Fiction logo

Plaudit

The Last Song of Your Life

By MariePublished 2 years ago 26 min read
Like
Plaudit
Photo by Daniel Lincoln on Unsplash

Rayne Ackerman, one of the brightest, kindest, warm-hearted, good natured, well-mannered, loving, and amazing human beings; that anyone who's come across her path has ever met. Her friends and family, the light of her life, and she, theirs. A joyous life, not because she was born rich and had it all together. No, far from it. She worked and struggled for everything. Life gets messy sometimes, and when it does you got have to clean it up and get moving forward. Although, for Rayne, the struggle was a fun experience. It was because she chose to be who and how she was. Anyone who asks, "Why are you, you? So loving and sweet." Rayne responds with," I am who I am because there is no other me to be. Why are you, YOUUU?" Simple as that.

Let's get to the story... Shall we?

“RAYNE! RAYNE! WHERE ARE YOU! YOU DO REMEMBER THAT IT’S SEPTEMBER 20TH, RIGHT? WE MUST GET OUT AND GET GLAMMED UP FOR THE MAIN EVENT TONIGHT. IT’S IN YOUR HONOR!” GG called. GG, short for Geremya. Rayne and Geremya became best friends in college. They rented out a small house together as Seniors in college and has been living as roommates ever since. Mainly due to the “y” in both their names, they became the best of friends. It’s literally how their bond started. Geremya graded her exam essay, once. After that, she asked her “How do you pronounce your name? Is it like Rai-An?” Rayne responded, “No, it’s like rain. It was raining when my mom went into labor with me, and she has always loved when it rains. So that’s what my parents named me, but they didn’t want to spell it the simple way.” Gg then said, “Seriously, that’s cool. My dad’s name is Geremy and my mom’s Mya. So, my name is Jera-my-a.” “That’s cool too. Don’t ever think that being a double Jr. is uncool. You’re a female Jr. of your mom and dad. That’s unique!” Blushing, Rayne confessed.

“GG. Why are you screaming my name to top of your lungs? The entire neighborhood can hear you. I’ve been in the kitchen since 7am. It’s only 9:15am. Excuse my rudeness, but please reframe from acting like a complete intolerable adolescence idiotic child today. You are a grown educated woman. I don’t know what’s been up with you lately?” Rayne said shaking her head with her arms folded. “Well, damn girl. How was I supposed to know you stayed in here after breakfast? I wasn’t dressed like you. Early bird! And yeah… RUDE! I’ll excuse it though. On the account that you are my best friend and I’m aware you usually don’t give into rudeness,” GG had a pouty look of amusement on her face. Rayne sighed, “Well, color me red, rosy cheeks, because you best friend are something else. Let’s go.” The pair was attending Rayne honoree party for being the top female Sales Rep under 30, for the supply company they’ve work for since their Senior year in college, when they were only just 21 years old. They both had just made 27 years old. GG’s birthday is August 12th and Rayne’s the 24th.

By Thought Catalog on Unsplash

“Why is this guy still calling me? We broke up like 8 months ago. He’s still holding out hope, even though I gave him none. Look!” Rayne showed her phone to GG. “Now you know you were a good woman to that man. Plus, you whipped that thing on him, and he won’t find any better in kind of way.” GG said laughing. “First off, we were together for years. He’s the one who always had something or someone… better to do. That’s what he thought at least. So, that’s what he should get. I told him I will have better because that’s what I deserve. He has no right to even call my phone.” Rayne’s face was that of anger and hurt. “Well, miss goody too shoes. I know how he did you. I’m just saying… If the man couldn’t replace you while he was with you and plenty others, it was only safe to be assumed, that he couldn’t replace you after you two were over. That’s all!” GG said confidently with a beaming, “you already know,” kind of smile. “Oh! Well, no more talk about Joe!” Rayne said shy but firm.

Rayne and GG spent all day going around town. Shopping, getting their nails, hair and make-up done for the party tonight. The last stop was back home to get dressed. It was 8pm and the party started at 10pm-2am. It was only 25minutes away from their house, at the office building where they worked. It was a huge, and luxurious building with plenty of floors and different rooms. Beautiful, for special occasions, to say the least. No need to rent out space for events that the company threw, such as this one. They sure know how to throw some parties, though. That’s why the building is designed to comply, with special occasions. They actual rent space out to other businesses. Which is how new workers get more the minimum wage for hourly pay, until their commissions exceed the hourly and stabilizes.

