Fiction logo

Polly Wants a Carat

The Butler Didn't Do It

By David E. PerryPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1

Marry Nikolaev normally would never leave her jewelry laying around, but she was alone this day. 2 diamond rings ranging from 10 to 15 carats. She only set it down for a moment. She was only gone for 3 minutes. When she came back, the rings were missing.

Detective Robert Logon came in to investigate.

“Mrs. Nikolaev”, he said, “was anyone else in the house.”

“No. I was all alone. Wait, I did leave the window open. Could someone have been watching and came through the window?”

“Could be. Let me walk around.”

After a short walk around the house, he said, “I’ve solved the case. Mrs. Nikolaev, you have an obsession with birds. You have ceramic birds in almost every room. You have 3 birds cages. You have bird seeds on your windowsill.”

“I like birds.”

“I also noticed the bird cage in your room isn’t locked. Your bird was a prime suspect. Don’t worry, he’s innocent. Someone was watching you, Mrs. Nikolaev. Look out the window. What do you see?”

“A bird.”

“A mother bird in a next to be exact. What do you see in the nest?”

“Eggs.”

“2 very shiny eggs. Looks like diamonds to me!”

Short StoryMysteryMicrofiction
1

About the Creator

David E. Perry

Writing gives me the power to create my own worlds. I'm in control of the universe of my design. My word is law. Would you like to know the first I ever wrote? Read Sandy:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 12 months ago

    This was very clever!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.