Fiction logo

Patientdoctorese

Patientdoctorese - adjective: referring to the language sick people speak when doctors listen to them.

By Hope MartinPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1
This story is fiction. lol.

Martha was smiling wide, her cheeks practically ripping at the seams. Her doctor was grinning right back. There was no cancer, and her body was back on track.

It had been a hell of a scare. She had been feeling pain in her cervix, and there were other things that seemed off too. She'd gone to the doctor, and she remembered that day clearly.

"What's going on Martha?"

"I don't know. I have been experiencing this really sharp pain on the left side of my cervix off and on almost every day. And I'm so tired. I mean really tired. I am usually up by 7 a.m. sharp, every day, but lately, I've been sleeping until noon! And I haven't changed my bed schedule. I also have been falling asleep in the afternoon. That's just not like me. More so, the pain is what is concerning me, I've never felt pain like this. Not even on my period."

"Your patientdoctorese is amazing, and I have some ideas. Let's get you in for a vaginal ultrasound, I just want to make sure there isn't something going on there that shouldn't be. I'll prescribe something for the pain when you are experiencing it. I also want to do some bloodwork. There has to be a reason you're tired on top of this, and I want to see if they may be connected."

Because of that, they caught the tumor in time and fixed the problem. It was a very good day, indeed.

SatireShort StoryMicrofictionFableExcerpt
1

About the Creator

Hope Martin

I am a published author of a book called Memoirs of the In-Between. I am doing a rewrite of it, as it needed some polishing. I am a mom, a cook, a homesteader, and a second-generation shaman.

Find me on Medium also!

@kaseyhopemartin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    💚🎃great word

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.