Fiction logo

Reality in Motion

Flash fiction with a dash of simulation

By kalePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Reality in Motion
Photo by Ilya Pavlov on Unsplash

Don't wake up. Waking up can result in catastrophic failure. Is this even an option of choosing my own fate or something else? It all felt so real. His lips. His face. My life was nothing tangible. Nothing real. What was out there? Did I have a life of my own? Am I truly human or a figment of someone’s cruel imagination? Why am I cursed with knowing the truth? A more compassionate programmer would never let me find out.

I could be living in blissful ignorance of the stimulation. Yet someone wanted me to suffer. Panic. Stop panicking! Think. What is the point of all this? This is a moment. A moment that will change my existence forever. The possibilities are endless within this program. This simulation of something that is known as my life. And if I am just an endless array of code, what will happen when I choose to wake up? I do not know what will happen to me. Is this the human experience? Being afraid of pulling the plug and letting go into the great unknown. Or maybe I am real. I might have a life outside of this prison cell. But I am scared. What if its a reality way worse? Or maybe it can be way better than anything I have ever felt before.

I opened my eyes.

Sci FiMicrofiction
1

About the Creator

kale

A girl with a lot of opinions and stories to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Nice work! Well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.