Fiction logo

Planet Tetro ~ Page 17

The Trees

By TerrencePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Hero that is yet to be seen!

I took into careful consideration what both of my partners said . Then I replied to the both of them . “ I want to go right through the forest . An unnecessary detour now will only have us traveling through the night . I would say tonight that we find a big tree to camp in at the edge of this forest . If we go another way , we’ll lose time anyways . I say we play it patient and quiet in the tree . We can keep watch to see if anything is going on in the first place , while hiding and staying low-key . Even now let's scout the edge area and make it safe right after we talk . I'd also say we can even use some of those Sweet tree’s sap ( Similar to honey trees of our world ) . We can use the stickiness from the sap to stick leaves all over our bodies . Our very own make - shift camouflage . “

John did a slow dramatic clap . “Bright man , you really are smart ! I hit the jackpot meeting you . You know , you both have been full of pleasant surprises . Your plans and moves make life or death situations exhilarating .“ He said with a grin looking to the sky . I responded to him . “ Thanks for the praise . I really appreciate that . I merely try my best for me and my friends . Of course I want to constantly improve and find treasure too, but really that's all .” Bulls Eye nodded in agreement . “ Me too , I don’t know you as well as Bright but I like your spirit! I just like to fight! I love to also make it look good ” We all laughed because even though he was serious , it just sounded funny . Bulls Eye had a way of doing that .

We double checked our rations to make sure that we could sustain before we found a tree to camp in . There were plenty of great candidates , as the forest had plenty of trees that ranged from 50 - 100 feet . We’d want a medium one with plenty of branches for us to climb on . An abundance of branches also equals more leaves and more cover .

We found a nice wide one . It was about 80 feet tall , so we started getting right to work building our temporary shelter . We even created small crevices for climbing a little easier . We just had to make sure that they were’nt too noticeable , and therefore couldn't create too many crevice steps . The plan was to face 3 different directions primarily , with a greater emphasis on the center of the forest . Bulls eye took the highest nest because of his exceptional sight . Also so that he can have our best view of the sky .

Once we were all settled in , we all had our lunch . After we were done John volunteered to take a nap . That way our sleep rotation would be strong if he slept early . We obliged and kept watch while being left to our own thoughts . We agreed to keep talking to a minimum . Our primary means of communication when we see an enemy is to give each other signals .

There wasn’t much action going on except for a few bugs here and there . The breeze would pick up time from time , but it's appreciated . The weather is slightly warm which is good . It just feels perfect when the wind hits . I started to drift into thoughts of future grand inventions . Mutiple new weapon and tool attachments on my mind . Constantly thinking about improving . I always joked I’d be a pirate if Ilived by the sea . I want the best treasures of the world ! Then I looked in brights direction , he gave me the signal saying he just saw 4 Dino vultures !

AdventureFableFantasyHorrorHumorLoveMysterySatireSci FiSeriesShort StoryYoung Adult
Like

About the Creator

Terrence

Releasing an ongoing online book called Zaigon. If you are new here I strongly reccomend you start reading from page 1(the oldest). Comic located at www.patreon.com/zaigon. Merch at https://digishoppe.creator-spring.com/listing/comic-zaigon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.