Fiction logo

Our Time

Election year

By Micah Ramirez Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Our Time
Photo by Daniel Seßler on Unsplash

It was a dark and cold winter day in the South side of Chicago. A shiver went down my spine as the wind blew across the concrete and the metal buildings surrounding me. I quickly pulled the collar up on my scratchy winter coat and scrunched my neck down a little to shield myself but it was no use. It was election year and as I made my way to the podium the metal railing felt as cold as ice.

“Just stick to the script sir,” my assistant Beverly said as I leaned in to look at the speech one last time.

“You know me Bev,” I said sarcastically. “Nothing to worry about.”

She gave me a nervous grin and let out a chuckle. I walked to the podium with the sound of cheers echoing through the loud speakers. I stood out in front of the crowd and saw their faces, weary of the cold but full of hope. I put down the small stack of papers in my hands and spread them out in front of me. I took a quick glance at the tele prompters and gave a moment for a dramatic pause. Is this what it feels like to run for president? I didn’t let the weight of that thought stay for long but couldn’t help but smirk a little and wonder how in the world I got to this moment. I took a deep breath to let the adrenaline calm itself down a little. This was my time… I thought.

My whole life I had been defying the odds. I was Puerto Rican by heritage but born in southern Miami and was fluent in Spanish before I was fluent in English. The air growing up was always filled with Cuban cigar smoke as I would walk down little Havana on my way to class in flip flops and a hand-me-down shirts that was at least two sizes too big. Where I grew up there were really only two ways that a kid could have hope. One was through sports, and the other was through school. I quickly learned that sports was a dead end for me as I didn’t have the coordination or the build for it. My buddies would tease me saying that I had about as much coordination as a newborn giraffe. They weren’t far off. But I was good at school. I never met a math test I couldn’t conquer or a spelling bee I couldn’t win. But there was a problem, no one wanted to be good at those things where I grew up. No one wanted to stand out too much and the label “nerd” was more than just a schoolyard jab, it could get you beat up or worse walking home.

My solution was to become an entrepreneur. I quickly learned that if I could solve people’s problems, like a rusty old vending machine that still had candy bars from the Truman administration, I could make people like me. I quickly starting buying candy from a local market and sold it for a reasonable price to the playground, occasionally giving an extra discount to my friend Beverly. That candy business quickly transformed into an auto mechanic business, and later into a real estate empire that gave me a net worth of over 30 million dollars by the time I was 27. I wish I could say it was easy or that I did it all by myself, but the truth is that it wasn’t easy at all and if it weren’t for the community of that humble Havana town in Miami I wouldn’t have the confidence or the courage to have gotten into politics. It was those people I represented in my heart and those people who helped me on every step of the way and as I looked out on that crowd I didn’t even mind the cold. This wasn’t just “my” time, it was “our” time.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.