Fiction logo

Process Interrupted

Not Interruptus

By JBazPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 8 min read
10
 Process Interrupted
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

The outside world was unknown to her, but she could see a glimpse of it through the window in his room.

....Now what?

I tap my fingers to no particular rhythm, asking myself, why is she staring out a window? My brain pulsates trying to arrive at a new story line, something so different that no one will have thought of it before. Then again, so is every writer. I heard that there really are only seven basic plotlines, I guess its what we do with them to make our stories original. I purse my lips in concentration and go back to tapping out a beat on my keyboard, an idea, I need an idea!

Maybe she sees ghost of her past, or her brothers ghost...wait, why is he dead. Now I must create a back story for him, and I haven't even got one for her. 'through the window in his room.' That's it, it is his room, but why does it have to be a 'him'... his room can mean anything.

Think, think, time is running out, the challenge is almost over, and I got nothing, zero, zilch, nada. All right, its an apocalyptic world and she is the last female who... apocalyptic, wasn't that a movie directed by Mel Gibson, no wait that was Apocalyto. Good movie, Mayans, sacrifice, family, action, a little history... yeah I liked that movie.

Damn, focus. Ok back to his room, maybe it isn't a room at all. Okay, now I'm onto something. No, that's silly, a window with out a room would be outdoors, why do you need a window outside. Ok, next idea.

I need a tea, or coffee or a scotch, yep one Highland single malt scotch whiskey coming up. Reaching for the bottle of liquid inspiration I realize it is ten in the morning, coffee it is.

My brain is now refreshed, good ole caffeine, surely this will work. Let's see.

...a glimpse of it through the window in his room. Staring out into the unknown, she fails to notice the shadow lurking behind her ... Oh this is good. I got it.

A voice echoes throughout the house. "Dad, dad ... have you seen my car keys?"

"What? I'm writing, look on the table by the door."

she fails to notice the shadow lurking behind her. The shadow spreads wide creeping ever...

The office door opens and scares the crap outta me. My daughters head peers inside. "I got no gas, can I borrow your car, please."

" I told you to always have gas in your car."

"I do, well I did, but ... I really need to leave, can I use your car?"

I toss the keys to her, anything so I can get back to this story. Now where was I, oh yeah creeping shadows. The shadow spreads wide creeping ever... Wait, now I have a car with no gas.

'The shadows creeping ever closer, a darkness follows, the walls crackle with frost. Unaware of the danger she continues...

My door burst open, and my wife blurts out. "Sorry, sorry, it's the washing machine it won't drain, and I have a load in there, can you look at it." Pushing away from the computer I realize I should assist. My mind doesn't stop working, the shadow and frost are they evil, where am I going with this?

Minutes later I find myself back staring at the screen. I read what little I have. A shadow? Where was I going with that? I go back to VOCAL and read the prompt again.

The Prompt

Write a dystopian fiction story about the last window to the outside world, that starts with this first sentence:

The outside world was unknown to her, but she could see a glimpse of it through the window in his room.

'A dystopian fiction', I forgot all about that. How can I inject that concept with a shadow? Can't, scrap it, start all over.

The outside world was unknown to her, but she could see a glimpse of it through the window in his room. The world outside was all but gone, all that remained were the stories, and she new them all. There was only one.. Damn it, wrong spelling...back space, and she knew them all.

Man, the English language has so many weird rules, I am so glad I was brought up with it. I mean the words, to, too, and two. How confusing is that to learn, and why is there a 'K' in the word knife?

There was only one other in this facility who knew (nailed it) as much as her, but he had a different calling, his was... Calling, I was supposed to call my mom.

*******************************************************************

"Ok, mom. Love you. Bye...yeah I heard about Cathy, ok gotta run, love ya. ...what, Mrs. Poplanki? I don't know her... oh, I met her when I was two. Listen mom I really have to go, bye.”

as much as her, but he had a different calling, his was dark and desperate...

My door burst open, and my wife enters . "I am sorry I interrupted you earlier, I made you a tea."

"Thanks."

"Do you want a cookie?"

"Naw, I'm good thanks." I face the screen.

"We have those Chocolate dipped English biscuits."

"No, I'm good, thanks, I just want to finish this please."

"Ok, love you."

"Uh Huh." I need a lock on the door.

I take a deep breath, focus buddy focus. His was dark and desperate, he was the one who haunted her dreams, the only one who.... ah dang it now I do want that chocolate dipped biscuit.

