Fiction logo

Peter an the Star Catcher

The Revenge of the Lost Boys

By Georges KassoufPublished 3 years ago 26 min read
1

PETER AND THE STARCATHER: THE REVENGE OF THE LOST BOYS™️

Screenplay By:Georges

With characters based on Rick Elise’s: Peter and the StarCatcher

Plot summary:

Set in an alternate timeline after Molly and Peters adventure, they decided that the newly named “Neverland” island should be where they stay. Molly left her colonising father Lord Leonard Aster behind in pursuit of a new life with Peter. While on the island, The Black Stache took a liking to the formidable duo of Peter and Molly, and decided to reach out and recruit them to join his crew. They reluctantly agree, and in doing so, become friends with the Stache, who adopts them as a father figure. Five years now pass, and Molly and Peter have grown up into young adults. This is their story.

Scene One: Opener

NARRATOR STACHE

When he was a boy, he wished he could fly.

SMEE

But… he CAN fly now capt’n.

STACHE

Yes I KNOW that Smee, but they DON’T! (Stache makes a gesture to the audience). Now, you're RUINING MY SPLEEN!

SMEE

Scene…

STACHE

I DON’T CARE!

SMEE

Sorry Capt’n... (SMEE exits)

NARRATOR STACHE

Now, as I was saying…… When he was a boy-

(Suddenly, we see PETER, flying across the stage, and he snatches Stache’s hat. Peter appears much older than he once did years go. He laughs)

PETER

Hey Stache! Who ya talking to?

STACHE

Never mind that! Give me my hat back!

MOLLY

Not if i have anything to say about it!(She has also changed significantly both in appearance and mannerisms)

(MOLLY proceeds to fly in after PETER. They begin to throw his hat around like a frisbee.)

NARRATOR STACHE

(to the audience) I have had to deal with this for YEARS now. Ironically, I preferred when they were children. And I HATE children.

(PETER rushes away with STACHE’S hat, and leaves MOLLY behind)

MOLLY

Peter! Wait!

SCENE 2: Confrontation

(The Stage is split in two. STACHE is on the other side of the stage behind a closed door listening to MOLLY and PETER bicker. He reacts to the conversation as he hears it.)

MOLLY

Peter, why is it that you always insist on this childish behavior?

PETER

What are you talking about?

MOLLY

We used to steal everything Stache owned as children. It was fun then… but we’re growing up now. Stealing from the same pirate day after day loses its charm.

PETER

Molly, my one wish was to be a kid forever, remember? You said it yourself. The Starstuff made me what I wanted to be! I hate grownups, you know that. I’ve been grateful for Stache and what he's done for us. But sometimes, I just remember how it all started.

MOLLY

Peter that's behind us now. Whether you like it or not, we’re growing up!

PETER

No, YOU’RE growing up. I'm just trying to have fun!

MOLLY

How much longer do you want to keep pretending nothing is going to change! Peter. I love you. You know that. But don't you want something more?

PETER

More? Like what?

MOLLY

Well… Like this- (Molly kisses peter on the lips passionately)

PETER

Woah…… I guess I wouldn't mind that.

(STACHE BREAKS THROUGH THE DOOR)

STACHE

WELL I WOULD!

PETER AND MOLLY

BLACK STACHE!

(Smee runs on stage)

SMEE

AHHHHHHHHHHHH!

STACHE

THANK YOU, SMEE!

PETER

It's not what it looks like!

STACHE

The Grill just kissed you! I think it's clear what's going on.

MOLLY

You’re right! It is clear. You can't hold us back anymore!

PETER

Molly, please don't-

MOLLY

Oh, I'm not finished. We’ve been doing the same old missions for years! I want to see more than this!

STACHE

Well then. I see how it is. If you want more, then you WON'T get it from Smee!

SMEE

Me sir?

STACHE

What?

SMEE

You said Smee sir. Thats me, sir.

STACHE

Well I was meaning to say me, Smee.

SMEE

If you meant me, why did you say Smee-

MOLLY

(interrupting) Peter, we’re leaving.

PETER

But I-

MOLLY

NOW!

PETER

(sighs) Whatever you say.

STACHE

Oh yeah? Well good riddance! I have everything I need right here! I have Smee… and… and… WELL I DON'T NEED YOU!

