Fiction logo

Path Not Easy

Short story about pushing on through the hard times. For the Snow Micro challenge

By Kyle PreedyPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Path Not Easy
Photo by Oliver Roos on Unsplash

"Brrr"

The cold breeze cuts right through me. I can feel it down to my bones, Making me shiver as I walk slowly down the road. I need to keep going.

My arms wrapped around myself. Hands brushing up and down from elbow to shoulder, trying to create warmth, making just enough friction to feel something. One thing on my mind, do not stop.

This road seems to never end. Curving left and right bordered by trees heavy with snow atop. Path ahead barely lit, Lights flickering in and out. The darkness caving in on me. Not like this, I will not give up.

I keep pushing forward, step after step. Then finally, though my breath, like a fog projecting from me, I see a light in the distance. Just the sight makes me feel warmer, putting some hope back in my broken spirit. I will make it, I must.

Pushing harder through my legs now, they feel as heavy as iron. Knees so stiff it feels like they could crack with every movement. I will not stop here.

Lips feeling frozen and my nose red with pain. The light from the cabin ahead growing brighter by the second. I must go on.

Finally… oh finally, I have arrived. I step onto the verandah, brush the snow off my boots and pull the cabin door open... the warm air rushes past me, almost hot. I can feel the relief in my body. I am where I am meant to be.

Stream of ConsciousnessShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofiction
1

About the Creator

Kyle Preedy

Trying something new, come along for the journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.