Fiction logo

Planet Tetro ~ Page 34

A breather

By TerrencePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Devil Bunny that was mentioned earlier in the story

After the battle we walked to examine our fallen foe . His skull was bashed in due to the staff of Visceroy's . The giant cyclops was left a bloody mess . I wish we could’ve met on different terms . He would’ve been a great ally. John didn’t seem too happy about our victory . Probably because the battle ended in his death . We also never even had the chance to try and communicate . This giant will just have to be another mystery that we’ll be able to solve another day.

We decided to slowly make our way back to the forest so that we could camp another day at the same tree as before . This adventure has already taken longer than planned so one more day shouldn’t matter much . It wouldn’t make much sense for us to just head home after taking out the monster either . Plus it was going to be dark again soon . Once again we fought all day . This must be what war is like . I hope to never have to experience it . At least on a large scale . These small skirmishes are enough trouble as is .

When we got back to our tree and everyone was making camp . I couldn’t help but feel helpless . I didn’t do much against the insect warriors and I didn’t do anything at all against the giant . My role was to protect Rose but if anything I was a liability that whole fight . Me and Rose both were lucky that those 5 risked their lives and kept the giant from attacking us .

Rose was at least useful as she healed everyone and treated them after the fight . Everyone was fine though no broken bones . A few sprains that she could heal with her magic . She said full breaks in the bone were more than she could heal with her magic . I went to John after she was done healing him . “ How are you doing buddy ? “ He answered me , “ Better than you .” I made a face because I didn’t understand what he meant . He continued , “ I can see it in that dog face of yours that you’re disappointed in yourself .

He was right . I couldn’t even hide the embarrassment from my face at this time . He added casually , “ that’s part of why we’re friends though , remember Its not because you’re the toughest guy . It’s because you’re valuable and you’re a good guy . Don’t beat yourself up like the giant did us . Use that big brain of yours to figure out how we’re going to deal with the little guys .” I went to John to make sure he was alright , and he ended up doing the opposite . I felt way better , especially knowing that he was alright .

Once again we were to take rotations in sleeping , I volunteered to be the last one to sleep tonight . Especially since I was the only one who didn’t have to fight the giant or heal others with magic . I’m sure they were all exhausted and I felt good knowing that I was going to be helping again . Bulls Eye and John decided to stay up with me for awhile . We just talked and joked about stuff . We felt more at ease having the extra company around . They were the last ones to go to sleep other than me . I was to wake up Visceroy when I got tired . I saw nothing but bugs in the night . As I listened to the whistling wind .

AdventureFableFantasyHorrorHumorLoveMysterySatireSci FiSeriesShort StoryYoung Adult
2

About the Creator

Terrence

Releasing an ongoing online book called Zaigon. If you are new here I strongly reccomend you start reading from page 1(the oldest). Comic located at www.patreon.com/zaigon. Merch at https://digishoppe.creator-spring.com/listing/comic-zaigon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.