(Blackout)

SCENE 3: STACHE REFLECTS

STACHE

Smee?

SMEE

Yes Capt’n?

STACHE

Have I been a bad parsnip?

SMEE

You mean Parent?

STACHE

DON'T CORRECT ME SMEE, I'M SULKING!

SMEE

...My mistake.

(A moment passes uncomfortably)

STACHE

Smee, you haven't answered my question.

SMEE

Oh, well of course you haven't, Capt’n. I think you've done a fine job raising… brats.

STACHE

Oh Smee… all of my life i hated children. But then Peter and Molly showed up. I wanted those two dead. But after they came to me when they were just groveling in their own filth like the stinky children they are-

SMEE

You mean were, Capt’n?

STACHE

(snippy) Yes Smee, were. Like the filthy children they were. But I grew a liking to those heartless miscreants. Now Molly is gone, and so is Peter. Who knows what they could be doing on their lonesome!

(BLACKOUT)

SCENE FOUR: ON THEIR LONESOME

NARRATOR MOLLY

Molly and Peter ran away, hand in hand. Molly was determined to find a greater meaning to her life on the island. Peter, desperate to continue living in his child-like wonderland, follows her, as he wishes to continue his life with her for as long as he can.

PETER

Well, what's your bright idea now?

MOLLY

I didn't get that far yet. But I'm still the leader! (Molly laughs. Peter follows suit)

PETER

Yeah, right! Fat chance

MOLLY

Wait a minute! Maybe we can find the lost boys! I'm sure Teddy and Prentiss would help us out.

PETER

(bitterly) Haven't you forgotten? We’re ‘traitors’, remember? Ever since we left them for Stache, they and the others haven’t forgiven us.

MOLLY

Oh but it's been YEARS! Surly they’ve… forgiven and forgotten?

PETER

We can't just go back there after the stunt we pulled. Ted was starving, Prentiss was growing wearier by the day, and we just… left. I know our lives are better because of it, but they won't just welcome us with open arms anymore.

MOLLY

Fine. Then our first step is going to be finding some shelter. You know just as well as I do that Stache will come looking for us.

PETER

Alright. Maybe Tink can help us, I'm sure she would-

MOLLY

She would rather see me dead than help me survive.

PETER

Oh don't be like that, I'm sure she wouldn't-

MOLLY

(curtly) What makes you so sure?

PETER

We’d be sleeping in the same shelter, and she doesn’t want to harm me! (Peter chuckles)

MOLLY

Oh, how reassuring… But I suppose you’re right.

PETER

Alright then. TINK! I'm gonna need some help!

(we see a bright light appear on the stage)

PETER

Alright! We’re in a little bit of a mess. We need shelter, and fast!

(PETER and MOLLY quickly following TINK across the stage.)

PETER

A Cave?

MOLLY

Oh, splendid…

PETER

Well, at least it's a place to stay.

MOLLY

The ship was a place to stay. Peter I don’t just want to-

PETER

You chose to run away, and now we have to deal with the consequences! The first night won’t be ideal. We can figure it out in the morning.

MOLLY

(sighs) As much as I hate to admit it... you’re right.

(Molly and Peter take a few seconds in silence to lay down, settling about a foot apart.)

MOLLY

(finally adjusted comfortably) Goodnight Peter.

PETER

Goodnight. (pause) Hey… Molly?

MOLLY

Yes Peter?

PETER

(rolling closer to rest an arm over Molly’s side)

I love you.

MOLLY

(chuckles, pointedly not moving away from his touch) I love you too, Peter.

NARRATOR STACHE

Molly did love Peter. Very much so. But she didn’t trust they could make it on their own. So, that night, while Peter slept, she went off in search of the lost boys. Unfortunately, she hadn’t a clue of what she was getting herself into.

(Molly rouses from her position on the cave floor and exits.)

SCENE FIVE: THE LOST BOYS

PRENTISS

You ready for bed Teddy?

TED

No! I haven’t had anything of substance to eat in DAYS! I'm never ready for bed on an empty stomach…

PRENTISS

(sighs) I know. But there isn’t much we can do about that, is there?

TED

No…

PRENTISS

Exactly. So GOODNIGHT, Ted.

TED

(defeated) goodnight..

(we hear a rattling noise)

TED

Um.. Prentiss? What was that?

