Fiction logo

Requiem of a Pear Tree

Memories

By Jimmy MartinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

“I remember well the kids first day of school. They came out of the house all spit and polished with every hair in place and faces shining with anticipation. So happy to be on their first step to adulthood. Of course, they didn’t think about it like that, but it was that indeed. Adulthood comes way too soon for many and not soon enough for others. I wonder why that is?”

“I’ve watched year after year as the kids have grown up. All the firsts. First day of school, first day of college, first love, last love, so on and so forth. I’ve always had an interest in them. I guess they have in me too, as they have climbed my branches and eaten my fruit with glee, year after year.”

“Here we are twenty plus years later. My life span is growing short, but theirs is just beginning. If I could have my way, I’d live until I saw all of them married and happy with children of their own, that would enjoy climbing my branches as each one of them have done. But, alas, my time grows short. So, I’d like to say with appreciation, I’m so thankful, you made me a part of your wonderful lives.”

“Here comes Rachel now. She always has loved setting under my branches to cool off in the hot summertime. Look she’s reaching for one of my pears. She loves the juicy freshness of a pear, newly picked. I hope it’s not too dry as my life sources have started to wan. I listen close as often she speaks her heart to me.”

“Oh, my old friend, your fruit is so sweet and delicious. I will miss you so when I move into town to my new apartment. But I promise I will return often and set under your cooling branches and enjoy your fruit.”

“Rachel, I will miss you too. So, you’re finally getting that apartment you’ve longed for? Moving out of your childhood home and into your new grown-up surroundings. I shall miss you; I wish for all, health and happiness.”

“Rachel is going back inside. I hope she enjoyed our brief time together. Hurts to my roots to think I may be gone before she returns and looks for me.”

“Here comes Zak. He’s getting married in a few days. He brought his bride to be with him the last time he paid me a visit and together they enjoyed one of my delicious pears. Such a sweet boy that Zak. I remember well the first time he cried under my branches about being grounded for something he had done. I offered him comfort as best I could. Now here he is a grown man, starting out on his own. I wish him and his loves only the best of what life affords. I love you Zak. I always have.”

“What’s Lily doing? Lily’s the baby. She graduated from high school this year. What a character she has always been. Quite the tom boy. She climbed my branches to the very top and yelled back down to her playmates. Oh, and she always shook my branches so my fruit would fall to the ground for all to enjoy. Now she’s grown. My how time flies.”

Lily reaches for one of my pears and says,

“Thank you, Pear Tree, for always being here for us. I shall miss my many climbs up into your strong branches, your cool shade in the summertime and especially your delicious fruit. I love you.”

“I love you too, Lily. I love you all. I’ll be here for you as long as nature allows. Please come visit me as often as you can as you all are growing up, and I am growing old.”

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.