Rayne and Geremya exists the car, and valet takes over from there. As soon as the walk up the stairs and through the doors, the hear… “Hey, ladies. Looking beautiful, sexy, and delicious as always!” Ben said. Benjimen Nightly, you know, that one co-worker that’s always getting written up for sexual harassment but doesn’t get fired because he keeps it to just words only, and never take it too far. Which, sometimes, makes the women going through break-ups and more, feel wanted and attractive. Rayne and GG said in unison, “Hey, Creepy Ben!” “Delicious huh. I knew you just wanted to taste us sooo bad. Be careful Ben. Rayne’s single, now.” GG stopped and walked closer to Ben. Then whispered in his ear, “A lot of booze here. We might take you home and have our way with you like you want.” Thinking back to college, Geremya thought to herself, “I would love to have a taste of her again myself. We haven’t done anything like that since we first moved in our house. She fell in love with the jerk and I another.” Ben swallowed hard. Starred at Rayne and thought to himself… “I really just want her. I’ve been in love with her since we first met 3 years ago, but she had a boyfriend. I only put on the façade to see her gorgeous smile and the other women seem to feel better, sometimes, when I flirt with them. Even though it might get me fired one day. It’s worth it. Although, to have both bombshells in the bed would be a dream come true.”

Rayne looks at Ben, who’s staring at her so lovingly and intently. “GG! What did you say to Ben? What are you two whispering about? It’s making me uncomfortable.” “I just told him…” Ben, clears his throat and cuts GG off, whispering to her “Ahem-hem-hem. I would love to have you both but only if you both agree before the drinking starts. I don’t want either of you drunk. Tipsy maybe, but certainly not drunk off your ass.” GG shook her head in agreement. Then walked back over to Rayne. “I told him, that we would take him home and have our way with him. If he keeps up the flirting and if we get drunk enough, after the party. He seems to only really want you though.” GG nudged her arm with hers and giggled devilishly seductive. Rayne squinted her eyes and said, “Why would you tell him something like that?! We haven’t done anything since college. Are you seriously trying to get your best friend… ME! Drunk. So that you and Ben, can have your way with me? What has…”

GG interrupted her. “It was more like we, us, having our way with him. I know that we haven’t by the way. I think it’s what you need after Joe! Since we both are more into men, I didn’t want to just suggest the two of us.” Rayne rolled her eyes, smashed her lips and begin to walk away, “Whatever! Let’s go into the party. I’m done with this conversation.” Entering the party and greeting everyone, they then took the seats at their tables. Rayne was mad but it didn’t show on her face. She wanted to but mostly with just GG. She missed the way her best friend tasted like candy kisses, even between the thighs. Ben on the other hand, she did have a crush on him. A very sexual one. Whenever she was close to Ben, she just imaged his in dick in her mouth and inside of her. His tongue on and in her pussy. His handsome face and the scent of his cologne drove her wild sometimes, but she wasn’t interested in falling in love again. That’s exactly where it felt like it would venture to with Ben. She thought to herself, “I could give it a go. I do want them both, sexually. I’m still young and in my twenties. Ben probably just wants sex anyway. I know GG can handle it. Single, too, kind of. Should I tell GG about…” She was cut off her train of thought by her name being called to give her speech. 30 minutes had passed since they took to their seats. “Oh, dang! It’s that time already?”

After the honoree event was over, they went home and hadn’t spoken about the conversation that transpired with Ben. Only GG, and a man named Norman from college knew that Rayne had a threesome before. Rayne and GG, practically, stayed single and focused throughout college mainly due to secretly making love to each other and Norman almost every night. Most people just thought those 3 were just the best of friends. Junior year Norman found the love of his life and they were inexplicably, out of his life. Everyone knew Rayne to be nice, sweet, and very kindhearted. They assumed, that Norman and Geremya was secretly dating but it ended, and he didn’t want it to ruin his new relationship. Due to her, sometimes nasty attitude, those on campus who knew of them, thought that was the reason for cutting them loose. He squashed those rumors and more. He told people the “He would forever love those two women with all his heart, and they will forever be a part of him, but their friendship had to end because it was complex. Yes, he didn’t want to ruin his new and loving relationship.” That’s all they needed to know. He was in love with them both and didn’t want to choose and couldn’t break-up their friendship. Him falling in love with someone else was a breath of fresh air for him, because he was more in love with GG, but she was more in love with Rayne but never told her in that way. Rayne’s family knew that she was bi-sexual. She just didn’t date anyone in High School because she wanted to wait. GG and Norman were her firsts.