PRENTISS

Nothing, probably just the wind, just go back to-

(MOLLY appears from the dark, holding a pineapple)

(AT THE SAME TIME)

TED

FOOD!

PRENTISS

MOLLY??

MOLLY

Um.. Hello! I hope I’m not intruding!

TED

You're not! Just give me the-

PRENTISS

Ted! Control yourself! Stay away from her. Don’t you remember what she did? She abandoned us!

TED

But she has food!

MOLLY

Yes, that's correct! Food! Here. In my hands. I brought it especially for you!

PRENTISS

Well we don’t want it! What are you doing here anyways? Shouldn’t you be with Peter and daddy dearest, Black Stache?!

(MOLLY sets the pineapple down next to her. As PRENTISS and MOLLY converse, Ted can be seen inching closer and closer to the pineapple)

MOLLY

He is NOT my father! And well, it's a rather long story. You see, Peter and I-

PRENTISS

I get the feeling Peter doesn’t have much to do with this!

MOLLY

That’s not true! Peter and I both decided we needed to leave and-

PRENTISS

Wait, so Stache is on his own?

MOLLY

Well, no- he's never alone, he has Smee!

PRENTISS

Smee doesn’t count and you and I both know that.

MOLLY

Don’t disrespect him like that!

PRENTISS

Give me one good reason not to! For someone who called herself a leader for so long, you never seemed to care about anyone other than yourself! You took Peter and left us for Stache so you could have a perfect little life to yourself! Newsflash Molly, we’ve only gotten worse since you took off!

MOLLY

Well it's not my fault you can't take care of yourselves!

PRENTISS

What do you want from us anyways?

MOLLY

(suddenly sheepish, having forgotten her resolve to make peace)

Peter and I don’t have any other place to go...

PRENTISS

And neither did we. You WONT get any help from us, right Teddy?

(TED is now right next to the pineapple, ashamed)

TED

Yeah… right!

MOLLY

Then… then I guess I'm wasting my time. Goodbye Prentiss. Ted, you can keep the pineapple. You’ll enjoy it more than me.

TED

Oh THANK YOU!

(PRENTISS gives TED a nastly glace)

TED

But you're still.. Um.. Nasty!

(MOLLY rolls her eyes and exits)

PRENTISS

(sighs) You sure showed her..

TED

I know, right?

(TED’S face is now stuffed with pineapple he slashed open, a trick previously learned from Stache.)

PRENTISS

Wait, Ted! I got an idea!

TED

Yeah? What is it? And does it involve more pineapple!?

PRENTISS

No, it doesn’t. But it's even better! Without Molly and Peter, Stache is vulnerable! We can catch him off guard and take him out- It would be the perfect revenge!

TED

And then we can eat!

PRENTISS

(sighs) Yeah sure, whatever Ted, then we can eat.

TED

I'm in!

PRENTISS

I'll tell the others. We leave to find Stache tomorrow morning! Get some rest.

(Blackout)

SCENE SIX: MOLLY RETURNS

(PETER sits awake on the opposite side of MOLLY’S exhausted entrance, TINKERBELL’S golden light flickering around PETER’S head)

PETER

You’re back.

MOLLY

(stopping dead)

You’re awake.

(TINK gives an indignant bell whistle)

PETER

Well. Someone was kind enough to tell me you were leaving.

MOLLY

(guilt is visibly settling in her stomach, but her determination to keep her secret is unwavering)

I’m… I’m sorry. I felt restless, I had to take a walk-

PETER

(blunt and annoyed) Did I make you uncomfortable? Or are you finally cooling off from your hotheaded actions and regretting your decision to leave?

(There’s a light bell noise, TINK’S laughter, and she finally flits off)

MOLLY

I- no. Just… trying to make a plan.

(she sits back down next to Peter, but this time he makes no attempt to move closer)

PETER

Next time, maybe you can make a plan with me instead of for me.

(He turns on his side away from her. Molly reaches out a hand for a second before quickly drawing it back and laying down once again, away from him.)

SCENE SEVEN: STACHE’S PLAN

STACHE

Smee, I can't stop thinking about those two. I know my parsnip-ing-

SMEE

Parenting…

STACHE

THANK YOU, SMEE!... I know my parenting hasn’t been the greatest over the years, but I can't just let them go. Smee, we’re a pirate crew, I can't just- just leave them behind!

