Fiction logo

Reset Your Body Clock Or Leave! Part I

“I need sleep, and I refuse to take chemical-enhanced sleep aids. Your body clock is forcing me down that road.”

By Annelise Lords Published 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

“Where is she?” Janis’ roommate Lily’s voice called out as she walked on the treadmill in Yani’s Gym down the block from their apartment.

Janis pressed stop on the Nordic Track six hundred series treadmill as Lily stormed towards her glowing in anger.

Nancy, Melody, and Lisa, their friends halted their exercise and eased over to Janis.

“Why didn’t you tell me she is possessed?” Lily demands from Melody in anger, her eyes on Janis.

“What?” Melody asked because her recommendation sent Janis as a roommate with Lily.

“Every morning like a junkie desperate for a fix, she is up after five, when I am just dreaming about how Keanu and Wolverine were wooing me. One was begging me to fly to Paris with him and another wanted to take me on a world tour. Sometimes it’s Denzel, John Legend, or George Clooney.”

“Keanu is the only one not married,” Nancy notified.

“Hugh Jackman and his wife are separating,” Lisa adds.

Melody pinches Lisa who muffles her scream.

“What is wrong with you and these married men anyway?” Melody asks. “Don’t you have dreams about more guys who are single?”

“My dreams don’t know marital status,” she responds.

Lisa burst out laughing, then said, “Ouch!” After Melody gave her another pinch.

“A girl needs a few fantasies to help her fall asleep,” Lily shares.

“The new sleeping pill, I like it,” Lisa said, easing away as Melody reached to pinch her again.

“My body clock is set,” Janis explains.

“Reset it or find another place to live!” Lily said walking away.

“You can’t just reset your body clock!” Melody protest.

“I have reset mine,” Lily states, turning around.

“Really?” Melody asked, easing closer. “When?”

Lily elaborates, ignoring her question. “My shift changed from four to twelve midnight. I got home at one AM in the morning. By the time I shower, do my nightly self-care stuff, and am ready to take my fantasy pill, she wakes me up. Last night when Wolverine and Keanu were fighting to put the chocolate-covered strawberry in my mouth, she woke me up from the noise in the kitchen. Reset that body clock or leave!”

“All of us body clock is set,” Melody states.

“Then why didn’t you take her in as a roommate?” Lily questioned.

“She wanted somewhere closer to her job,” Melody explained. “And you wanted a roommate, remember!”

“Not one that is possessed!”

“Waking up at a set time every morning is discipline,” Janis educates.

“Now that’s the part that shocked me,” Lily explained, easing closer as other patrons inside removed their earphones and tuned in. “What time must you get to work in the mornings?”

“Eight-thirty AM,” Janis answered eyeing her in knotted brows.

“You woke up at 5:30 AM to get to an 8:30 job that is ten minutes away!” Lily screamed.

“I can’t help it if my body clock is set. Why isn’t yours?” Janis fought back.

Lily breathes in and out for a few moments, calming herself as a small crowd gathers around.

“Girl,” Lily said, gesticulating her fingers and explaining, “I need sleep, and I refuse to take a chemical-enhanced sleep aid. Your body clock is forcing me down that road. Now I was born a fighter, so when I am forced to do what I don’t want to do. . . .”

“Our rent is due in one week, I will find somewhere else to live,” Janis declares.

“Do you remember when we were in college and we had to wake up at a certain time?” Melody dragged in a Memory Moment.

“Like I said,” Lily states. “I reset my body clock.”

“Actually, we had to wake you up every morning or you would be late for class?” Lisa reminds her.

“Because our body clock was set, you never missed a class,” Melody reminded her.

“And you never took any form of employment that you have to go to work in the mornings either,” Nancy adds.

“And many times, you are still late,” Melody poured on shubbing her into a large memory Moment. “You make us late a few times too.”

Pouting in anger, Liliy, ordered, “Reset that body clock in one week or I throw out your stuff!” walking away.

Three days later, Janis’ body clock woke her up sending her thoughts on any solution to find affordable housing. Suddenly she heard a muffled sound. Her instincts bolted her up. It was repeated several times, and she followed it to Lily’s bedroom. Listening with one ear, her instincts alerted her that Lily was either having a nightmare or she was being attacked!

All humans have a body clock. For some of us, our body clock is set and becomes the secret to our success. For many who are unable to set their body clock, it can add to the reasons for their failures in life.

Is your body clock set? Does it add something positive to your life?

Thnak you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoy it.

PsychologicalthrillerHumorClassicalAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.