Fiction logo

Owl dream

Carlos Dominguez

By Carlos dominguezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am getting used to. In the beginning it was not easy but as times goes by, I feel I need to accept the reality. I am waiting for you to wake up and observe what you do today. I keep wondering if you are aware of what happened.

Can you write? Can you read? Can you feel? Are you aware of who you are? For me, still feels like a dream. If so, when am I waking up? I can see you now heading to the shower. That is a good sign, I’d do the same.

You’re getting ready for work, surely, you’ll have breakfast before. Today is Friday, should be a relaxed day, probably drinks at night. That’d be interesting, first time I’d see you talking to your colleagues and friends. So many years living by yourself you start feeling there is no one to talk to.

Ok, you jumped into your car, I can see you are a good driver. Parking in the right spot! I love your confidence walking to the office. Seems like everyone is greeting you and you respond. Amazing, I never thought it was going to be like this.

As time passes by you seem quite confident. Lunch, coffee, laughs, typing, no one seems to suspect anything at all!

It is getting dark and you’re all heading for a night drink. Wow, you are a good dancer! Too much sweating.

Now you’re back home and getting ready to sleep. This is my opportunity. I’ll stand in your window hoping this time you see me. I want my body back!

I can only hoot! You do not even look at me. I am trapped in this owl body.

Another night of reflection, what happened? I am trying to remember the last night I was you. Better said, the last night I was in my original human body. It was midnight, I could see this owl body I live now from my bed. The hooting was annoying. I geared to my window, open it up and threw water at you to shut you up so I could sleep. I just remember your eyes flashing at me. I blacked out and woke up as you, my annoying night owl.

Another day and everything is the same, I am still you. I just can’t get you to look at me. Saturday, I’m sure you’ll take your morning jog. It’s 11 am and you’re still in bed?

Something weird is happening. I feel I am being extracted! I am blacking out!

What just happened? I open my eyes, it’s me again! I’m back to my human body? I look at my body parts, I am human again!

This is insane! What happened in the last week, I became an owl? I look at my window, you’re not there anymore, strange. I am so tired…

I hear someone knocking at the door. I head off to open. I try to say who is it but I only hear myself hooting! Oh no! I am an owl again! I can’t open the door. I hear someone yelling “open its Clara!”

She breaks into my place. She heads to my room, I follow her, she enters my room. Oh God, my human body is there. I can hear her yell “wake up Carlos, wake up Carlos”. I am feeling extracted again.

I open my eyes, I see Clara, she is shaking me. “Wake up Carlos, wake up, you’re having your night owl nightmare again!”

“What?” I said, “oh Clara, thank you for waking me up. This time felt more real than before.”

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Carlos dominguez

I am a Extended Reality (XR) advocate. Love the Latin American writing scene of the 60's 70's

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.