SMEE

Don’t you mean a family sir?

STACHE

(Taken aback)

What? NO! Never! I don’t need a family! I never have and I never will! But what I do need, Smee, is a plan to get them back.

SMEE

Well that's perfect Capn’, you're the best plan-making captain to ever sail the seven seas!

STACHE

Oh I know Smee, I know. And I’ve got the perfect plan!

SMEE

(acting out his words dramatically)

What will we do, capn’? Will we lure them in with treasure? Will we create a new crew and destroy the island tree by tree till we get our hands on them! Will we-

STACHE

(now defeated, without much confidence in his usually loud manner)

We leave the ship and go looking for them, Smee.

SMEE

(frozen in his previous dramatic pose)

That's it?

STACHE

Smee, I don't want them to be out there alone.

SMEE

Capt’n, you know if we leave the boat, that means we’ll need to take a raft to shore…

STACHE

(unperturbed)

Yes, and?

SMEE

Well, that would mean-

(we hear the ticking sound of a clock in the distance. Stache grows weary)

STACHE

SHHHHHHHH! QUIET SMEE! He’ll hear you!

MR.GRIN

ROARRRRRRRRRRRRRR

STACHE

THE CROC! HOLD ME SMEE, HOLD ME!

SMEE

No can do, Capt’n! If we're gonna find those kids, we need to get off this boat and onto that island, fast.

STACHE

Wait, smee, Wait!!

(SMEE throws STACHE onto a raft and lowers it into the sea. He proceeds to jump onto the raft as well)

STACHE

Oh no you don’t! I'm staying safe, and YOU are getting us out of here!

(STACHE throws SMEE out into the water and makes him push the raft)

(MR GRIN lets out a loud nasty roar)

SMEE

AYE AYE CAPTAIN!

(SMEE and STACHE scream in terror together, as Smee pushes the raft and stache off stage, and the stage fades to black)

SCENE EIGHT:THE LOST BOYS FIND

PRENTISS

(to a group of LOST BOYS with TED at his side)

Alright everyone! Today is the day we find Stache and finally get our revenge!

(the LOST BOYS cheer)

Now, as your leader-

TED

(interjecting)

Now hold on a minute, what makes you the leader?

PRENTISS

(very matter of fact, holier-than-thou attitude)

This whole thing was my idea, therefore, I’m the leader!

TED

Yeah, but I'm so much more determined than you! The only thing you want is revenge, but the only thing I want is food! And NOTHING can bring me down when food is at stake.

PRENTISS

Yeah, but you know what does bring you down?

TED

Don’t you dare…

PRENTISS

STICKY PUDDING!

TED

MY ONLY WEAKNESS, It's sooooo good!!

(Ted falls to the floor)

PRENTISS

(snickering)

Now, as I was saying-

(We hear STACHE from a distance)

STACHE

RUN SMEE! I WON'T LET THAT BLUNDERING REPTILIAN SCOUNDREL GET THE BEST OF ME!

TED

Is that-

THE LOST BOYS

BLACK STACHE! AHHHHHH

(They begin to scatter across stage)

PRENTISS

WAIT! Don’t run! This could be our chance! He can’t stand against all of us, certainly not with one hand and some measly hook!

TED

(rises from the ground)

Ugh… What did I miss?

PRENTISS

No time to explain! Here, help me set up a trap! I brought a clock with me, if we just leave it over in that tree-

(PRENTISS points and begins to set up his trap)

Stache will run the opposite direction straight into us, and then we ambush him!

LOST BOY

But what about his partner?

PRENTISS

What, Smee? Ha! He won't last a day on his own. We’ll just leave him behind!

TED

(carefully clambering down)

I just put the clock up in those branches, he should arrive any minute now!

(We hear STACHE again, now closer)

STACHE

HE FOLLOWED US SMEE, HE'S A LAND CROC! RUN!

SMEE

Yes Sir!

(SMEE and STACHE run onto stage… directly into the group of the lost boys)

STACHE

Well well well, if it isn’t you little plan-ruining, thunder-stealing, topsy-turvying brats!

PRENTISS

We’re called the lost boys, NOT brats. You took everything from us! And now it's finally time to take it back.

STACHE

Who do you think you're talking to?

