Fiction logo

Ralph's Shoe Store

An exercise in inanity.

By Frank MacalusoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Ralph's Shoe Store
Photo by Radek Skrzypczak on Unsplash

My name is Gordon Bradshaw. I’ve lived in this city for fifteen years; I’m a professor at the university here. But it was only recently that I made quite the startling discovery about this quaint little town. When I found out, I was absolutely beside myself. I had no idea such a thing was going on in this seemingly innocent little town! Well...innocent apart from all the muggings. But still, I was shocked to discover that such a thing had been going on all this time, and I had not been any the wiser.

It all started when I had noticed that my dress shoes were starting to look a bit worn out. I figured I should go buy some new ones. I can’t very well teach my classes with old, worn-out, scuffed-up shoes. The students wouldn’t respect me. Or would they? I didn’t want to risk it.

I normally buy myself shoes whenever I visit my mother back in Little Rock. Of course, I can’t very well drive all the way to Little Rock just to buy a new pair of shoes. It wouldn’t be practical. Who’d respect an impractical professor? Anyway, I asked one of my colleagues where I could buy myself a decent pair of dress shoes. He told me to go to Ralph’s downtown.

So, the next day—I had to wait till I had a day free; luckily, the next day was Saturday. The next day, I walked downtown to Ralph’s Shoe Store. It was a nice enough day out. It wasn’t freezing, anyway. So, I walked down to Ralph’s and that’s when I made my shocking discovery: Ralph’s Shoe Store pipes oldies music out of their outdoor speakers! I couldn’t believe it! I initially thought I was hallucinating when I heard “Dream Lover” blasting out from the distance. But as I drew closer to the store, I realized that the music was genuinely playing out of their speaker. It had been decades since I had heard that song. I wasn’t all that fond of it back when it first came out. But standing there outside the store, it was like sweet ambrosia for my numb little ears. I walked in to find, much to my chagrin, that the music was only being piped to the outside and not inside. Disgusted, I went back outside.

I changed my mind very quickly, however, and went back inside. My curiosity had been piqued. I wanted to know why they only piped music to the outside. Luckily, a salesman was free. He walked up to me and asked, “May I help you, sir?” And I asked him why they only piped music outside and not inside. He explained that they have a radio for the inside and they only use it during the weekdays, and only until four, an hour before they close. As for the music outside, that was on a playlist that plays automatically and is completely separate from the radio.

Satisfied with his reply, I thanked him for his time, wished him a happy day, and went along on my way back home. While on my way home, I saw a Sacagawea dollar on the sidewalk. Naturally, I bent down to pick it up and put it in my pocket. As I looked down to pick up the coin, I realized I had forgotten why I had gone to Ralph’s in the first place: I had forgotten to buy myself a new pair of dress shoes. Ultimately, I just decided to wear my tennis shoes to work and not worry what the students think. I could have never made a wise purchase in a silent shoe store, anyway.

Humor
1

About the Creator

Frank Macaluso

A comedian. I may have made a huge mistake.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.