Fiction logo

Project: Ghost

A short story preview

By stephanie borgesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Project: Ghost
Photo by Guillermo Ferla on Unsplash

FYI This is based on the Graphic Novel/Video game I am currently writing called Borges-81, and it's what the Protagonist is saying when he saves his world from an enemy from another galaxy that was thought to be dead.

By Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. In less than twenty seconds, my life changed forever; one minute, I was fighting for my life from getting stabbed by one I called family; the next, I was in a container being given a new life but in a scary site. In front of me stood a creature; it looked like a demon, but with a man’s face. Did I die? Am I in hell or limbo?

No, I am alive, but I can’t die; I tried many times to take my life, and my new body is strange and unique. I am a half ghost, half dead; why must this price I have to pay in this new world that is not Earth? Not from the place of my birth. Here, there are creatures I thought were of myth and legend.

By Crina Parasca on Unsplash

Who would have thought the universe had other lives in a different section? I know now we are not alone. Because I was taken from my home, a farmer, husband, and father, I was, but now it is a memory. I may have lost that life I had, but now I have gained the power of a protector of the world for a fighting cause.

I remember very well the day I agree to fight. The deal was made with the guardians of the section Borges-81, they were not human, but the soul bond felt right.

By Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

The enemy’s name was Six Gage, a hybrid warlock I heard; he was greedy and selfish, just like a human. You would think if a being from another galaxy was more appreciative of life and family. I guess not. He wanted the material from earth because of its worth. He did not care much for life but only his machines. He cared more for a piece of metal or iron with no soul, no emotional understanding, and not even a heart. To hear that this monster was going to harm my human family, and he wanted to do whatever it took for him to succeed. I join the fight.

By Drew Hays on Unsplash

There were crashes and lights in the war from space. It was surreal, just looking at the planet Earth, how gigantic it was compared to the ships flying around it. It looked like a crystal blue stone, and just knowing I was a part of it and part of me, I had to stop Six Gage. Broken pieces from the battle were falling like burning coal. I hope my wife and daughter were in a protected place.

The dragon, the wolf, and the half beast fought for the side of the light. Helping me protect my world as if it were theirs. They fought the darkness with all their might. However, it wasn’t strong enough the power from old reliable. I couldn’t let Six Gage win and take the planet I call home. I had to do something, but what? I was already dead. So, I flew in the mother ship Six. Gage was aboard, and with my powers, I attacked the primary power source, Kamikaze style. I won; I saved my world and my family. But wait…I saw the light, the heavens, but was told I wasn’t ready to die. I was needed back for I was required.

By frank mckenna on Unsplash

I awoke back on earth and saw the sunrise.

How was this possible? It was Borges-81,

The material given to me is how I came to be.

My name is Dimitri from the earth, a human. I was born

Now I'm protecting the planet, and this I have sworn.

By ActionVance on Unsplash

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Great story, you area a skilled writer. Had fun reading this story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.