TED

(with a sudden, misplaced burst of confidence)

A one handed freak who's scared of a clock swallowing croc!

STACHE

WHY YOU LITTLE-

PRENTISS

LOST BOYS, NOW!

(The LOST BOYS all jump onto STACHE, tying him up and capturing him)

TED

Oh BOY! Pineapples here I come!

STACHE

You won't get away with this!

PRENTISS

Oh, I think we will. You don’t have your precious Molly and Peter to save your skin anymore. CAPTAIN HOOK!(Prentiss says this in a taunting manor)

STACHE

(seemingly amused) What did you just call me?

PRENTISS

I said Captain Hook! While that mustache of yours used to be your defining feature, the loss of a hand seems to be a much bigger deal.

STACHE

While I dislike how you’ve insulted me Famous Cookie Duster… I’m actually a bit of a fan... No matter! I demand you LET ME GO!

PRENTISS

Can it, Hook! (said tauntingly once more) This is the last you’ll see of this island! So long, Smee!

(The LOST BOYS run away with the newly-named HOOK on hand, leaving SMEE behind)

SMEE

Wait! COME BACK! CAPT’N!!!

(Blackout)

SCENE NINE: SMEE IN DISTRESS

(SMEE is wandering around in the forest, clearly in distress over the loss of his friend)

SMEE

CAP’N!! CAPN’!!

Oh, it's no use. I'm nothing without me cap’n. Whatever am I supposed to do?! I don’t have any crewmates, I dont have my leader… I don’t even have a direction to be headed. Oh woe is me, woe is Smee!

(MOLLY and PETER walk onto stage. They are in the forest improving quiet banter while looking for a bite to eat, when they run into SMEE)

MOLLY

Smee, is that you!?

SMEE

Kids!

PETER AND MOLLY

SMEE!! (They both run in for an embrace)

PETER

Where’s Stache?

SMEE

(fast, SMEE is almost rambling) Oh it was dreadful! The Lost boys took him! They were led by your old friends, Prentiss and Ted, and-

PETER

Wait, what were you guys doing on the island?

SMEE

Well.. We were looking for you. Stache, for the first time in his life, was worried about someone.

PETER

He was worried about us?

SMEE

Of course! He cares about you two more than you know. It broke his shriveled little capn’ heart when you left

MOLLY

(visibly distressed)

Well now I feel just awful. I should never have gone to Prentiss for help, this is all my- (Molly realizes she has revealed her true intentions the night she left Peter and freezes)

PETER

What did you say!?

SMEE

Oh dear...

MOLLY

(shaking, lacking her usual confidence)

It was nothing of importance… get over yourself.

PETER

Molly, I trusted that you would listen to me! I’ve been following you and listening to what you have been telling me to do this whole time, because I trusted you! And You blew it! So THAT'S where you went the night Tink told me you left the cave. And here I thought you were just having a rough night. I didnt even think anything of it!

MOLLY

Peter I-

PETER

Drop it, Molly. I don’t want to hear it. Our main concern is finding Stache. Smee, do you know which way they went?

SMEE

Yes Capt- Er, Peter. Yes. They went that-a-way! (Smee points in the directions prentiss and the others exited stage)

MOLLY

Perfect, then we start there.

(Peter shoulders past her to walk to Smee’s side, leaving Molly in her own world for a moment)

PETER

Yeah. That. (clearly determined, however extremely upset with MOLLY for even speaking)

SMEE

Let’s go save our Capn’!

SCENE TEN: RETURN TO THE SHIP

(PRENTISS, TED, and the LOST BOYS are traveling across the island, occasionally slashing at foliage as they drag a protesting ‘HOOK’ behind them)

HOOK

Honestly, there is a much more dignified method of transportation!

PRENTISS

Can it, Hook!

TED

Yeah, can it! (Beat) Mm… canned food…

(PRENTISS and the LOST BOYS take a second to stare at TED while HOOK continues his indignant tantrum)

PRENTISS

...Right, well, everyone on the raft.

(PRENTISS is the first to step off the beach and onto the raft, followed by TED, and then the rest of the LOST BOYS, besides one, who goes to shove HOOK before PRENTISS puts his hand up.)

PRENTISS

Except you. We need to get back to The Jolly Roger, and I don’t know how to row. Do you, Ted?

