Fiction logo

Prompt 1

The Author's Will Pt. 3

By Emrys Everette Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Prompt 1
Photo by Giammarco on Unsplash

Three days in this strange college. Time for my first class, all it says is to meet professor Rowena, in the quad. I of course am there, thirty minutes early. Mostly because I was afraid of getting lost and being thirty minutes late. A woman walks up to me, tall and slim with a deep purple skin carrying an umbrella for the sunlight. "You must be the Headmaster's newest pet project, I am Rowena." She gracefully extends her hand, I do hesitate at first but reciprocate. "You are Adam aren't you?"

"Yes ma'am, I got kind of nervous meeting another professor yesterday and..."

"Let me guess they sent Nak'Adrew to give you your class schedule?" She chuckles at the realization. "Have you at least met an elf before?"

"I've never seen anything other than a human before." Or at least I don't think I have.

"Your first task is to get an arcane focus and for us to do that, we'll need to leave the school grounds."

"Isn't that kind of dangerous?" I thought the whole reason her boss put me here was to protect me and first thing she wants to do is get me out?

"Everything comes with an element of danger, but trust me beside the Headmaster himself I'm one of the most powerful casters available. It's probably why he trust you to do this with me. Normally I don't do such small classes, or so introductory." She turns and starts walking for the edge of the campus stopping at an archway looing over. "Come here and look at this for a moment." I follow suit looking over the edge along side her, there's nothing... just more clouds and blue sky.

"Is the school flying?"

"Not quite." She puts her hand on my shoulder. "This is actually a series of complicated spells, and enchantment or two, but in short this school exists in its own pocket dimension. That is why the Headmaster is so certain the creature will not find us for a long while. After speaking with my benefactor we do have some insight on the Beast stalking you. It's from the multiverse just as you are, and both of you likely came from where ever your home universe is."

"So what I just fell out of my world and into yours?"

"If you need it in laymen terms then yes, you fell and it fell after you. Humans really do have a steep learning curve don't they?" That last part she mumbled under her breath but I still heard it.

"Should we head into town?"

"Yes but there are a few rules. The school is seen a bit as a cult so while on outings unless a professor says otherwise we do not mention our affiliation. Understood?"

"Yes ma'am." She then waves her hand from left to right making the space we were peering over turn into another portal, Smokey yet solid like the headmaster's. She walked through and me behind her as we step into a grime-y looking alley way some bums scattered on the floor holding empty cups filled with stray coins. "Where are we?" I say with disgust in my voice.

"These are the slums of Farewell, a city built by retired Mercenaries. Safest place for us to pop in and out with little question." She begins to walk off on a mission. "Stay close and don't touch anything until I say so."

Series
Like

About the Creator

Emrys Everette

You want to know about me? Well shoot, here's the short version. I'm gay, I'm 22, wildly imaginative and curious as can be. I can get short with folks, I'm typically sweet as can be. I don't honestly know what you'll want to know.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.