Fiction logo

Planet Tetro ~ Page 39

The Swarm

By TerrencePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Firelillies are said to be holy (Lore)

I braced myself to block one of the electric balls of lightning magic flying towards us . I wasn’t sure how they would deal with the one coming from the other side . I had no choice but to what I could . I was going to block from the rear as we were still in formation except for Rose . The ball came and I still felt a little pain at first , as I thought . Without fully testing I never expected the drill to absorb the full blast . Although my drill still did an amazing job and started to suck the electricity out of the attack before I accumulated any damage .

At the same time when Visceroy rescued Rose , the armored snakes were exposed to the brunt of the other electric attack . Illdred and John dived back to the rear with us . Dodging the electric attack and breaking formation . Bulls eye only had to take a small jump back , as he had already started heading towards the rear . The snakes flew up from the impact with debris and lay motionless . I could still see the static traveling all over the snakes bodies for a few seconds after .

The snakes were down for the count . Everyone was okay . On each side of us we still had 3 shaman insects to fight , 6 of them in total . After glancing around I shouted , “I see 3 small holes in the cave walls , watch out for surprise attacks !" The shamans charged up for another attack . There was a weakness to this attack though . 3 of them have to charge the attack up together and it takes around 2 seconds before they can fire it . I’m going to take advantage of that , I wont have time to tell anyone though .

I'll just have to trust in then . To have hope that one of them can take out the other one . They’ve all shown themselves to be very capable this whole mission . When the ones from in front of us attacked I guess Visceroy had the same insight that I did . He extended his staff just in time before their attack and smashed right into the shamans . Knocking the 3 of them out if not killing them on impact . He released his magic , while only slightly panting .

At the same time while being attacked from the rear I told John to attack them . I had his cover . I fired off my shot so that it connected with their shot 1 foot in front of them . The meeting of the two electric balls caused a small explosion that sent the shamans and their staffs flying to the ground in separate directions . As I asked him to , John was at it as fast as lighting . With his amped up physical abilities . Due to his power up he smashed all three insect shamans with his club before they had a time to recover . One by one in about only 3 seconds .


The next thing that happened was very unexpected . It was almost as if I was dreaming again . Both sides became completely full with the small insect warriors . At least on the ground and ceilings . The even came rushing out of the 3 holes I noticed earlier . They were preparing a swarm and stalling us ! I wonder how many of them there are ? If we kill a lot , will there still be waves upon waves waiting behind the ones that we defeat ?

AdventureFableFantasyHorrorHumorLoveMysterySatireSci FiSeriesYoung Adult
1

About the Creator

Terrence

Releasing an ongoing online book called Zaigon. If you are new here I strongly reccomend you start reading from page 1(the oldest). Comic located at www.patreon.com/zaigon. Merch at https://digishoppe.creator-spring.com/listing/comic-zaigon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.