Wait, Dystopian still needs to be brought in, lets see:

dys-to·pi·an

/disˈtōpēən/ Learn to pronounce

adjective

Relating to or denoting an imagined state or society where there is great suffering or injustice.

"The dystopian future of a society bereft of reason"

(noun) a person who imagines or foresees a state or society where there is great suffering or injustice.

"a lot of things those dystopians feared did not come true"

Hey, maybe the women staring out is in the 'NOW' not the future, I mean maybe we are already living in a Dystopian world without realizing it. I mean, look at society right now: 'Brain blown.'

After all what is a dystopian world if not this one. Our children will be lucky if they can own their own home. Influencers with no talent dictating behaviors. Strangers opinions on Social media having more impact on individuals than their own friends and family. Formal communication is delivered by text. I can pick a mate for life or a night by a simple swipe.....Actually I wish we had that when I was younger.

Over population, food and freshwater shortages, man made viruses. The rich, powerful and famous living with impunity, outside of morals, no remorse, no punishment for wrongs committed or consequences of their actions. While the common person gets a fine for parking their vehicle to far from the curb...I had to park like that otherwise the car door would have hit the pole. Speaking of the self-righteous pompous narcissists, I wonder how the orange face man from Florida is doing? That is funny, he has an orange face, and he lives in Florida.

Now my legs begin to bounce, my desk shakes I pretend to type on the keyboard, just waiting for words to flow out of me like a Hemmingway or Twain. Right now, I would settle for Charles Schulz. What would Snoopy do?

He was the one who haunted her dreams, the only one who controlled the new society. He was the one.. one O'clock, two O'clock three O'clock, block, four O'clock, five O'clock, six O'clock, block, block I got writers block. Sigh.

There really are wonderful creators on Vocal, I wonder if they ever have writers block. Maybe I should go on the group forums and ask?

NO, focus stay on this page, think.

He was the one who haunted her dreams, the only one who controlled the new society. It wasn't with wisdom or thought of others, no, it was ruled by a dictatorship so horrifying Castro and Putin would be jealous.

Putin, what a &#%!

I can't believe what is happening in Ukraine, in todays society, Maybe I am correct this is a Dystopian world. Hollywood always makes it appear that people know they are living in a horrific place, but would people really know or would they just accept it. Hmmm, maybe I do not know the world I am living in.

Cancel Putin and Castro, I choose not to give them any acknowledgment in my work. He was the one who haunted her dreams, the only one who controlled the new society. It wasn't with wisdom or thought of others, no it was ruled by his own needs and agenda. His evils deeds flowed like a river.... Is my title correct, maybe it should be Process Interuptiss? Is that spelled correctly, or is it 'interruptus' ? Ok. just looked it up, definitely NOT interruptus, that is so not what I thought... so glad I looked that word up.

His evils deeds flowed like a river, constant and ever finding a new path to carve.

What a load of crap.

My stomach rumbles, I am hungry and done for today. Leaning back in my chair I look outside, realizing the world was unknown to me, but I could see a glimpse of it through the window in my room.

And so dear reader, this is my working process, not pretty is it? Thank you for the read... read...how can one word be a present and past tense., then there is 'red', a different meaning. Crazy English language.

Thank you,

Jason

Another story for the challenge:

https://vocal.media/fiction/hecatomb-ggk2kr04t6

Humor
10

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is a refreshing and relatable read! I was definitely stuck on this one as well 😅 Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! ☺️

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I feel our writing process is very similar...or lack of writing process, hahahaha! This was hilarious, relatable and perfect to help me procrastinate from finishing my own. Loved it!!

  • Lea Springerabout a year ago

    I'm so glad you wrote this!! There are too many variables to take into account--she/him, dystopian world and why does it have to be the "last" window?? When/where in reality is there ever a "last" window? I 've started 2 stories but they've both stalled--will finish one but it won't be the finish I wanted. Thanks for highlighting the frustrations!

  • Lilly Cooperabout a year ago

    I think most of us can relate :) On a side note, I've been working on a similar concept about dystopian characteristics of the world wide community. It's nice to know others feel the same way sometimes.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is fabulous. Thanks for the chuckles. I too have writer's block on this one, so I'm not even going to bother. Good luck.

  • This is a great article with excellent interpretations. Dystopia is a difficult concept for many to take on.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Yep - definitely know what you mean here! This dystopian thing has me all upside down.I enjoyed reading your article. Thanks for sharing sos we all - and you - don't feel so alone in our genius! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.