TED

No, but we did watch Smee do it that time, it can’t be too dif-

PRENTISS

(slightly aggressive, drawn out in blunt frustration)

You mean NO, you don’t know how to row?

TED

(catching on)

Not at all.

PRENTISS

Well surely there must be someone here who has experience with rowing a boat in a timely fashion. But alas, no one here has enough skill to possibly-

HOOK

No one has enough skill? I'm the greatest pirate captain there ever was and ever will be! My family has been in the pirate business for generations! And you think that there is no one here who knows how to row a boat? I'll show you!

TED

Well… if you insist!

HOOK

I most CERTAINLY do!

PRENTISS

(aside, to TED) Good one!

PRENTISS

There is just one teensy tiny thing I forgot to mention

HOOK

And what's that?

TED

We don’t have any oars!

PRENTISS

I guess you’ll have to push the raft!

HOOK

Yo-You mean in the water? (HOOK is now visibly afraid)

(we hear a ticking noise once more, it's MR.GRIN)

PRENTISS

Yep! Better start rowing before that croc gets you first!

(PRENTISS, with help from TED, shoves Hook into the water.)

HOOK

Why you little-

MR.GRIN

ROARRRRRRRRR!

HOOK

AHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! (HOOK pushes the raft across the stage as quickly as he possibly can)

(there is now a very quick scene change. As HOOK and THE LOST BOYS make it off stage, the Jolly Roger is then brought onto stage on the opposite side. We then see HOOK and the others climb aboard. The ticking sound of MR.GRIN is shrill ever so prevalent, and it is to assume that MR.GRIN is circling the ship. The Lost Boys briefly battle, then subdue, the not very-abled pirate crew).

PRENTISS

It's the end of the line for you Hook! We're finally getting our revenge!

HOOK

(genuine confusion)

...Revenge? For what?

PRENTISS

What do you mean “for what”! You took Molly and Peter from us!

HOOK

No, they left you for my incredible offer to sail the seven seas as mercenaries alongside me and me pirate crew! An offer not easily refused! Although leaving a band of brats like yourselves doesn't seem like it would take much persuading...

TED

Hey! Not true!

HOOK

Says who, Tubby!

TED

Hey! I am NOT Tubby… just, big-boned is all.

HOOK

So… what are you going to make me do? Walk me own plank?

PRENTISS

Precisely!

HOOK

(not even taken aback at being correct, but he can’t bring himself to be cocky here either)

How original...

(TED looks mildly uncomfortable to be down for murder, but the rest of the LOST BOYS are enthused, more so for violence than Prentiss’ ‘revenge.’)

PRENTISS

(grabs HOOK’S hat and places it on his own head)

Tie him up, boys! It’s time for someone to walk the plank.

SCENE ELEVEN: PROJECT BOAT

(Smee, Peter, and Molly walk across the stage, with Molly several paces behind the other two, deeply distracted. If Peter notices, he doesn’t care.)

PETER

Smee, are you sure they were headed this way? We’ve been walking for ages and-

(They break through the thick foliage of the island and onto the beach. SMEE realizes the boat is gone and realizes they must ALL be gone.)

SMEE

(reminiscent of the white rabbit)

Oh dear, oh dear oh dear...

(this interaction, panic, and change of scenery breaks MOLLY from her stupor.)

MOLLY

Smee? Where are they?

SMEE

(pause)

They may’ve gone back to the ‘Ol Roger.

PETER

...And I didn’t hear Mr. Grin the whole time we were searching. We need a plan.

(PETER turns to acknowledge MOLLY’S existence again, but she’s gone. He scoffs, until she comes back, slowly but surely dragging two flimsy looking rafts made of island materials. MOLLY is grunting in effort, and SMEE goes to help, but she shakes him off.)

PETER

(stunned)

Wh- where did you get those?

MOLLY

(catching her breath)

The river races. From before we left I… I always stored my rafts here with Slightly’s…

PETER

(pause)

Right. Well, we shouldn’t waste ti-

(PETER gets whacked in the face with a lump of fabric, MOLLY’S skirt petticoat that she has removed so that she won’t be weighed down.)

MOLLY

Hold onto that, will you? I’ll see you there.

(MOLLY dives into the water without a second look, leaving the other two with their rafts in stunned silence.)

