Fiction logo

Rain

Chapter Three

By Lily AnnPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Rain
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

William's POV

"Good morning father," I say as I walk over to my desk and notice a couple of piles of papers that I will need to go through. "Not a good morning, not a good morning at all my son." My father started as he moved over to the couch that is sitting in the middle of my office. I look up and watch him for a moment before starting to go through the notes that are on my desk. "What do you need father, I'm very busy." My father stands up again and moves over to the desk, he puts his hands on it and leans down. "Your sister, she's just like you, two ungrateful...Anyway, we need to get ready for you to leave at the beginning of November." I froze, my mind traveling to Chloe, who looked just like Rachel..."Why November?" I ask under my breath, trying not to let him know that she is on my mind. "It gives you two months to pack and to start training your replacement here." My father motioned around the room. "But it's so soon..." I replied as I looked down to start focusing on my work. "You'll be fine." was the last thing my father said before walking out of my office.

After work I found my way over to Cafe Aroma, I step in finding Chloe behind the counter, a huge smile on her face as she speaks with the customer at the counter, I walk over, cross my arms and look up at the menu. "Can I help you?" I could recognize that voice anywhere. I look at her, at Chloe "Can I get a Large Coffee, two sugar two cream?" I ask as I gaze softly into her eyes. "Sure, by the way, do I know you? Did we go to school together or something? I shook my head and smiled "No, I recently moved here." Her smile widened, "So that's why you have that accent, amazing by the way!" She stated. I chuckled and looked around for a moment before looking back at Chloe. "Do you come here often?" She asks before moving to start making the coffee. "Recently yes, its pretty close to where I work," I responded.

Rachel's POV

Going up to the field I never noticed how the town was so quiet this late at night, the field felt so empty. I walked up to the middle where there was a small patch of grass, I took my shoes off and let my feet feel the cool grass. "Miss Rachel." I heard the familiar voice call behind me, I turned slowly and stared directly into William's soft eyes. "I did not believe you would have come," I started with a small smile forming on my face. "I was the one who invited you to meet me, why would I not come?" William asked softly as he walked closer to me, I looked up at him and felt my heart flutter, I pressed my lips together before slowly looking away from his gaze. I felt William's hand gently touch my chin and softly move it so I am once again looking at him. "You look beautiful." He stated before leaning in and kissing me, his hand moved to my cheek and gently caressed it with his thumb. After a moment I heard a shuffling in the grass "William!" a strong male voice called out, I recognized the accent immediately, William tenses before standing back and looking at me with tears in his eyes. "I apologize." He stated before turning and looking at the man, "Father, I would like you to meet Rachel." William stated as he motioned to me, the man walks over almost glaring at William. "Son, is this what you decide to do when I give you freedom from your work? You meet up with a, with a harlot?" I look between the man and William. It's easy to tell that the man is William's father as they both look very similar. Though, William's father looks slightly older with dark hair and William with his long blond hair which is pulled back and tied. "Miss Rachel, meet my father," William said as he turned back to me. "Pleasure to meet you, sir," I replied a bit hesitantly. "Come son, let's take her home where she belongs now." His father states. William looks between the two of us then turns and holds his arm out for me, I take it and wrap my arm around him. It feels right and natural.

Once we got back to the Inn my father was awakened immediately, After William and his father left my father and I sat in his office. I sat in a chair off to the far corner of the room while my father paced. "What were you possibly thinking? You're an engaged woman! and sneaking off with another man?" My father spoke, once my father stopped talking I stood up to leave. "Rachel..." My father finally said. "Yes, father?" I responded. "We will announce your engagement to the town in the morning." I nodded slowly then left the room feeling like my heart was tearing apart.

William's POV

"What were you thinking, meeting up with the daughter to the owner of the Inn?!" My father started as he raised up his hands. "Don't you know how hard I work for you?" I let out a sigh and ran my fingers through my hair which now hung down loosely over my shoulders. "You cannot honestly believe that there is a plant out there like that can you?" I asked hesitantly. "The map shows it not far from here son, we are close I know it, I can feel it." My father put down his hands and walked over to the far side of the room, there was a table there with a large map. "We have been following this map my entire life, and have yet to find anything close," I said as I let out another sigh, knowing that if I changed the subject to the plant father was looking for it would take his mind off of Rachel. "It also took almost your whole life to make it this far, we are so close son." My father leaned over the table and stared at the map. "We cannot lose hope yet, and you, my son. Cannot get distracted by such a little..." Father trailed off before standing up and looking at me. "Love is not an option, life is. Once we have an abundance of it, you will have enough time for anything." My father stated before motioning me to leave the room.

Series
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.