Fiction logo

Parliament of Night

The Moonlight Lounge and me.

By K.J.GeorgePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

Alive. I feel most alive at night. Detached during the day. It’s not that I’m not grateful for being able to open my eyes and experience another day… But I rather enjoy the nightlife. It never changes. Not like the daytime.

You could wake up one morning and it could be sunny and refreshing. The next day it could be cold and rainy. But one thing about the nighttime is that it is always dark. Never changing. Moon or not, it is always dark.

Alone. I feel most alone during the day. I don’t tend to be very outgoing because it’s not in my nature. It’s not like I completely ignore everyone and everything around me. I guess that’s just the vibe I give off to people though. People walk past me all the time without saying a word. Not even a wave. I don’t look intimidating. At least I think I don’t. But I don’t really just smile for no reason either….

No matter the reason though, existing under the sun makes me feel lonely. I don’t have any real friends, and I’d rather sleep my day away. Until the moon arises. I like to think of the moon as my friend despite what I just said about friends. Because even though it illuminates a beautiful bright light every night, the night is still engulfed in the dark. And I get to enjoy its beautiful glow wherever I choose to go under all its glory.

And tonight, under this particular moon, I’ve decided to go to one of my favorite places… The Moonlight Lounge.

The Moonlight Lounge. A place for other nightlings like myself to relax away from the gazes of judgmental people and out of sight.

“Ahhh, look who has returned. Isn’t it our favorite little night-owl?”

“Last week I was just the little barn-owl. What happened to that?”

“I thought I’d switch it up this week. The usual?”

“The usual.”

Mr. Buzz Griller. Owner of the Moonlight Lounge, and also the bartender. Remembered my face and name by my fourth night. Gave me my own nickname by the fifth. And I’ve been a regular ever since. There’s no telling how many nights it's been since then though.

If you are wondering about my nicknames, well they are pretty much expected but unique at the same time. I live in a renovated barn house just about 5 miles out from here. But 5 miles out from here is also a dead-end and Mr. Griller just happens to live across that dead end road from me. And since the only time he actually ever sees me is at night, that’s how he chose my nickname. Every one of his regulars has a nickname, however, that's only about 10 of us. He calls us the ‘Parliament of Night’. Pretty cool, right?

A small group of nightlife-ers. He says we are like owls because he only ever sees us alive at night, and since a group of owls is called a parliament that's what he came up with. A very creative man if I may say so myself.

“Well little night-owl how has life been treating ya?”

“Well, since I’m only really alive at night, I’d say great.”

“I think next week your nickname is going to be something with vampire in it. You truly embrace life to the fullest at night.”

“I can’t wait to see what you come up with Buzz. In all of my 45 years of living, I’ve never seen someone enjoy the nightlife more than me.”

“Mr. Fisher I don’t think anyone has you beat.”

Mr. Fisher is the best friend of Mr. Griller and proudly a part of the ‘Parliament of Night’. After he and his wife got divorced about 5 years ago, he’s started spending more time here, according to Mr. Griller of course. When Mr. Griller opened up this place years ago Mr. Fisher would sneak here every other night just to relax. So, obviously I have nothing on him when it comes to spending time here. I’m only 23 and this lounge has been up and running strong since I was 3. 20 years strong. Never too full, and the vibe is always mellow and cool. Just how I like it. No one judges anyone here because we all want to be left alone. However, we also enjoy each other’s company for that same reason. It’s something we have in common. We can lay below the radar here, in peace, and just enjoy the nightlife.

Depending on the night the place is either dimmed, 0r lit up with LED colored lights that fits our mood that night. The bar is always open, and it serves food as well. Again, never crowded. Just the usuals, and a few stragglers here and there. We have karaoke nights and on special occasions even a movie night. But usually it’s just music, drinks, food, and good conversation. And we don’t ever judge each other. Ages 22-50. That’s the age group for our little ‘Parliament of Night’ and yet we get along as if we all knew each other from highschool. A bunch of strangers just enjoying each other's time…

“You know one day I will no longer be able to run this place… Where will you guys go then?”

“Mr. Buzz if you think I’m going to let my little sanctuary go, you have another thing coming. You might as well put me in your will!”

The lounge was filled with a lazy laughter but there was some truth behind my words. I think they all knew it too.

“Well little night-owl I might just do that.”

Everyone one of us looked at Buzz in shock. I was kidding…partially. But I didn’t think he’d actually agree.

“Woah there Mr. Buzz I was kidding. I mean kind of. But what about your daughter, or son?

Mr. Buzz has 2 kids and an ex-wife. We, as in the little parliament, don’t really care about the ex-wife. However... well now that I think about it, we don’t care for the kids either.

“I’d rather leave this place to someone who loves it just as much as I do. You are like my daughter too, you know. More of a daughter than my own actually.”

“Well, what about me old pal. I’ve known you for 25 years!”

“Fisher, you'd be dead before me the way you drink here every night.”

This time the lounge was filled with a hefty laughter. One that I don’t ever want to imagine disappearing.

“Well, when the day comes, we can talk about this again. Until then can I have another one of my usuals?”

“Another barn-owl special coming right up!”

A place I can call my second home. No judgment and a second family. A place where no one, not even the sun can judge me. The Moonlight Lounge. A place where I can fly under the radar.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

K.J.George

✨ An overactive mind put into words

✨ Favorite coping mechanism

✨ Fiction Fanatic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.