Fiction logo

Only Time will tell

A legacy rooted in mystery

By Tyler CurranPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

I remember the day that we almost lost our home, our kingdom. We were a small regime; our cities not spanning more than a few miles, and our population not over a few thousand. Compared to the large clans that ruled over the various parts of the continent, we were miniscule. But we were proud. Our leader, my father, was a brilliant man. He refused to be referred to as 'King', saying that it was a title fit for those who abused the power they wielded. He instead asked to be referred to as our leader or the head of our kingdom when asked by an outsider, but would prefer that his populace simply refer to him by his name, Theodin. Our people loved him, and over time our society flourished. We were seated near the edge of the ocean, on the southern border of the Aturusk clan's dominion. Using this, we managed a great dual trade system; a sea based trade from sailors coming in and out, and a fishing trade for merchants that would inevitably pass through our lands in order to reach the capitol city. We became quite wealthy, though Theodin never used the money for himself, instead dispersing it back amongst the communities through renovations or festivals. We lived in the port city Ultusk, in the old manor that used to belong to the members of the Aturusk clan before they moved to the new capitol. Theodin was not thrilled about it, as he did not want others to see him as above them, but the populace was okay with it, even pushing him to take it early on in his regime. In truth, however, it was the Aturusk clan themselves, and more specifically Gwylmach Aturusk himself, who had asked us to take up residence of the old manor. In the back garden, there was a very large, old tree that was said to have been there for over a millennia. Gwylmach asked us to care for it while we lived there, as it was a living legend. We agreed, and cared for it for as long as we could.

The Jzoranthum Tree, an ancient growth that has stood the test of time, has been talked about throughout the Aturusk clan's history. Once a vibrant pear tree, the people that fed off of the fruits produced were said to have increased vitality, strength, and lifespan. Recorded histories confirm, saying that some of those that have eaten the pears from this tree have lived upwards of 700 or 800 years. Some even say that it is those very people that wrote our histories, as they were around to witness it. Unfortunately, as it so often goes with finite resources, the pear tree was eventually harvested too often, and not given enough time to regrow, causing it to stop producing fruits. When the populace noticed this happening, they frantically began trying to plant the seeds of the pears they currently had, but the trees that grew and bore fruit from those seeds did not provide the same benefits as the ones born of the Jzoranthum tree. Seeing this, the king of the Aturusk clan at the time decided to build a large manor around the tree, and take up residence there, in order to protect it. Over the years, the last few fruits were taken and given; either as gifts, or as a means to an end to defend the clan's territory. By the time Theodin and I took up residence at the manor, there was but one pear left on the tree.

The day approached where we almost lost our kingdom. We received word, via courier, that several of our outermost villages were ransacked and burned to the ground. The assailants were ones we recognized, a group of marauders that had been harassing some of the Aturusk's outer cities for awhile now. It seems they had grown tired of just stealing resources, and decided to go try and claim a portion of the territory. Over the next few days, word came of swift and summary destruction of other villages and a few small cities, razing a path towards us at the coastline. Theodin sent extra guards to the villages, but it was either too late or not enough. After those days, Theodin sent a word to the remaining villages to evacuate, and come to Ultusk, where we would protect them. It only took another day and a half for our city walls to be filled with scared civilians, but Theodin managed to keep them calm. The night before, one of our scouts informed Theodin that the group of marauders were making their way here, and would be here by midday the next day. Theodin took me into the back garden, and we had a difficult discussion. Since my early years, I had been trained in the ways of combat; swords and shields, javelins, improvised weapons and the like. My father looked at me and asked me if I would take the last pear, and become the champion to save our people. I placed my hand upon the trunk of the tree, as its legacy and origin were still unknown; taking this last fruit may prevent us from finding out. As my hand rested on the old, rough bark of the tree, I felt a slight warmth; almost like a nod of approval, though from where I do not know. I bowed my head slightly to the Jzoranthum tree, as its wisdom I now know is beyond our minds, and gently plucked the final pear from its boughs. I could have sworn there was a sigh; a low, long exhale from nowhere and everywhere that felt like a large burden had finally been lifted, though from what or whom I do not know.

The next day, I stood atop the gates to our city, ready and waiting. I saw the first line of the marauders break over the horizon, and I knew that it would be time. I took the pear and ate it, making sure to thank the Jzoranthum tree as I did so for the strength it would grant me. As I finished, the remaining marauders were in sight, and I could feel the energy thrum through me. I leapt from the top of the wall and landed, without injury, at the base of the gate. The marauders that were approaching stopped for a moment, before letting out a battle cry and racing forward. I released one of my own, hearing the pounding of our remaining guard's footsteps behind me as we waded into battle. With the strength and vitality granted to me, we managed a swift victory. Those of the marauders who remained fled, and those who had fallen were buried where they lay. In the months and years that followed, Theodin managed to rebuild many of the villages and cities that were destroyed; though, the tree remained fruitless. He still keeps hope, though, that one day it may begin to grow again, but only time will tell. For now, talk of a war between two other clans has since crept through as rumors, and Theodin has instructed me to travel to the various capitol cities for each territory, in order to verify said rumors. Should it come to it, I will fight to protect my home with everything I have.

I am Zalemin, son of Theodin, and champion of Jzoranthum.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Curran

I'm brand new to the shared writing scene. I've written stories since late middle school but the only feedback I've had is from family, so I'm hoping that having more people to look at my writing will help me grow as a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.