Fiction logo

Pearl harbors past part 3

Part 3

By Kira ViveirosPublished about a year ago 10 min read
1
Pearl Harbor

When I walked outside to the Hawaiian sweet air I knew my life isn’t going to be the same after this. I have no idea what I’m looking for. Yes “Daniel Burks”

Well I found him. Time to go home?

No.

I know there is more. But I have to find out what more I need to find. I’m hoping to find something on his boat. Or get him to trust me enough to talk. It’s about noon right now, from what the clock said in the cafe behind me. I have so much time till 7pm and I have no idea where the harbors 21st dock is. They talk around here like they know the island on the back of their hand. I miss having a gps.

When the bus arrives I get on and sit in the far back. I look out the window and see the old style on people’s clothing. The old styled cars that I could see in a museum in my time. People are really talking to each other too. People seem more happy.

Gosh, if only I didn’t know the future of what soon was to come.

When I get off the bus I’m in the middle of town. There is a fresh market on the right corner and a home to the left. People are walking around smiling and talking. I go up to one of the First Ladies I see and ask her if there’s a map around here or if she can tell me where the docks are and where I can find dandelion st. I might as well enjoy some of my time here with the green eyes waitress.

The lady laughed when I asked for a map. But she did know where the two places were. They are of course in opposite directions of one another. But I headed to dandelion st. I got there within 30 minutes of walking. And I felt like my legs were spaghetti. I realized I’m out of shape. I get other house number 204.

It’s this small yellow house with a small porch in the front with flowers blooming on the ledges. As I stand out front of the house with a mini smile that’s when I hear a large crash coming from inside.

“JENNIFER! WHAT DID YOU BREAK THIS TIME?!” a loud voice from inside screams

“I DIDN’T BREAK ANYTHING IT FELL ON ITS OWN. I SWEAR” another sweet voice screams.

I hear a growl of frustration with stomps of a mad young woman. The front door swings open and that’s when I see a braided red head with nurse uniform on. He anger leaves her face when she notices me standing there being nosy.

“Sir?” She stops at the top of the porch steps.

I blink back into time.

“I’m sorry, I’m supposed to meet Holly here around 3.” I says calmly running my hands through my curly hair.

“Well you’re about an hour early mister.” She leans on the beams crossing her arms with attitude.

“Yes I know. I had no where else to be.” I smile

“Hmmm.” She just stares at me for a second.

“Why are you dressed like that?” She asks.

“I’m not from here. Guess I don’t know what’s in style yet.” I hope that comment pulls off.

“Where are you from?” She asks

Shit. What do I say?

Before I can answer a girl with an apron covered in flower with her blonde curls up in a bun comes running out with her hands up covered in goo and out of breath.

“Linda… I think I broke the sink.” The blonde says.

The red head rolls her eyes and turns to her.

“I told you to stop in the kitchen. That’s the 3rd time we will have to call the handyman in this month.”

“I know I’m sorry I just-“ the blonde continues.

I cut her off.

“I can fix it for you.” I say.

“Who’s this guy?” The blonde asks Linda the red head.

“Oh,” Linda looks at me. “He’s here waiting for Holly.”

The blonde looks at me with squinted eyes.

“Why are you dressed like that?” The blonde asks.

Oh my god.

“He’s not from here he said, what’s your name?” Linda asks.

“My name is Vince Lox, your name is Linda?” I ask.

“Yes and this is Judy.” Linda replies.

“Nice to meet you” I smile.

Linda sighs and leans off the beam.

“Come on in and see if you can fix this sink.” She says as she starts following Judy into the house. I follow them in.

When I get in the living room is filled with clothing lines holding up woman undergarments with buckets underneath.

“Sorry about that, it was raining last night.” Judy laughs.

We head to the back of the house we’re I see the kitchen that looks like it exploded. Flour everywhere. Melting dough on the counter falling onto the floor.

“Damn!” Judy says and she pushed the dough from falling anymore. “Ignore that too. The sink is right there.” She points to the sink next to the dough on the floor.

I open the doors to underneath.

Some time passes.

The girls grab me the little tools they had and it was a simple fix, they had a bunch of that “dough” down the drain. I just had to fish it out.

“How’s it doing down there?” Linda asks.

As I plop some more of that melting goo into a bucket.

“I say I’m about done just have to put the tubing back together.” I say

“What are you doing?” The familiar voice from the cafe says.

I lift my head up quickly and hit my head on the counter, must’ve hit it hard because some of the dough fell right on my face.

I grab my head from the blow when I see Holly.

Holly and Linda start laughing as they stand in front of me.

“Your friend Judy got some of her cooking down the drain. I said I would help fix the sink.” I say while rubbing my head.

“Well that’s very sweet of you.” Holly says smiling.

“I didn’t mean to, I’m just trying to get better in the kitchen” Judy says somewhere on the other side of the room I can’t see.

