Fiction logo

OVERSEER: A Small Favor

Sometimes the smallest favors have the highest cost. Tranquil must decide if her heart's desire is worth the price she must pay.

By Mark JeffersonPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

Tranquil stepped out of the Dark Tunnel, expelling the entire contents of her stomach over the waiting attendant's robes. She fell to her knees, gagging and wiping the bile from her lips.

The young, long-suffering attendant handed tranquil a wet washcloth with a disgusted look, then stepped to a washbasin beside her, removing the soiled robe and donning another clean one.

Silence, just outside vomit range, watched as Tranquil shuddered, then rose to her feet. "That was quite a display!" Silence observed with a tight smile. "I think you made a friend!" She nodded towards the bald Arbitrator apprentice.

Tranquil turned her blood-shot, watery eyes towards Silence. "It's getting hard for me to use the tunnels."

Tranquil eyed the attendant. "I hate it when I draw Attendant Duty. Somehow I seem to get it much more often than my sisters ever do." Tranquil nodded to the attendant. "Sorry."

Silence handed Tranquil another damp washcloth. Tranquil rolled it up and placed it around her neck, still panting. She opened her mouth to say something, then turned around and heaved. Nothing but bile came up. When she turned back, she looked less green.

"I hate Dark Tunnels." She took her first good look at Silence, shaking her head in mild jealousy. "Pregnant again? I still haven't figured out how you did it. How many will this be?"

Silence laid her hand on her bulging belly, a half-smile playing on her lips. "This will be number three. Dango wants a girl this time. I don't have the heart to tell him it's another boy."

Tranquil scanned the area. "Where are your other children?

"They are with their grandmother. They get upset when they see people come through the Dark Tunnels. Lengo—he's my oldest—cries when he sees people throw up."

Silence turned towards the Imperator palace, walking past a dozen foam-stone monoliths, each with an undulating Dark Tunnel leading to a different city. "You've added more since I was here last."

Silence nodded, her blond ponytail bobbing on her otherwise bald scalp. "The world is learning about our College. We get more requests every year. Soon, we won't be able to service all the requests we receive."

They walked in silence for a moment. "Why did you summon me here? I realize you don't like me, so it isn't for my sparkling personality."

Silence sighed. Always like Tranquil to get to the point! "I don't dislike you, Tranquil. You remind me of me. A little blunter, perhaps, but you are smart and loyal. And, we share one other thing in common."

Tranquil looked side-long at Silence as they passed between the two guards standing before the wide metal doorway leading into the Imperator Palace. "I doubt that," Tranquil said under her breath. Aloud, she asked, "What is it we share in common?"

"Our heart's desire is to have a husband. I got my heart's desire. I want you to have yours."

"So you want me to get married?"

"Yes."

Tranquil's scoffed. "I'm sorry to break this to you, but there isn't a man in the City of Od who isn't terrified of me. There are no prospects of me ever getting married."

Silence watched Tranquil out of the corner of her eye. "I have a special favor to ask. You can refuse. But I think it's something that will benefit us both."

They stopped before a metal-bound door. Two female Imperator Guards, as bald as an Arbitrator, stared straight ahead, their spears crossed over their chest. Silence nodded to them with a warm smile.

"Please don't tell me you arranged a marriage for me." Tranquil's eyes darted about as if she looked for an escape.

"All I ask is for you to agree to a courtship. Once the Chastement period concludes, you can beg off, or extend the Chastement, or even marry if you so choose."

Tranquil turned on her heel without preamble and stalked towards the exit. "I'm going back to Od," she called over her shoulder.

"Tranquil, stop!" Silence snapped, an edge to her voice. Tranquil stopped dead in her tracks. She turned, facing Silence. Much to Silence's surprise, Tranquil appeared livid. Tranquil's angry eyes locked on her.

"Will you please just meet him?" Silence pleaded.

Tranquil rubbed her eyes. "Do you understand how insulting this is? I would rather stay alone for the rest of my life than for you to force me into some arranged marriage with some toad whose father can't get even find a mate for him in his own city!"

"Tranquil, please meet him. I promise you are well suited. He speaks his mind as frankly as you do."

Tranquil studied Silence for a second, her mind racing. "Why do you even care? What is so special about this man you want me to court?"

"We want to establish an Arbitrator Chapter in the City of An so we can study a new discovery there. The prince has agreed to such a courtship to achieve that goal." Silence glanced at the closed door beside her. "He had a dream, Tranquil."

Tranquil forgot about her anger. "He had a dream? About me? Do you mean a dream dream? Like with the Emissary?"

Silence nodded, relieved. She had Tranquil's attention.

Silence stood straight, wiping her face and pinching her angelic cheeks. "Let's go meet him, then."

Silence opened the door, revealing a small room with several comfortable lounges and a corner desk. Several closed doors exited the room. A tall man stood as they entered, a full head and a half over the diminutive women. He had ruddy skin, a thin, braided beard, and dark hair pulled back in a ponytail. He looked like the human version of a bear! His angular eyes glowered as he bowed his head. "Madam Archivist, Madam Arbitrator," he intoned with a guttural accent.