SMEE

(shaking his head)

Oh she is trouble, that one.

PETER

(staring at the petticoat still very much angry, but he now recognizes his anger comes from how much he cares)

Yeah. But she’s my trouble. And she’s gonna get herself killed if we don’t hurry up, the lack of self-control, honestly-

(PETER and SMEE begin to get on the rafts as a BLACKOUT happens)

SCENE ELEVEN: THE JOLLY ROGER

(The scene opens on the Jolly Roger set as previously set up. HOOK stands on the base of the plank, not yet being shoved off, but that doesn’t look like that will last much longer as Prentiss is looking dangerously drunk on power.)

HOOK

Is this really necessary? Truly, I understand theatrics more than anyone, but-

PRENTISS

(holding a dagger similar to that of Pan’s, it’s possible he stole it or PETER left it behind years ago)

Do you ever shut up? You’re as bad as Molly when Ted and I didn’t listen.

(HOOK’S eyes narrow but instead of talking, he just grumbles. TED appears from the Captain’s quarters, holding a bottle of rum and an incredibly stale and mildly mouldy baguette.)

TED

Hey, that big old heavy starstuff trunk is back there, but there’s not much to eat.

(The LOST BOYS perk up at the mention of ‘starstuff’ and scamper off in the direction of the cabin. PRENTISS throws a look in TED’S direction, as the OG pirate crew is now unguarded)

PRENTISS

Fine. I think this moment is better intimate anyway. The death of Hook doesn’t deserve to be a show.

HOOK

Aren’t you like, eternally 12?

PRENTISS

(temper-tantrum-esque)

No! I’m 13! (pause) I think. Look-

HOOK

Exactly. You have no idea what good entertainment is.

(TED is uncomfortable, and slides behind PRENTISS)

PRENTISS

Maybe not to you, but I know what I like, Hook, and that’s watching you go down.

(PRENTISS lifts his dagger to HOOK’S throat and slowly starts edging him towards the end of the plank.)

HOOK

What you don't realize is that I'm more afraid of a clock swallowing crocodile than-

PRENTISS

We’re not playing games Hook, it's the end of the line for you!

TED

Yeah! What he said!

PRENTISS

Teddy! You're ruining my big moment!

TED

Oh.. sorry!

PRENTISS

Say yer goodbyes ye’ bathtub capn’!

TED

Hey! That's what Hook said when he defeated slank!

PRENTISS

Ted! You're not supposed to say that! That ruins the call back!!

TED

Oh.. sorry again! My end goal here was really just pineapple, not the witty banter-

HOOK

Clearly…

PRENTISS

Oh just jump off the plank already!

(PRENTISS shoves HOOK off into the water just as Molly arrives with the raft. HOOK lets out a terrible scream as he falls)

MOLLY

We’re too late!

PETER

Not if I have anything to say about it! Molly, you go get Stache, Smee and I will climb to the deck and stop Prentiss!

MOLLY

What about Ted and the lost boys?

PETER

Don't worry!

SMEE

We brought pineapple!

MOLLY

Sometimes you boys do have a good idea!

PETER

With luck this will all blow over soon. Now go save Stache!

MOLLY

Right!

(PETER and SMEE climb their way onto the boat while MOLLY rushes to jump off the plank to save HOOK from drowning. SMEE dashes into the captain’s cabin to block off the other LOST BOYS)

PRENTISS

Oh, look who finally showed up.

PETER

(grinning)

Good to see you too, Prentiss. (He gestures to the other’s knife) I hope you’ve been practicing!

(PETER grabs a sword stabbed into the deck of the ship and takes the defensive as PRENTISS gets cocky, but it’s clear he doesn’t have the same mercenary practice and training as PETER)

PRENTISS

I wouldn’t have to practice if you two had just stuck around!

PETER

(parrying attacks)

I don’t know, I always think it’s good to pick a new skill. Molly’s actually fluent in-

PRENTISS

Will you SHUT UP about her? You were supposed to be with us!

TED

(suddenly invested)

Yeah! What happened to sticking together?

(TED yelps and jumps back as PETER and PRENTISS, still fighting, breeze by)

PETER

Sometimes plans change! We meet new people!

(Prentiss slashes at him aggressively.)

PRENTISS

And sometimes those people are temporary!