Two weeks had passed since the work banquet for Rayne. “GG, I’ve been thinking about that night. Do you still want to give it a go with Ben?” GG smile wide and very seductively said, “Mmm. Yes! What do you have your mind?” Rayne crossing her legs, wet from the thought as she said, “SEX!” “Okay, I’ll call Ben and invite him over tonight. If that’s alright?” GG excited grabbed her phone and started searching for Ben’s number. “Dang, thirsty much? But tonight, is great because I need to get these thoughts of us into action and for them to stop being a distraction.” She shyly looked at the floor. GG found Ben’s number and started to dial it. “A distraction, huh? It’s that serious.” Ben answered, “Hi, sexy! Are you ready for me to lick and stick between those thighs?” GG, giggle. “Yes, we are actually. Rayne and I both.” Ben froze saying nothing. He thought it was a prank. Rayne took the phone, “Ben! Hello! Ben, are you there? We’re serious about this. Is tonight alright with you?” Ben finally answered after 3 minutes of silence, “Yes, I’m down.” Later that night he came over and all that they wanted to happen, happened.

Buzz, buzz, buzz! Rayne’s phone wouldn’t stop. For like 6 weeks now. “Girl! I know Joe is not still calling your phone like that. That’s border line stalking and harassment. It’s been over for almost a year.” Rayne took a deep breath and looked at the floor and her smile dropped. “No. It’s Tim.” Shocked and suspicious. GG yelled and grabbed Rayne’s arm, “WHO IN THE HELL IS TIM?” Blushing with embarrassment, Rayne began to explain everything. “I started fooling around with Tim a month after Joe, and I called it off. We met at the coffee house a few months prior. We started hanging out and having sex when he saw me crying alone at our usual table the day after the break-up. He had asked me what’s wrong and I told him. I asked him that night to go back to his place. We didn’t have sex yet, but I really wanted to, but Tim said he wanted to wait for me to find a bit more joy before that happens. So, we waited as long, as we could. It was amazing at first. Then, he started to become jealous of men just looking at me. We didn’t go out much because weren’t really in an actual committed relationship. I ended things with him right after my honorary celebration, because… Because 2 days before that he had told me that he loved me, and I didn’t know what to say. I wanted to say it back, but I knew I didn’t feel the same and that I wasn’t in it with him for love.

Then, when you suggested that threesome, I was mad and surprised. I wanted it but needed to think about it, that day I had thought to tell you about Tim. To ask what to do about him, but when we got home, I had 20 missed calls from him. He was livid that I didn’t invite him as my plus 1 and that he hadn’t met you, nor anyone else that I loved and are close to. When we woke up later that day, I called hi, went to see him, and ended it. I explained to him that I still wasn’t emotionally ready to love him in the way that he needed. He said alright, but ever since a few days after that night with Ben, he has been calling me non-stop. No texts, no voicemails, just calls. I don’t want to answer because I don’t want to end up back in bed with him knowing he loves me, and I don’t feel the same.” GG, mouth open to the floor, and shaking her in astonishment. “Well, I’ll be dammed. Best friend… YOU HAVE NEVER HID ANYTHING FROM ME! WHAT ON GOD’S GREEN EARTH? No judgement here but you should talk to him. That might get him to stop calling or block him.” “I did block him. He changed his number and called from that one. I decided that that’s pointless.” Rayne looked at GG questionably.

