Fiction logo

Reflections of Terror: A Haunted Mirror's Curse

When an Alternate Reality Bleeds Through, Only Horror Awaits.

By Lawrence LeasePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Reflections of Terror: A Haunted Mirror's Curse
Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I stared at the glass, trying to decipher the figure that stood before me. It was a woman, but her face was twisted in agony, and her eyes seemed to bore into my soul. I took a step back, but the reflection followed, keeping its piercing gaze fixed on me.

At first, I thought it was a trick of the light, but as I approached the mirror once more, the woman's presence became more pronounced. It was as if she was trying to communicate with me, but her voice was lost in the static of the other side.

I tried to ignore it, chalking it up to an overactive imagination, but the image of the woman haunted me for days. I couldn't shake the feeling that something was off, that the mirror held a secret that I wasn't meant to know.

As the days passed, I began to notice small changes in my surroundings. Objects would appear in different places, and the air seemed to grow colder whenever I was near the mirror. It was as if the alternate reality that the woman was from was slowly bleeding into my world.

At first, I tried to rationalize it, blaming it on forgetfulness or coincidence. But then, one night, I woke up to find the woman standing at the foot of my bed. Her face was contorted in pain, and her eyes were pleading with me.

I screamed, scrambling out of bed and fumbling for the light switch. When I turned on the light, the woman was gone, but the mirror was glowing, pulsating with an eerie energy.

I knew then that the mirror was the source of the strange occurrences in my home. I tried to remove it, but it wouldn't budge, as if it was rooted to the wall.

Days turned into weeks, and the woman's presence grew stronger. She would appear in my dreams, begging for me to help her, to release her from the other side.

I couldn't take it anymore. I sought out the help of a paranormal investigator, hoping they could rid me of the mirror's curse.

The investigator arrived at my home, and I showed them the mirror. They immediately sensed the dark energy emanating from it, and we began the process of trying to banish it.

But as we worked, the mirror began to glow brighter, and the woman's presence became more pronounced. It was as if she was fighting to keep the mirror in our world, to use it as a portal to escape her own.

We continued to work, but the energy became too strong, and the mirror shattered, unleashing a wave of dark energy that enveloped the room.

When the dust settled, I found myself in a place that was not my own. The air was thick with a sense of dread, and the woman stood before me, her eyes now filled with relief.

She explained that she had been trapped on the other side, unable to communicate with the living until I stumbled upon the mirror. She had tried to warn me, to seek my help in releasing her from the mirror's hold.

But now, I was trapped in her world, unable to return to my own. The only way to escape was to find another portal, another mirror that could take me back.

I was alone, lost in an alternate reality that was not my own. And as the woman faded into the darkness, I knew that I was now a prisoner of the haunted mirror, forever trapped in a world of horror and despair.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Lawrence Lease

Alaska born and bred, Washington DC is my home. I'm also a freelance writer. Love politics and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.