Fiction logo

Phantom

Escape

By Lydia BookerPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Phantom
Photo by Wai Siew on Unsplash

I looked down the cliff edge at the river below. Boy, it was a far way to drop. Sadly, I knew it was our only escape, “You ready?”

Thomas looked at me with a fear in his eyes, “You can’t be serious!”

I pointed the way we came, and where our pursuers were coming from, “Would you rather be killed by them? Because I would much rather a possible drowning or going splat on the rocks below, than waiting to definitely be slaughtered by the people chasing after us!” I took a couple steps back from the edge, “You do what you gotta do, Tommy. As for me, I’m a man who prefers the better odds.”

Reggie pulled off his jacket, “I second that.” With that, we both ran forward and leapt off the cliff. I didn’t let myself think about it as I fell through the air towards the water below. Thankfully, I took a far enough leap to miss the rocks. From the sounds of Thomas’s childish screams above, he decided to take his chances with the drop too.

Before I knew it, I was submerged in icy waters. The river was sluggish, so I didn’t have to worry about the currents dragging me away. In fact, it was actually really calm. I could swim up easily.

However, I noticed Reggie nearby. He waved his hand horizontally across his neck. That usually meant not to do something, so I hesitated to swim back up. He pointed up and did the gesture again. Don’t swim up? Thomas looked equally confused, but waited too.

That’s when we heard it. Voices. So that was his concern.

The three of us could hear the voice above, just making out his words. After all, who couldn’t recognize my voice by now? “Do you think they can swim?”

The second voice was clearly Sir Tivus, “Can you?” I guess that answered my question of whether my Shadowlink had my physical skills or not. “No, that boy wouldn’t be alive this long if he couldn’t swim. Though, that’s nothing I can’t work around.”

The water nearby rippled as something slipped into the river. I felt the fright rise up my spine as I could make out a shape swimming around us, but I couldn’t see what it was exactly. Nothing pleasant, I was sure. From Reggie and Thomas’s worried expressions, they could see it too.

“Bring me back whatever is left when you’re done with them.” Oh that was not good.

I watched and waited. Reggie gestured for us to not move, watching our surroundings with his far better senses. Thomas looked already desperate to breathe, but clearly more afraid of whatever was hunting us. I focused my magic, ready for anything to pop out at us.

Suddenly, a large shape shot through the water at Thomas from behind. He spun around to find himself facing an enormous shark. Definitely magic-made from how big it was, as well as it’s odd violet hue. He screamed in terror as it’s large jaws opened to snap his head clean off. Not a wise move underwater he quickly discovered as Reggie managed to pull him out of the way.

I fired off a spell that hit it’s side before it spun around and swam at me. I created a barrier at the last second, causing it to slam into it, which forced me down further into the river. It wasn’t giving up though as it bashed again and again, ferociously trying to catch me. I was running out of air, but waved my hand for Reggie to go ahead up, seeing as I noticed Thomas was just about ready to pass out. Reggie nodded in understanding and swam Thomas for the surface as I kept the creature occupied.

I kept up my barrier, hoping Reggie would be quick, because I was being forced rather far from the surface, and I was quickly growing more desperate for air. If I wasn’t careful, I wouldn’t even have enough strength to swim back up.

Finally, the shark whipped back with a roar, blood beginning to color the water around us. I then spotted Reggie behind the monster, a knife in hand as he got its attention. Even underwater, his agility was second to none as he ducked from the shark’s lunge. Over and over, the shark shot at him, but Reggie would either duck away or swipe at it with his knife.

Though, I couldn’t make out much more as I quickly dropped my barrier and started for the surface. I desperately begged every ounce of strength I had left to hold out just a little longer as I made my way towards the faint light above.

Unfortunately, no matter how hard I swam, I just couldn’t move fast enough. The surface seemed so far away and I was now choking for air. I found myself struggling to even remember how to swim as my limbs started kicking and swinging of their own accord. I knew I needed to focus, but the survival instinct in me was panicking. I didn’t have enough oxygen to keep my brain working.

However, I felt someone grab me and I found myself moving again. I could only assume at the moment it was Reggie, but what did that mean for the shark? Was it still after us? Honestly, at that moment, I didn’t even really care. As long as being eaten ended the horrible experience I was suffering at that moment as I slowly drowned.

