Fiction logo

Reclaimed

A micro heist

By Kim LoostromPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
9

I didn’t notice at first when it started going missing, small bits here and there. When my favorite sweater didn’t bring the same smile to my face as I pulled the sleeves over my knuckles, I thought maybe it shrunk it in the wash. By the time Christmas rolled around and I only felt annoyance, I realized too late that I’d been robbed.

I wrung my hands in anguish and gnashed my teeth, wishing for what I took for granted. I never understood how precious it was until I was bereft, cursing the nimble thief and their plunders.

Enough. I decided one day, drying my tears, I had to get it back. It was going to take planning and time. There were risks, but I knew I had to try. I played the long game, the slow burn. I put in the sessions, saw the experts, reflected and honed my abilities. I was wondering one day if I would ever be able to pull off the daring double-cross, when suddenly I found myself sitting and smiling to myself, holding a cup of hot tea. A tear forming in my eye, I sat victorious, joy and contentment were mine again.

Psychological
9

About the Creator

Kim Loostrom

Writing for fun, I don’t have a niche!

Check out my instagram @thepresenttenseblog if you want to see all the content I’m putting out ☺️

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • StoryholicFinds6 months ago

    love it! ❤️

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem! You’re a great writer!

  • Oh this was so heartwarming! It was so inspirational!

  • MT Poetry11 months ago

    Your journey from loss and frustration to eventual triumph is truly inspiring.🙌🥰💕

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Very clever. Nicely done.

  • ThatWriterWoman11 months ago

    Ooooh I like this one! The concept of stealing your joy and contentment back! I love how you presented it as stealing it back - Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.