Fiction logo

Recompense

Ties weren't meant to be broken.

By Kevin FaulknerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo by Rene Asmussen, from Pexels

King Alaric II,

There weren’t always dragons in the valley. I thought that they would be gone by now. Their spit-fire and greedy ways have torched the earth and bled it dry, but they still linger by demanding more. Even everything is not enough, I guess; not for them.

I am beginning to think that hope is what they are truly after. That they won’t stop until every ounce of it is leached from every soul, with a lust like vampires for blood. I have yet to be proven wrong.

For now they haven’t won. But it would be a lie to say that I haven’t seen a shift in my brother's face, and that there isn’t a cry coming from deep within my mother’s heart. She would shed a tear if there were any left to give. We ration what we can.

We still fight, but our numbers are dwindling. This enemy is not impossible to kill, but they combat with a vengeful scorn that is unmatched in the hearts of my people. We are starting to grow weary. Every waking hour I feel myself weakening. The resources that we have managed to preserve are beginning to run thin, and every attempt to replenish is met with torment and chaos. Many have tried to flee, and many have failed. We have no choice left but to fight. However, our swords are growing dull from countless impacts and our fingertips are brittle like our bows. I don’t know how much longer we can go on like this. How much longer we will have the will just to survive. I beg for your assistance.

Our differences now seem petty by comparison. Our rivalries and battles much the same. It might be tempting to simply let your enemies die, but with hellfire too comes rain, and you might drown as well. This is nothing like anything we have seen before.

I ask for soldiers. Ten thousand, even if you only have a thousand to spare. I ask for a caravan of food and rations, so that my people may live another day and be fueled enough to fight for another tomorrow.

I know that this is a lot to request, especially given our history. But I beseech you that we lay our squabbles down and work together to protect our futures. Because if I fall now, you will next. It would only be a matter of time.

I know that you are not a man to act without weighing his advantages. An attribute that I have learned to respect. But I pledge now, that if you come to our aid, my debt to you will be life-long. It would surely take time to rebuild my lands and means to repay you, but I give you my word that it will be done. We can come to exact terms if I am blessed enough to remain alive until we meet again, but action now must be swift. I implore you to make your considerations quickly.

In the immediate, however, what I can provide is quite valuable; knowledge gained in my battles against these monsters. Thousands of my men have been lost in the acquisition of this, and thousands of yours would be lost as well, if left to learn alone.

I know now of their few weaknesses, and have devised several strategies that have worked well to defeat them. If we hadn’t lost so much in the development of these we would stand a much better chance. But given the position that we have found ourselves in, I must turn to you and petition for your support against a common enemy.

To force your hand, out of slight desperation, if you do not choose to help I will let this information die with me, so that you might suffer the same fate. But I see this now as an opportunity for recompense and unity between our two nations. I hope that you can come to this understanding as well.

Together, my experience combined with the force of your armies can vanquish this enemy for good, and banish them from this world forever. Apart, we are destined to fall.

I pray this message finds you, and isn’t burned alive in the belly of a beast.

Please Father.

Alaric III

family
1

About the Creator

Kevin Faulkner

Hi! My name is Kevin. I am a 25 year old Poet and Artist, turning Storyteller. I have always enjoyed writing, but hadn't really considered myself to be a writer until somewhat recently. However, the more I do, the more my passion grows.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.