Finally, we broke the surface of the water and gasped for air. I choked as I gulped in as much air as I physically could. Air never tasted so good as it did at that moment. I was so relieved and so painfully weak that I couldn’t even attempt to swim on my own, letting my aid swim me to shore. I let them pull me onto the bank as I did my best to control my breathing and calm my heartbeat.

Once I had enough blood pumping to be considered alive again, I looked over to see that it was not Reggie who’d rescued me after all. There sat Thomas, panting in exhaustion and dripping wet, at my side. Once again, he looked so heroic and brave that I had to mentally slap myself. I swear, if I didn’t know Thomas, I would have thought he was as brave and tough as Reggie.

But I did know him, so I knew better. He was an idiot who was prejudiced and slow in the head.

He looked over at me with those determined eyes, “Are you alright?”

I managed to lift myself up as I answered, ticked by how genuinely concerned he sounded, “What do you care?” I know that sounded petty, but I still hadn’t let go of that crap he said before.

This was the creep who only the other day said that all Enchanters were evil and pretty much decided we all deserve whatever we got for it, even death. Yeah, I let very little in life bug me, but that one… that one still left an ugly mark, one I was far from ready to let go of. That one was personal, to me and to every decent witch or wizard I knew.

Thomas seemed to notice my more cold-than-usual attitude towards him, “A thank you never hurt anyone.”

I scoffed at him as I managed to get to my feet, “What for? You saving me? Why? I thought my kind didn’t deserve to live. What’s the point of saving my life if it’s not worth anything anyways? Leaving me to die would have been you doing the world a favor.”

Before Thomas could even respond, a gasp for breath caught our attention. We looked to see Reggie had finally come back up.

Oops. Guess we forgot about him.

He swam over, looking worse for wear and trailing bloody water behind him from the large pool of blood that now turned a section of the river red. Well, that thing was definitely dead.

Reggie climbed out, even if he was clearly not doing well. I actually had to catch him when he tried to stand, only to collapse. The bite marks and tears in his clothes made it clear that the monster didn’t go down without one heck of a fight.

I helped Reggie sit on the bank and looked over his wounds as Thomas spoke up, “That’s one more point for the Vampire Reggie.”

Reggie smirked, reminding me how minimal even these were to someone like him, “That big ugly fish never stood a chance. I’ve killed beasts ten times his size.”

I could see the injuries were already slowly starting to heal on their own, “Well, none of it seems serious. Good, seeing as I still have no magic to do any healing.” I stood up and turned away, “We can wait here until you heal before we move on.” I walked over to a large rock and sat on it, watching the blood move down the river.

Of course, Reggie instantly noticed the mood of Thomas and I. He was quiet for a moment, obviously deciding how to proceed, before finally coming out with it, “Alright, enough. This isn’t getting us anywhere, and you both know it.”

Thomas spoke up first, “It’s not my fault! I just helped save Phantom’s life and he can’t even just be grateful for that! He’s been even more a pain than usual!”

I only laughed coldly, “Now I wonder why!” I looked over at him and gave him the meanest grin I could give, “I’m so sorry, Tommy. Did I offend you? How awful of me to take someone as wonderful and perfect and pure as you, an innocent mortal who has never done any wrong, and dare show any kind of disrespect or unkindness? I truly am just a wicked, evil wizard. Honestly, I didn’t deserve for you to step out of your way to come help me, me who has never done a single good thing in my life for anyone, even saving my worthless life.” I sighed, already getting bored of my bit with him, “You truly are a hero, Thomas Jet. A pure-hearted hero.”

Neither Thomas or Reggie said anything. I knew they were surprised. I couldn’t help it, but I just couldn’t even pretend to hide how I felt. It was… actually depressing. Here I was, a wizard who’s fought for my life all my life, made more enemies than I could count, yet it was the ignorant words of a mortal brat that managed to get under my skin? I couldn’t help the anger with myself for even giving them the satisfaction of seeing me get heated, but I just couldn't help it.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Booker

Just someone here to tell a story. A story of another world, of new people and places, of adventures beyond imagination.

Are you ready to hear them?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.