“Give me your phone. I’ll call him.” GG said it with so much sass and fierceness that Rayne couldn’t resist. She complied. Buzz, buzz, buzz. “Hello?” A woman’s voice said. GG was confused and looked at Rayne. Just as she was about to speak the woman said… “I know that this is the BITCH, who has been fucking my husband, Tim. I got your name, your number, and your address. I have his phone. He’s so damn stupid and unfaithful. He changed his number and deleted the old texts and calls but then decided to call you. Now, I know exactly who you are. BITCH! I am so sick of you hoes always fucking someone else’s man and acting like it’s ok.” GG face light up with anger. “HOLD. THE. FUCK. UP. BITCH! She didn’t even know he was married…” Rayne, interrupted, “WHAT! MARRIED?” GG squinted her eyes, “YES, MARRIED! And his bitchy wife is the one who has been calling you.” Rayne, “Well, my apologies. If I would have known he was married, I wouldn’t have gone for it.” Tim’s wife, “I heard that, and apology not accepted. Bitch do you think that I’m stupid or something. He has been calling you for a month now. I only called today.” GG, “You must be stupid because if she didn’t know he was married and apologized to you and then accept it bitch because that’s all you’re going to accomplish here. Wwwhat the fuck else do you want? A cookie? I got one bitch come lick it because that dick not serving you right.”

Tim’s wife is even more infuriated and now highly insulted. “ARE YOU KIDDING ME RIGHT NOW. HOW. THE. FUCK. DEAR YOU! CLEARLY, I’M NOT INTO WOMEN. YOU CAN JUST PUT MY HUSBAND’S WHORE ON THE PHONE IF YOU’RE GOING TO SAY ABSURD SHIT LIKE THAT. I DON’T WANT YOUR STANK ASS PUSSY.”GG started laughing. “ABSURD! REALLY? You’re the one name calling like crazy and asking no questions because your hurt and tired of him doing you wrong. Leave his ass. Simple, as, that.” Tim’s wife, “Yeah, whatever bitch. When you get a husband, who cheats and shit. Call me! Let me know how simple it is to leave.” GG smacked her lips, “No, thanks. Bye!” Click! GG ended the call. “What a whack-job. She should have at least asked did you know he was married before going there.” Rayne sighed, “No, she shouldn’t have. She was pissed, hurt and maybe a little confused. Most people committing infidelity and more, won’t and don’t say that they are married or in a relationship.” GG disappointed, “Yeah, I know.”

3 years had passed, and it is August 30th. “Hey babe! Would you like seafood for dinner tonight?” Ben said. “Yeah, sure whatever you’d like, Hun.” Rayne in a rush said. “Are we seeing GG and frank tonight or what?” “No. Frank said he made plans for them tonight when I talked to GG yesterday on the phone. (Smushing sound) See you later, babe. I love you!” Rayne kissed her husband and left for the doctor’s office. Ben, “I love you too, my love!” Rayne and Ben had started dating shortly after their intriguing night together with GG. A year and a half later they had gotten married. Rayne is now 6 months pregnant with their first child. GG settled down a year ago but hasn’t married yet. Rayne knows that Frank intends to pop the question soon because she helped him pick out GG’s engagement ring. So, it won’t be long before hand.

When Rayne left the doctor’s office, she saw a familiar face. It was Tim. He looked different, lonely and uninterested in life. She walked over to him. “Hey Tim. How have you been all the years?” Tim looked at Rayne with a heavy heart and scolding eyes. Then he smiled lightly but very off putting, “Hi, Rayne. It’s been a few years. I’m divorced now. I see you’re pregnant and… Would you look at that married as well (he spoke very cold and sarcastically).” Rayne feeling uneasy in the pit of her stomach, start to back away and grabbed her keys from her purse. Smiling nervously and shyly she said, “Yes. I am both of those things. I have to go now. I got to make my rounds for the day before heading back home. It was a pleasure seeing you, Tim. I hope everything is alright in your life and continue to be. God Bless!” Tim looking at Rayne with disgust and a sleigh smile on his face said, “Everything will be. It’s all looking up. Thanks!” Rayne walked to her car and got in and drove off. She did not look back, so she didn’t notice what Tim did. He got up a walked slowly to his car and watching her get in the entire time. His car wasn’t far from where he was sitting. Rayne’s, however, was a block or two away. She hated parking in the parking garage around this time because getting out was such a hassle.

