Fiction logo

Regal Romp in the Icy Playground

Microfiction- Snow Challenge

By DaphsamPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Sadie my Cavalier King Charles Spaniel- Author's Photo

The glacier temperatures were in the low 20s. The air was crisp and clean, with the scent of evergreen pine trees perfuming my surroundings. Playing hide-and-seek with my treasured blue rubber ball was a fun time. As Timmy launched the rubber toy into the winter sky, I watched my toy arch over the snow drifts and bury itself into the oblivion of the wet white blanket.

I threw myself into the winter game, leaping over the snow, my wet nose working on detecting where my ball went. As I executed my search, balls of icy snow collected on my wooly brown and white fur. With the determination of a Bloodhound, this winter wonderland would not be the final grave site for my ball.

I may be petite and known as the regal, quiet lap dog, but this Cavalier King Charles Spaniel is far from demure. I can be just as athletic and agile as any Border Collie. The chilly breeze fuels my energy and playful spirit to find my blue rubber ball in this freezing-deep snow.

The crunch of the snow mingles with the sound of my heavy pants as I blithely glide through the snowy landscape. My game will conclude when my prized possession is safely back in my warm, slobbery mouth. I feel the tingling sensation that my ball is near. With a sniff and a chilly dive, I retrieve my ball.

Jackpot!

Don’t ever underestimate my size. I am damn good at playing ball in this snow!

Stream of ConsciousnessMicrofictionHumorAdventure

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Nice story showcasing your pup and I love the photo - it was so cool!

  • Robbie Newport5 months ago

    Really enjoyed reading your rich short fiction. This is probably what my lab is thinking getting the ball.

  • Test5 months ago

    Fascinating story

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.