Fiction logo

Pick Or Pocket

Shane or Shame

By OneWithPenPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1

"Shane, how did I get here?" I ask the phantom who resides at the borders of my vision. "Desire." He said; Pride's remnants engulf me as I return three hours before my decay. Transparent crystals and brass casings reign over the local government's treasury. Short rectangular papers, 3x7 inches, brilliant stones cut in Asscher and round in myriads of colors with dark brownish yellow metal bricks half the length of the dollars.

"Does a small city, in a heavily populated state, in a capitalist country, matter in the grand scheme of existence?" Shane asks. "When you're hungry." My stomach replies. "You missed the true treasure," Shane responded matter-of-factly. "What then?" Like an unwelcomed breeze when naked and soaked, bewildering shame encroached as I questioned him.

" The viscous crimson black mineral-filled liquid flows as creeks spread into puddles akin to wilderness. The vermillion drops graffitied to the walls because of your lack of resistance. " Shane explains. " How much will it cost me?" I trembled. "How much did you waste?" He queried. " How much did I waste, Shane?" I relented. Suddenly the crystal fractals halted their descent, the frost in me withered, and wounds vanished. I choose again.

PsychologicalMicrofiction
1

About the Creator

OneWithPen

My imagination, our journey, and this world we call Earth. What shall we make of the time we have left here? Well, with my time I will give you many stories. Read with caution welcome Pen's page; good reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Excellent work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.