Fiction logo

Renewal

One small song

By Frances Leah BrownPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
2

Renewal

Although it had been quiet for weeks, I hadn’t ventured outside. But this morning, I smelled something unexpected. It shook me from my torpor; I smelled greening earth. Spring.

I pulled on my boots and coat, wrapped my scarf around my head and face, and cracked open the door that led to the stairs. I crept down the stairs and out the front door of the building, momentarily blinded by sunlight. I’d forgotten. The warmth of it. I pushed my sleeves up to feel the light and heat on my skin, just for a moment. It felt like electricity. I stood, and took a breath of air that had that greening smell. My head swam, but I smiled, my lips cracking. I turned toward the smell of earth, and I walked toward the park.

There is was. The place I had once sat to drink a cup of coffee, or read a book. The benches were gone. Debris covered the ground. I walked slowly, staying wary, but I only saw the rats that had survived and were thriving. I didn’t focus my eyes on the objects that I passed, but continued to walk toward what had been my favorite spot, next to the small water run-off. I used to call it a stream. It had made beautifully soft music once. I now stood and looked at the dry path where the water had once run. Not a drop? I needed it to be alive. I had to hear it again. I walked toward the drain pipe that was the head of the stream. It was buried in debris. I used nearly all my strength, and moved the debris out away from the grated drain. A small trickle of water. I stared at it as it inched toward me. I knelt down and touched it. I scooped it up and smelled it, then touched it with my tongue. With shaking hands I sat, suddenly weeping as I scooped water and drank. I panted with the effort, and sat slumped by the water, keeping my hands in it. Then I heard something that stopped me. A robin? Somewhere there was a robin singing. I looked around frantically. Maybe I’d slipped off into sleep. Maybe I’d dreamed it. No! There! It was a robin’s song. I stood and stumbled toward a willow tree that was split down the middle, but a small branch had new leaves. I moved haltingly, aching to be closer. I couldn’t walk any more, so I crawled, and then there he was, that robin.

I rolled onto my back, reverently listening. I dug my fingers into the new grass, bringing the smell of earth up to me. I smiled, still weeping. This moment had been worth the risk of exposure. I giggled as I clutched my fingers deeper into the soil. I felt something hard and sat up slightly, expecting to see a pebble or shrapnel in my hand, but what I pulled from the grass was a small locket on a fine chain. A delicate thing, that looked impossibly beautiful in my hand. I sat up, my head spinning. I waited for the spinning to slow, and then wiped my hands on the grass. This object deserved all my attention. I opened it, my hands shaking. Inside was a tiny photo of a woman. Her smile was shy but full of sweetness. Her eyes were full of mischief, and crinkled at the corners. I looked at the other side of the locket and read a tiny script; “You bring me joy”. I held it to my chest. Someone had loved her so dearly, to carry her picture in a locket, near their heart. I read the words again. What a thing to say to someone.

I felt the life fading from me as I fell back onto the ground again. I looked up into the tree, seeing the bird as he sat, bursting with song. “You bring me JOY!” I whispered to the robin. “You bring me joy” I whispered again, lying down to die.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Frances Leah Brown

I am a singer, a story teller on stage and in print, and a lover of family and nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.