Fiction logo

Papilio

The Ride

By JBazPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
22
Papilio
Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

It was all because of the butterfly.

If it weren’t for that, I wouldn't be here, with a hood over my head and dust choking every breath I take. Being stuffed in the trunk of a car, driving down, what I can only presume is a hole infested dirt road. Heading to only God knows what fate is in store for me. How ever this plays out, my hip will never be the same, and what is that smell?

In truth, I always thought I had a good chance ending up here.

All because of that damn Butterfly.

Mystery
22

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Darkos8 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Oh, this is so intriguing! Amazing work! ❤️

  • I need more Jason!!! Great story telling with mystery in the air.

  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    This makes me think of the phenomenon known as the "butterfly affect." The butterfly might be an actual butterfly in the story, but there might have been so many other key factors in the story that were already premeditated and compounding on top of one another. Could it be an actual butterfly? Why not? If it is, I'm thinking of a rare endangered species, and this person was caught in an area that's not their native territory via organized crime. One's life work might have lead them to their untimely demise.

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Now I am hooked in on the story and want more, dammit! Great storytelling, Jason!

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Very Nice 👍

  • Nice

  • Ashley Lima12 months ago

    So cool! You told so much of a story with so few words. Bravo.

  • And now, here we all are because of that damn butterfly! Lol. Great tease

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Wonderful!!! Left some love!💖💖 Jason all these stories to read is a bit overwhelming!😊💕

  • Oh come onnnn. You can't pull me in and then just leave me hanging! Lol! But this was so amazing!

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Got my attention

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    Oh gosh! What happens next? This is the perfect start to a thriller 😃.

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    I like that the ending is mysterious, an open beginning. You might be on to something!

  • Mark Gagnon12 months ago

    I know you’re referring to the butterfly effect, I think, but???

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Nope, nope, nope! I NEED a part 2! What? How? Why? This was great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.