Fiction logo

Rat Race

Food Caper

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Rat Race
Photo by Andra C Taylor Jr on Unsplash

Enticed by a heavenly odor I followed my nose. Praying to find some food for my poor hungry pups. There, on the high place, a round shape emitting the most delicious smell. Nostrils twitching, whiskers doing a little dance, I clambered up. Peering around fearfully, suspiciously, I checked that the giant two-leg creature was not in sight. Stealthily, on little padded feet, I approached.

Reaching the round thing I hopped up onto the edge. Ah, indeed, nirvana personified. Meat, potato, ... CHEESE! Yes! Edging forward I reached a paw out to snag a bit of the soft, yellow, deliciously fragrant stuff. My mewling pups would eat well today. I barely noticed the string that my tail grazed as I pulled the cheese in...

CLANG! DARKNESS! CAGED! NOOOOO!!! HELP!! As I felt myself, along with the round thing holding the food, start to rise in the air, I spotted a sliver of light to my right. There! A small open spot. Snatching a piece of cheese in one paw, I darted over. Squirming through the small opening I fell to the floor. Barely managing to avoid the stomping feet of the giant two-leg I scurried off to my lair. Heist complete.

MicrofictionAdventure
6

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cliff Hall11 months ago

    Great andy

  • Cliff Hall11 months ago

    This is really cute. I like it being from the rat's perspective. Very enjoyable. Good luck.

  • Yayyyy she got away! I'm so happy!

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Hi AC ~ As I Scurry back to my 'Lair' - I must say that you amuse me ~ Jay

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I was rooting for Ratty all the way through! Glad the pups won't go hungry 👍

  • Scott Christenson11 months ago

    A fun animal heist story!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Lol I can’t blame him! Cheese is delicious.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.