Silence beamed up at him. "Prince Naygan, I would like to introduce you to the Arbitrator Tranquil, who I told you about."

Naygan bowed again. "Honored Tranquil, I am delighted to make your acquaintance." He stood at a loss for words.

Tranquil nodded.

Silence crossed the room, seating herself on a small lounge. She motioned towards a larger lounge across from her. "Please, have a seat. You can get to know each other a little."

Tranquil crossed the room, sitting in the offered lounge. Naygan sat as far away as he could while still sitting on the same lounge. He looked at Silence, who heaved a deep sigh.

"Prince Naygan, did you know Tranquil is the foremost healer in the Realm?" Tranquil opened her mouth to comment, but Silence cut her off. "I witnessed her heal things that even I could not."

Tranquil, embarrassed, flushed.

"That is indeed a worthy skill. Perhaps in the future, you could teach these skills to our healers." They sat in awkward silence for several moments.

Tranquil turned to face the prince. "So, prince Naygan. Are you in line for the throne?"

Silence raised her hand, trying to stop Tranquil from committing romantic suicide. "Tranquil, that's hardly a topic to discuss right now—."

"No, it is a fair question." The prince raised his hands to forestall any interruptions. "I am the youngest son of three. There are two brothers and four nephews between me and the throne. It is doubtful I will ever be king."

"Good," Tranquil nodded. "I have no desire to be a queen."

Silence settled back in her lounge, grateful that Tranquil at least thought about a courtship.

Tranquil watched Silence for a moment, then turned to Prince Naygan. "Did the Honored Archivist mention that I was a whore?"

The prince sat bolt upright, choking. Tranquil turned towards Silence, her eyebrows raised in defiance. Silence sank into the lounge, dropping her face into her palm.

The prince sprang to his feet. "This will not do! How dare you impose an unsuitable woman on me! I am a prince of the Royal House of An! If word of this got out, I would ruin me!"

Tranquil jumped to her feet; her finger pointed in Prince Naygan's face. "Don't you ever confuse what I did with who I am!" she screamed. "I was born a slave, and because I have a pretty face, my master sold me into whoredom! I was one of the lucky ones. Everyone I knew—my parents, my sisters, my friends—all died as slaves. I had no choice. I wasn't raised like the pampered, spoiled, little brat of some king nobody's ever heard of! I've made something good of my life, and I will not have you scorn me because of something I had no control over!"

Tranquil marched to the door. Before Tranquil could open it, Silence appeared beside her. "Please don't leave."

"It's obvious we have nothing in common. Even if we did, word of my past always gets out. That's why I bring it up. Did you know that? I can see the measure of a man by how he reacts to my past."

Prince Naygan cleared his throat. "I humbly ask your forgiveness, Honored Tranquil. I spoke my mind before I thought through what I should say. I... I had... I did not appreciate the circumstances of your birth. Perhaps we do not mention your unfortunate past to my family at first. You took me quite by surprise. I think once people know how you have risen above the circumstances of your birth, they will understand."

Tranquil watched him. Her lips pressed in a tight line. "Well, you better get used to it. I have that effect on people."

Silence breathed an inward sigh of relief. She took Tranquil's reluctant hand and led her back to the lounge. "Give him a chance. He's very nice." Tranquil sat in the lounge, back straight, not looking at either Prince Naygan or Silence.

At that moment, the door burst open, and two toddlers bolted into the room, followed by a beleaguered Danni. She looked exhausted. "I don't remember my grandchildren being this... energetic," she commented, sitting between Tranquil and Prince Naygan. She removed a colorful handkerchief from her plain robe and wiped her brow.

"I couldn't keep them away." Danni furrowed her brow. "They wanted their mother."

Dango, Silence's husband, passed through the open door, closing it behind him. His face lit up when he saw Tranquil. "I didn't know you were coming here!"

"Neither did I. I got the message right after I ate breakfast this morning!"

Dango blanched. "Dark Tunnel?" She nodded. Dango turned green and shuddered.

"I am courting someone," Tranquil announced.

Dango raised his eyebrows. "Really? Who is this...lucky...man?"

"Prince Naygan, here." She gestured towards the prince.

Dango turned an inquiring expression towards Silence.

"He had a dream," Silence responded to his unasked question.

Understanding dawned on Dango's face. He sat beside Silence, kissing her cheek. "I see. Did this dream involve a young woman wearing a red headscarf?" Surprised, Prince Naygan nodded.

"Take my advice, Prince Naygan. Accept your fate. That young woman? That is the Emissary. She is never wrong about these things."

Dango traded a knowing glance with Silence, who blushed. Dango grinned.

Prince Naygan looked between the two of them; confusion written all over his face. "Am I missing something?"

Dango settled in. "Let me tell you the story of how Silence and I met. It all began with a dream..."

THE END

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Mark Jefferson

Mark Jefferson is a senior UNIX administrator for the Department of Defense, writer, and author of several books.

Mark has a patient, long-suffering wife, two grown children, and three fur-babies (Greyhounds).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.