(PETER finally takes the offense and pins PRENTISS to the mast almost immediately. PRENTISS exhales and drops his weapon to the ground, breathing heavily as SMEE edges out of the cabin.)

PETER

Sorry, did you say something?

SMEE

Peter, behind you!

(PETER whips around with his blade and slices clean through a pineapple TED had been about to hit his head with.)

TED

Whoops.

(SMEE rushes over to help contain them when MOLLY drags HOOK onto the deck, coughing. They’re both soaking wet. HOOK appears unconscious.)

SMEE

Capt’n!

MOLLY

(exhausted, turning her head to cough over her shoulder frequently as she shakes HOOK) Get up! (pause) Shit!

PETER

(rushing over) Are you okay?

MOLLY

He.. ugh! (She pushes him again and tries to sit him upright to get water out of his lungs)

Come on, come on, move!

PETER

Molly…

MOLLY

I’m so sorry we left… I..

(HOOK begins to cough on his own and shake. MOLLY gasps and tries to pull herself together as PETER slaps HOOK on the back repeatedly.)

HOOK

(laboured breathing) Did… did I miss something..?

MOLLY

Dad!

(MOLLY throws herself at HOOK and hugs him. There’s a moment of silence before HOOK realizes she’s not talking about Aster. He gingerly wraps his arms around her as if she’s glass. PETER makes his way over and kneels down.)

HOOK

(stunned) Shoot, kid. I’m fit as a griddle.

PETER

(whispering) fiddle.

HOOK

Fiddle!

MOLLY

(pulling away, laughing weakly) Sorry, sorry.

PETER

We’re glad you’re okay.

(MOLLY nods and they both carefully help HOOK to his feet.)

HOOK

Well I would most certainly like to address the zebra in the room...

MOLLY

(at Prentiss’ throat) Yes, I would too- wait.

PRENTISS

Did you say zebra?

SMEE

(across the deck) I think it’s ‘elephant,’ capt’n!

HOOK

(distressed) NOT NOW, SMEE!

PRENTISS

No, no! Smee, I think this is the perfect time

MOLLY

(continuing) I came to you for help and you took advantage of my family.

TED

You left us first!

PETER

She wanted to explore!

MOLLY

I wanted to- what? (She turns to Peter) Didn’t you?

PETER

I wanted what you wanted.

PRENTISS

Oh please, can we stop with all the sap?

HOOK

I want to agree with the brat that tried to kill me, I think that should say something.

PRENTISS

Will you stop calling me a brat?

HOOK

Oh, of course! As soon as you stop being one, I'll gladly stop, however, I don’t see that happening anytime soon… BRAT!

MOLLY

(brightly) Will you both shut up?

(beat of silence)

MOLLY

Right. I feel I shouldn’t have to explain the difference between leaving… and attempted murder.

TED

That was Prentiss!

PRENTISS

Teddy!

TED

I'm sorry! I blame people for things when I'm hungry…

PETER

Guys, look. I never thought I'd say this… but we're growing up. And when you grow up, things change. Interests change, and lifestyles change. My time with the lost boys was fun, it really was! But… Molly and I were ready to move on.

MOLLY

We should have told you before we left. It wasn’t fair of us to leave without warning. But THIS was not a solution to that problem.

PRENTISS

(‘you right, you right’ attitude)

Yeah, ok, I can see where we maybe went a little bit too far.

PETER

You think?

MOLLY

I don’t want this to linger, Prentiss. We left, and you reacted, and we both made mistakes. I'm willing to let bygones be bygones if you are.

HOOK

Speak for yourself!

MOLLY

Dad, we can’t just go after these boys in a game of cat and mouse forever. Its ok to forgive.

HOOK

Oh fine… but only because I like it when you call me Dad! (HOOK shows genuine emotion here and embraces MOLLY. He then turns to PETER and hugs him as well)

SMEE

Capn’... this just brings tears to me eyes! You're so good with those two.. Oh my Capn’!

(SMEE is clearly an emotional mess)

HOOK

Well, I am a father, aren’t I!?

TED

(stuffing his face with the pineapple he received from PETER) Well, I guess this is a happy ending after all!

(All Embrace as music begins swelling. Tink makes her final appearance, and her light move along the stage as the curtain closes, as if she is closing them herself)

END

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Georges Kassouf

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.