly vigilant, always ready to reset my password and face whatever lay ahead.

Short StoryMysteryHorrorFantasyAdventure
2

About the Creator

Innominaire

Student | Creator | Motivator

🎯 Here to inspire people whilst I grow physically, mentally & spiritually.

🧠 Topics I write about: mindset, motivation, philosophy & Vocal challenges.

beacons.ai/innominaire

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.