Tim was talking to himself the entire time he was following her but the things he said were stupefying. As soon as he got in his car he said, “I knew I would run into you eventually bitch. You ruined my life. I was in love with you. I was willing and ready to leave my wife for you, but you didn’t even love me back. How stupid was I to wait for you to get over your heartbreak? I should have just fucked you and left it at that but noo. I had already cared deeply for you. So, I gave it a shot. Little did I know. I didn’t know anything about you. I came over to your house one night after you had ended things. I was going to beg you to stay and tell you about my family. Mmmm. To much of my surprise, you were opening the door for your, now husband. I picked the locks and invited myself in after about 30 minutes after his arrival. What I saw… boy. Only if I knew that you were so fucking freaky. You, your best, and your man were all getting it on and loving it, too. Screaming and moaning each other’s names. I didn’t even know your best friend’s name at all. I was so jealous and enraged that I could have killed you all. Right then and there, but I said fuck it because I still had my wife and kids to go home to.

I was disgusted because I could have been that for you and you play the good girl so well, that I would have never even fathomed that you were into that kind of stuff. It’s always the good girl type, that be the freakiest of them all though. When I got though, my wife was sitting in the kitchen alone and said she took the kids to her mom’s. I thought we were going to have some alone time to work out our problems. No. She looked my dead in the eyes and said, “I am divorcing you. Please don’t try to fight it because there’s no point. You have had one to many infidelities throughout our, ENTIRE, relationship. I married you think, hoping and praying that you’d stop. Yet your dumb ass doesn’t know and don’t seem to care about the unconditional love you had and have thrown away fucking around with them hoes. It finally took for me to wake the fuck up, by listening to those women telling to divorce you. That I know I can and will. We will talk farther in court.” She left me. I tried to stop her and pleaded with her during the divorce settlement to rethink it, but she didn’t. Now my ex-wife is remarried, and my kids doesn’t want a damn thing to do with me. And. It. Is. Allllll. YOUR FAULT. RAYNE!” he said wickedly.

He tailed her that day, all day, right up until she got home. Remaining a few cars back every time and making sure to keep a safe distance whenever she stopped somewhere. Rayne didn’t notice a that she was being tailed at all. When her husband arrived home he said, “Ready Ryry? And hey Hun, there’s a strange man parked a few cars down from the house. He seemed like he was watching our home. I walked up to his car and when he saw me, he let the window and said to me nice home I have. That was odd. I think I have a stalker babe.” Ben laughed but Rayne immediately took offence to that and thought about Tim. “Um, yeah babe. I’ll be right there.” Rayne grabbed her phone and called GG. Phone ringing, “Now I know date night isn’t that boring without. Has it even started yet?” GG said. “Listen G-Geremya… (Rayne took a deep breath) Do you remember Tim?” She said very nervously. “While! Is it that serious? You never call me by my government name. What’s going on? What it is? And yes, I do remember that dickward and his bitch of a wife.” GG was frustrated. “Well, I saw him earlier. When I was coming out of the doctor’s office, I saw him sitting at the coffee shop. So, I went over and spoke. He’s divorced by the way and-” GG stops Rayne and says, “Wait… what? Why did you even bother speaking to him and what a coincidence?” “Let me finish. Dang!” Rayne flustered as ever. “Alright, alright! Go ahead.” GG proclaim.

“Now, where was I… Oh, right! He’s divorced and when he said it, he looked very cold and spiteful. He didn’t seem surprised that I was married and pregnant, just the who, when I said his name. He’s never met Ben. I left as fast as I could, but I think he followed me. Which means-.” GG interrupts and vigorously says, “So, that son of a bitch, followed you. He wasn’t even surprised by Ben’s name. How long has this motherfucker been stalking you?” “GG, I don’t… I don’t know but I’m afraid. It seems to me like for a long time or maybe just recently. Ben did go to every other appointment with me. He just couldn’t make the last one and he won’t make the next 2. Ben said that there was a man parked a few houses down and when he approached the vehicle, the man spoke to my husband like he knew him and complimented our house. He would he know Ben? He followed me, so that explains him knowing which house was ours. Should I call the police and tell Ben about him?” pacing back and forth. “Babe, we have to go! We have reservations.” Ben called out. “I’m coming.” Rayne responded lovingly and quickly to Ben. “Um…yeah, tell Ben. But don’t notify the police unless you see him outside your home again. Switch your appoint days and if you see him on the new day, call the police then as well. It’ll just make things worse because we don’t know what the real deal is with him. Hopeful, he’s not mad and jealous that you got married to Ben and that you broke it off with him. He had a wife and was messing around with you. He’s an asssss and now a stalker! Have fun at diner. Love you. Goodnight!” “Okay! Love you too. Thanks, I take that advice.” GG didn’t want her very pregnant best friend to worry more than she had to, so she left out the thought that she had, that he might be dangerous.