“Judy is trying to find herself a husband. The last guy she courted said she needed to learn how to cook.” Linda says.

“Now why would you go and tell a thing like that to someone we just met?” Judy says.

“Thought you were going to say it.” Linda says back.

Judy huffs and slams her rag on the counter flying flour to under the sink making me cough.

“You’re fine.” Linda says walking away.

Holly laughs.

“Ignore them.” Holly whispers leaning down to me a bit.

I finish up the sink and stand up closing the small doors. I texted the sink and it’s running fine.

“There you go.” I smile to Holly.

“That was really kind of you” she smiles back.

It’s quiet for a minute as I wipe my hands clean.

“So what do you like to do?” Holly asks.

“What do you mean?”

“What do you enjoy doing? Maybe I can help you find another job.” She leans her head to look me in the eyes. Which I was avoiding.

She’s not in her uniform anymore. She’s in this casual pencil dress with flowers on it. Her brown hair is down resting on her shoulders curled inwards. She’s quite beautiful.

“Oh, I’m quite alright. I’m gonna give fishing a try. But if it doesn’t work out I’ll make sure to let you know.” I smile.

“Oh” she looks down disappointed.

“Is something wrong?” I ask.

“Well i thought I could help. But I see you came here for no reason.” She said.

She wants me to say something sweet, this is a trap conversation.

I laugh.

“I came here because I wanted to see you” I say.

She smiles.

“Oh well that’s nice.” She replies.

She already knew that. She invited me.

“Would you like some tea? We can chat for a while” she asks.

“I would enjoy that very much” I reply.

We spent the next two hours talking about the war, which I hard to pretend I knew somethings I didn’t know and not give too much away she didn’t know would happen. We sat on the porch. She really made me laugh. Her voice was sweet and mellow. We talked about Hawaii and how she ended up here. She came to Hawaii about 2 years ago to help with the war. But she decided there wasn’t much work here to volunteer for so she took up the job at the cafe. She loves to travel. Which is something I’ve always wanted to do. I told her about my mother and how kind she is. I didn’t do much talking though, even though she wanted me to. I had to be careful.

When I said goodbye I said goodbye to her roommates too who were grateful I fixed the sink.

“Can you stop by tomorrow? I’ll make us all dinner.” Holly asked.

Judy giggled.

“Of course I will” I said. I plan to be gone but day if I’m not. I’d like that very much.

“Great” Holly waved goodbye as I walk down the street to make it in time to meet Daniel at the docks.

*

I am absolutely exhausted. I don’t think I’ve walked this much ever. When I get to the docks it’s sunset and I just made it in time. I saw Daniel in his boat walking around. When I approached it he came out to greet me.

“There you are.” He said with a huff.

“7 right?” I asked.

“Oh yes.” She walks off his boat onto the dock.

His boat is wooden with large hooks and nets inside and out.

“Now some of these air force guys have been trying to get on my bot with their girlfriends and have a good time.” I try to hold in a laugh.

“I don’t like it one bit and I never know if they have taken any of my stuff.” He adds.

There’s a lot of stuff on his boat. I’m not surprised.

“Well I can wait ch it for you no problem” I say with a smile.

He looks at me and growls.

“If you mess this up you won’t get another chance.” He says partly walking away.

“I think it’s easy enough and I won’t let you down.”

“Mhm” he says putting his hands in his pockets and walking away.

The night came quickly and I waited till other fellow fish man left their bots for the night to snoop through the one I’m watching.

When I get on the boat I can’t see a thing. I tripped a couple times getting to the boats cabin. But when I do I pull the chain for the light on and shut the door behind me.

There’s a map on the table in the back and an old cup of coffee. As I walk up to it I notice a spot in the water circled. I rub my hand against the map and feel a bump coming from underneath. I lift the map and see an envelope already opened. I grab it and open it up.

It’s a red piece of paper with a date on it

“December 3rd 1941”

That’s tomorrow. What is he up to?

I hear a click of the door. I turn around quickly and a hand goes over my mouth. I try to scream. But I notice that face.

He lets go of my mouth. I lean my hands on my knees from a slight heart attack.

“Paul?” I say looking up to the familiar face I see every morning.

“Dude, you’re not gonna believe what’s going on here.” I stand up straight and sit on the table.

“I’m all ears.”

To be continued….

Young AdultAdventure
1

About the Creator

Kira Viveiros

my grandfather told me growing up that everything has a story. Every building, person to a grain of sand. I have been writing ever since.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I love your descriptive langue in this piece, you dod such a great job giving the read a clear image of what the character is experiencing! You did such a great job building the character, Vince. He’s believable and relatable and ultimately quite a likeable guy. I was not expecting Paul to show up, great twist! Encore, encore!!! Part Four!!! Please…. 🥹

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.