Fiction logo

Past Connections

Future dreams!

By Hannah RosePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Past Connections
Photo by Peter Forster on Unsplash

Ace

I emerge from the cabin I have called home for so many years. I adjust my eyes to the light as I cautiously walk up the dirt path leading to the small hill on my left. I look around searching for any signs of life when something catches my eye. Far off in the distance, I see a girl, frantically looking around like a deer trapped in headlights. I was about to turn around when she looks me dead in the eye then starts to run away, as I feel the loneliness creep back in.

I make the decision to run after her but as I see her turn a corner, something glimmers from the corner from the lake, the trees softly blowing in the wind next to it. I look down to find a heart shaped locket balancing dangerously on a small rock on the glassy lake. I look at it for a moment, feeling the strong urge to turn around but curiosity got the better of me. It was precariously perched as I slowly grab it and open it to find a small picture of a woman in what seemed like her mid 20s.

I quickly stuffed it into my pocket, bringing myself back to reality, and resumed my search for the mysterious girl. I hurried past the old tire swing, and I remember my mother telling me to never go past this point, but that was before it all happened.

I slow down as soon as I approached a hidden cave entrance. I could hear the strange, yet comforting sound of rock scratching metal and I instantly knew that it was her. I hesitantly go through the threshold and into the cave that weirdly felt like home.

“What are you doing here?” A quiet yet powerful voice echoed through the shadows.

I stood there for a minute wondering if the unfamiliar voice was just in my head when it suddenly spoke again.

“Are you deaf or something?”

“Sorry, I just came to give you this.”

I held up the gold chain and her whole demeanour changed, as if she was embarrassed.

“Thanks,” she mumbled, her eyes immediately dropping to the floor, never meeting mine.

We stood in a silence that was surprisingly comfortable, as my eyes slowly scanned over her body. She had long, black, curly hair with lilac highlights at the end, which accentuated her beautiful violet eyes. Her posture reflected how seemingly nervous she was, her head looking straight down and her shoulders disappearing under her baggy jumper.

I was startled when I looked back up and our eyes connected. She suddenly walked a few steps towards me and a small smirk made its way onto her face.

Lilah

I walk towards the stunned boy, my eyes staying on his, making sure I can make my escape without him following me again. I was about to turn to walk away when something stopped me. The look in his green eyes was one I had had in mine many times. He was scared. So instead of running away I held out my hand and put an inviting smile on my face.

“I’m Lilah”

“Oh, I’m Ace”

I walked towards the cave entrance and looked back to see him staring at me.

“Are you coming then?”

He quickly shuffled over to where I was, still slightly confused as i made my way out into the fresh air of the now abandoned fields.

Three months later...

Zarah

I sat at my oak desk, staring at the wall thinking of my mother. I remember her telling me stores of her childhood and her best friend, Lilly. They were so close until one day when Lilly disappeared out of the blue.

Her life was sad after that. Even when she had me her life was still full of hate.

My thought were interrupted with a knock on my door. My assistant Ronda walked in with a pleased look on her slightly crooked face.

“We found them.”

I grabbed the file she was holding and dismissed her, flicking through the crisp pages until finding the pictures of the innocent looking kids. I look at them intently for a moment before remembering what happened many years ago.

Lilah

We sat on the foam sofa opposite each other as he did a puzzle and I read my biography, which was just as boring as I thought it was going to be, so I was glad when Ace broke the silence.

“Lilah?”

“Yeah?” I question, putting my book down on the table, turning back to him.

“Who was the woman in the picture in your locket?”

“It was my mother.”

“Was?”

“She died when I was 15.”

“I’m sorry”

“Its okay, she wasn’t a very good mother anyway.”

“What was her name?”

“Lilly.”

Ace

I awoke the next morning to loud banging on our heavy metal door. I walked into the cramped living room to find Lilah looking just as confused as I was.

The door suddenly burst open and four giant men walked in, talking up all the room in our small cabin. They stood side by side, then split up making room for a woman in her 20s, reminding me of the woman in the locket.

She had platinum blonde hair that framed her face and piercing blue eyes. The bold, glittery eyeshadow sparkled under the light of our broken lamp, creating wild kaleidoscopes on the walls.

Lilah

The strange woman slowly came over and stood right in front of me. She smelt like cinnamon and coffee and the sinister smile on her face was mesmerizing.

She quickly snatched the locked from around my neck and held it in front of her, admiring the small photo of the woman inside of it, with a look of recognition.

“Did you know what your mother did to my family?”

“No, who even are you?”

“I’m Zarah and my mother was Emily.”

Ace

I stood there silently, in the corner, watching the blonde woman quietly speak to Lilah. I heard her say “I’m Zarah” then she mentioned something about her mother then Lilah went as white as snow.

I try to move closer but the monster like men stood in my way, forcing me to stay still.

Zarah whispered something to one of the men and they grabbed both of us by the arms and dragged us outside and into a black van, with tinted windows. We spent the journey over the rough terrain in silence, not wanting to disrupt each other's thoughts, even though I had no idea what was going on.

Zarah

We eventually arrived and I led Lilah into my meeting room and I got straight to the point by asking, “Why did your mother leave?”

I watched carefully as her face contorted and then she said, “what are you talking about?”

“Our mother were best friends but then Lilly left, out of the blue, I want to know why.”

“Lilly left me too, she never said why, I was only 7.”

Ace

A black bag was put over my head as I was led out of the van and into what seemed like an operating room by how bright it was. The bag was taken off my head and the fluorescent lights stung my eyes as they adjusted to the unexpected lights.

Zarah walked in and nonchalantly sat on the flimsy, plastic chair that was hidden in the corner.

“You can go.”

I sat there processing what she just said, not sure if she was joking or not.

“What about Lilah?”

“I need her to stay with me for a few days, we need to talk.”

“About what?!”

“Nothing you need to be concerned about.”

“Can I at least see her?”

“No.”

I reluctantly turned around, not wanting to cause more trouble but little did I know, it would be the last chance I had to see her.

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.