Rayne and Ben left for the restaurant. During the car ride, Rayne told Ben everything about Tim. He agreed with the advice GG had given his wife. Rayne went inside of the restaurant to get the seats and to get off her feet. Before Ben joined her, called a few friends, including GG’s about to be, fiancé Frank, and let them know what was going on. That their home was being stalked by a weird ex fling of Rayne’s. They were very stunned by the news. Ben knew a lot of people, so he got the word all they needed was a photo of the guy. They were all going to be on the lookout for Rayne because they all usually do things and live around the same areas. That’s not much but it’s somethings of a safety measure, if the guy tries to approach Rayne, GG, or Ben and maybe Frank. Ben made sure not to tell his wife of their plan and GG either because can’t really hold water. Ben was astonished that she didn’t ever mention Tim, so he guess that GG can hold on to the somethings. When Ben got inside and set at their table, they ordered their food and were painfully silent. “Well, Ryry. I’ve just been racking my brain for, what? Half an hour now. How does this dude know me, and could that mean that he knows about Frank as well?” Rayne nervously, moved around in her seat. “Beny, you know as much as I do as of now. I had no clue, that he even knew you. Let alone, if he may or may not know Frank. I dang on sure was not ever expecting to have a stalker.” She fiercely but shyly said. “Mmmk.” 20 minutes later and their food came. The ate and spent the rest of the night in silence.

3 months had passed and no sign of Tim. It was Thanksgiving and both, no all, of their families were in town. Since Rayne and Ben had the biggest house, they had the festival there. GG’ s younger brother who has been crushing on Rayne since he met her, was practically a ready to rub Rayne feet if she told him to. He was after her all night. “Rayne. You know you should be my wife. Right? Is there anyyy thinggg I can do for you?” Galvin said. He was leaning up against a wall. Very close to Rayne, starring at her from head to toe, licking his big and beautiful pinkish lips. Ben just laughed because he knew it was all in good fun and a longggg shot, that Rayne would ever want Galvin. Plus, Galvin had a lot of beer. He was bound to pass out sooner or later. “He most certainly will never let that dream die for you. Will he?” Rayne’s mom said. “Hell No! That’s my boy. I raised my kids to never give up on their dreams.” GG’s dad professed proudly. “Mmm-huh. That’s his grown ass problem. Some dreams should just die off because they’re inexplicably out of reach.” GG’s mom said.

“Reallly!” GG said laughing so hard, hitting her younger brother’s back shoulder. “See lil bro, even mom thinks you should grow up. With that one. I mean come on… at this point. Rayne’s pregnant and married. Let. It. Go!” She tried so hard not to laugh, so hard again. “Don’t be so harsh you guys. He is drunk and I think that it’s sweet. After all these years of crushing on me and not ever having a shot, he still dreams he can. That is a heart the keeps on going no matter what.” Rayne said, blushing and proud to be fond of by Galvin for so long. “Well, I’m going to go mind my business before I get told the I’m worthless next. Thanks Rayne. I know you secretly like me too boo.” He kissed Rayne on the cheek and headed for the couch and passed out. “We saw that one coming.” Rayne’s stepfather said. Her dad had passed away her Senior year of High School. Her mom had gotten remarried to an old flame from her high school days, the year after her college graduation. Everything was all in good cheer as the night went on.

The doorbell rang. “Who could that be? I assumed that everyone was accounted for. Did someone leave?” Rayne said, confused because she’s talked with everyone all night who were supposed to be there. “I don’t know babe. I’ll get it, though.” Ben said as he approached the door and opened it. When the door open Ben, Rayne, GG, and Frank all looked at each other. They were shocked, knowing, and mortified. “Hi, aren’t you going to invite an old friend in? I bought some wine and you, know a date. I didn’t want it to be awkward.” Tim had a delish grin on his face. He literally looked like “The Grinch who stole Christmas”, and he clearly didn’t know his date. All the family members who were still coherent and by the door was confused as to who these people were. In a heartbeat GG was at Rayne’s side, she was now 9 months pregnant and due any time now. She had to keep her calm. Frank was at Ben flank and out the door closing it behind them.

