Fiction logo

Planet Tetro ~ Page 20

Showtime

By TerrencePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

So I decided to do the honors of updating Bulls Eye . Especially since I had already gave John the honors of waking him up . I briefed him about the troop totals and our final conclusion . That the insect people all have been headed to the Sapphire Cave . I also told him that we should charge through the forest and try to surprise whoever or whatever awaits us at the cave ready to fight . That was the main point of camping so close . Other than the danger of the forest ,

Bulls Eye replied to me after listening . “ You’re right . We have to be quick and land a decisive surprise attack in the cave . I’m just not sure I agree with the charging through the forest idea . Why don’t we just try sneaking through the forest ?” I could only give him the best answer that I had at the time . “It’s really how we want to weigh the risks . Either way , whatever we fail at will put us at a disadvantage . I’m just more confident that we’d win head to head . With their size and tactics that they use , I feel they have an advantage in spy vs spy . I mean if you think about it from the beginning of our encounters with them . “ Bulls Eye sighed “ Yeah , you have a point .“

John started to laugh . “I wasn’t really needed , but me and you should both get some sleep .“ Bulls Eye agreed . “That’s true , I know you took a nap , but as you both should know by now . I’ll be more than enough for the final lookout . We also have a lot of information . Our top priority at this moment now , is to be well rested . I responded that I’m okay with that . Me and John then went to sleep in our respective lookout nests . Bulls Eye's goal was to continue watch as we got our final rest before the invasion of Sapphire Cave .

I woke up to a quiet morning . With only the sound of wind blowing the leaves . The first thing I did when I gathered my consiousness was to check on the guys . When I looked Bulls Eye was still looking , out and John was sleep . So I climbed up to Bulls Eye ’s branch and asked him a few questions . “ Good morning how are you feeling and how did the lookout go ? “ Bulls Eye still looked fresh and gave me a childish grin . “I’m feeling great , I fell asleep honestly . There wasn’t anything going on and I drifted off . I’m deeply sorry though , I’m only upset with myself because I risked the safety of you two .”

I laughed a little bit . I was slightly scared that he fell asleep on us , but I didn’t want to make him feel bad about it . As long as we’re all alright, I thought . “ No sweat , lets wake John up . Also we’re going to keep the funny detail of you falling asleep to ourselves . I know you’re very honest , much more honest than me . That’s part of why we’re buds , but John just met us and I don’t want him to lose any confidence in our professionalism . At least until this mission is complete .“

I woke John up by dragging a vine along the top of his head . He snatched it and yanked me along with it . I lost my footing and started to fall . Then Bulls Eye caught me by my shirt ! Whew ! That was close . I was was sweating and regaining my composure while they both laughed at me . Damn , that prank really backfired .

AdventureFableFantasyHorrorHumorLoveMysterySatireSci FiSeriesShort StoryYoung Adult
Like

About the Creator

Terrence

Releasing an ongoing online book called Zaigon. If you are new here I strongly reccomend you start reading from page 1(the oldest). Comic located at www.patreon.com/zaigon. Merch at https://digishoppe.creator-spring.com/listing/comic-zaigon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.