Fiction logo

Quantum Impossibilities

Alien Dragon meets a Macaw, endangered debacle.

By Reece A KohnPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Quantum Impossibilities
Photo by Laith Abushaar on Unsplash

" The atoms or elementary particles themselves are not real; they form a world of potentialities and possibilities rather than one of things and facts." -Werner Heisenberg

Our tale lands us in the lush rain forest of Brazil. Most notably, the Amazon. Full of many strange (to us city dwelling folk) tribes and species. We find a young male macaw. Foraging through the green leaves affixed; to the healthy branches of a mango tree. Important to eat, where and when possible; now much of the Amazon is still not soiled by modern hands. Which, while we start in reality as we know it. Our young male macaw, endangered amidst our humble planetary ecosystems. Stumbles onto something that even the brightest minds of our time can't explain simplistically, mind you. Generally labeling such a phenomenon: a "Einstein-Roosevelt Bridge". Yet, have not witnessed in a stable form, nor to the best of my knowledge- successfully produced. The universe is chaotically balanced. As our young macaw, henceforth, shall be named Quantum. Meticulously shuffles down the length of a branch attempting to satisfy his hunger. Now Quantum was in a rush this morning. As he had plans to fly around with a female he had met yesterday; to which they had agreed to meet up the following day, early morning.

As Quantum rapidly consumed the mango, something he had never seen happen in his short years on the planet. As he was eating the mango. There was a sudden pulsation of energy. That seemed to form around him. It happened so fast even his wild instincts didn't react with enough speed. Though he sensed something was amiss. Hunger drove him through. See all around Quantum, various electric disruptions as if the electrons of a lightening bolt. Where suddenly and inexplicably attracted to the protons in his make shift breakfast branch. Though there wasn't any natural storm on the horizon. Sunny cloudless day, then it happened... Somehow a particle from the branch became entangled with one that isn't even apart of our ever expanding galaxy. An unknown catalyst spurred on an impossibility. A stabilized Einstein-Roosevelt bridge, with quantum entangled particles in our galaxy. In this yet, to be described point in a different space time all together. One would think the energy created would of destroyed Quantum...

In reality perhaps it should of, maybe not- even the scientific mastermind's of our time much more attune and educated then my own. Often get lost in the computation and even theorizing this topic. As it seems our factual story based and grounded in reality unfolds. It just so happens that on the other side of this portal. We transition from our reality, on Earth in the much larger Milky way galaxy. To place that truly is alien to the laws of our ecosystems and at least some planets. See in the universe seemly created out of the most chaotic and hard to discern elements. Most of which man was unaware could even existence. Resides Impossibilities, a dwarf dragon; whose organic composition, would cause scientists no shortage of frustration. Trying to break down even the smallest cell off this scaled; yet, actually relatively small beast. Wouldn't happen due- to it's structure being so alien to us and our understanding. Even a laser's wouldn't cut through this material.

Why does this matter? It doesn't truthfully, merely explanation to give some understanding of the type of creature Impossibilities actually is compared to all organic species of our planet. Now on the other end, Impossibilities was just shunned from the community. Because though, alien in composition, the governing of intelligent species within collective understanding. Still fundamentally; comes down to everyone messes with the different. Thus, had just been walking through. Constantly changing for lack of better wording, the overhead sky. See on this plane of existence; there was no need for a sun. The vastness to the space these creatures inhabited is comparable to our galaxies. Mad as it reads, instantaneous personalized atmosphere for every creature that walked this odd branch of creation.

Now, Impossibilities was walking around. This place and creatures taking up residence. Are so powerful they formed the terrain of which the being traversed with every step. This was done autonomously, Instinct upon enough conscious thought training mind and body to do this without needed focus. Impossibilities elongated head hung low. Distraught by the treatment of the fellow dragon-kind. Creating all the way. Until within this trek. A portal appeared right before this being. There, Quantum, exited seemingly as instantly as the portal itself. The horrified, mortified parrot, squawked in fear. What started that way due to this other place's micro-managerial laws; perhaps the being's themselves. Turned quickly into language this creature could understand.

Quantum: Squaw... AHHH!!!

Impossibilities: What seems to be the problem my tiny winged alien?

Quantum: DON'T EAT ME!!!

Impossibilities: Our species doesn't need what you would call food. We have no need to consume anything. We have evolved out of such need to consume what your species would call matter, long ago.

Quantum: Oh but I'm the alien right... I'm not sure how you can understand me or where I am. I was eating breakfast in a rush to go see this gal I like. When this opening just ate me and now I'm here.

Impossibilities: Well, you as it happens by looking at your cellular level. Had this molecular bond formed between a particle in the area you were. Within your respective position on your planet. I honestly would think. You would most certainly be dead. So I'm not going to eat you, nor is there anything in the place you are in now. That will or even wants to, much less and most Importantly has a need to do. Now, if you will excuse me. I need to carry on and figure out what I'm to do with myself now that... -Hangs head lower, starts walking-

Quantum: I have no idea what is going on here, where I am, or what you even are. But, I am wondering what is the problem? Because you seem like you are really strong compared to me. So what could bother a creature like you so?

Impossibilities: I was removed from my kind. They are all twice to four times my size. They always almost stepped on me. We can control almost everything around here with our being. Except our forms, so I can't make myself large enough to be seen. So they mock me, ignore me even though we converse telepathically. They have been doing this for so long I can no longer remember even fitting in. Having what you would call a mate or even a companion.

Quantum: Well, just move on. Go to place where your kind likes you. Seems like it may have been all you've known. But change isn't a bad thing. Not sure this even helps, I mean I just gotta go back through this hole and poof. I can go meet up with the gal I like. This place is weird, odd, so are you. I will say though you seem like you are decent enough.

Impossibilities: Huh, not sure what to do with that. We usually just worry about the betterment of our species, and other creatures here. We don't really don't think much about personal issues. I was doing this when this portal and yourself stopped me.

Quantum: Well, I have a hot date waiting. So I need to go. Hope you find a place where you belong fellow critter with wings.

Impossibilities: I will. Wait! What's your space-time like?

Quantum: Normal food all around, water, women. It's awesome and this place seems to like disappear whenever you yourself don't make a move with your body. It just goes dark there.

Impossibilities: That is what you call normal here. I can tell from reading your mind and physical form. You enjoy it there. Thank you for the advice. I shall carry on finding a place that I belong and tell them of the alien I met who gave me such good advice.

Quantum: You are the alien! But, alright- I'm out. Farewell strange thing!

Impossibilities: Same to you, perhaps we will meet again.

This is how their interaction ended. It was as strange and surreal experience for the both of them. Quantum went on to help increase the population of his endangered species with his hot date. Impossibilities found dragon kind that cherished the being among the other dragon beings. Sometimes, after witnessing the portal manifest on the journey. Impossibilities would create another portal, and pop in locking in on the cellular structure of the happenstance bird. Whenever, it willed a meeting. They shared more about their worlds. Which ultimately led to Impossibilities giving Quantum the secret to increasing his population and bettering his world. Just because Impossibilities could and was thank full. Simple as the advice may seem to us and though. It was clear perhaps that Impossibilities was already heading out to this very goal. Sometimes just exchanging the basic decency. Can yield to a much larger life lesson among what may seem as mundane trivialities. May turn into what one needs the most.

Fable
Like

About the Creator

Reece A Kohn

I'd rather let my work speak for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.