“Look! I don’t know what fucking games you’re trying to play but our families are here, and we are celebrating. We’re enjoying our holidays. Where in the hell do you get off showing up here and trying to act as if we are friends with you? We are not. My wife is-.” “Your wife is 9 months pregnant. I know!” Tim laughed. Frank pushed Tim in that very moment. “You sick son of a bitch!” Then, Ben punched Tim square in the face knocking him to the pavement.” The unknown woman said, “I’m out of here. You didn’t pay me enough to get into a fight with two guys. You said you were visiting some old friends and that you wanted to show them that you had the hottest, baddest woman in town. Bye!” The woman left. Tim got up and tackled Ben to the ground. Then, Frank grabbed Tim off Ben. The door open and Ben turned and looked. “Go back in the hou-.” Tim sucker punched Frank, sending him stumbling backwards, and then pulled out a gun. GG and Rayne both shouted, “WHATCH OUT! HE HAS A GUN! Ben quickly and feverishly turned back around and attempted to grab the gun. Frank was steadying his footing and tried to grab Tim before anything could happen. It was too late. A shot had been fired but the bullet did not hit any of the men. They kept wrestling and another bullet rang off and this time Frank was shot in the shoulder. Ben finally got the gun. That’s when he heard it.

Everyone was screaming and crying Rayne’s name. Ben was at his wife’s side now, holding her and their baby she carried still in her womb. The ambulance and the police were approaching in the distance. They got Rayne to the hospital, due to the gun shot she had also gone into labor. The doctor’s had to perform surgery on Rayne and the baby. Which took hours. Almost everyone was in the waiting room. “She’s strong. She’ll be alright. It’s Rayne. I know she will survive this and our baby!” Ben said to everyone as he paced back and forth. He looked at no one until the doctor’s came in. GG tried to comfort Ben, but nothing worked, she said nothing herself. GG just cried and hugged everyone who let her. Rayne’s, GG’s, and Ben’s moms all formed a cycle after two hours had passed and started praying. Frank had got out of surgy himself and was at GG’s side. It remained that way until they got the news on Rayne’s condition. The hour grew long and some family member’s left and came back with clothes and food. The stuff couldn’t get everyone to leave. They told them to please go in rotation and come back. The obeyed. 15 hours of surgery and the doctors came in finally. “How our they? How’s my wife and our baby during? I know they pulled through because they have too.” The doctor’s all had a sad and disappointment look of sympathy on their faces. Everyone the room began screaming and crying all over again. Ben, feel to the ground on his knees into a crouching position. GG walked over to the doctor’s, whipping her tears and said, “Tell us!” The head doctor said, “We have run a numerous number of surgeries, within the past 15 hours. As much as we tried, we couldn’t save them both. See when the bullet hit, it shattered. It wasn’t through and through. The bullet hit the umbilical cord, cutting off the baby’s functional abilities within the womb. Also, causing a lot of damage to the mother and child. I’ll just get right to it. Mrs. Nightly didn’t pull through, but the baby did. I am greatly sorry for your loss!” All the doctors said their condolences and sent them to the baby’s room and to see Rayne one last time before they sent her body off to the morgue.

By Eli Solitas on Unsplash

The funeral was held a week and half later, so that everyone can be there. Tim’s ex-wife attended Rayne’s funeral as well. Everyone was absolutely devastated. Especially, Ben. He had waited so long to be with her and just when their family was beginning a new chapter, Ben loss her. Their parents stayed for as long as they could to help with baby Nora. After that, GG, Frank and their other friends, helped as much as necessary. Ben loved being a dad, but he often wished that his beloved wife would have made it through the surgeries, so that she could be there to guide and watch the baby girl grow up. Rayne, lived as she died. She was loved, appreciated, honored and in the hearts of many. Such things also breed hate and jealousy. Tim was sentence to a life without parole in prison.

THE END!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Marie

Just a woman in a world of glorious people, with immeasurable souls. Some are lost, some never have been, and others are found.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.