Fiction logo

Onism and Occhiolism

25th of November 2020

By heyitsfiyePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Onism and Occhiolism
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Far away from all that (us too), an old woman stares out her window and apologises.

“I’m sorry that was so confusing for you, my love, but the truth is that time is confusing also. You do not yet understand the complexities of it – time. It’s ghastly and horrid and terrible and glorious and it is forever. Even if you do not yet understand it, it has, does and will always understand you.”

She sighs and turns her ring over and over again in her hands. It’s beautiful – an onyx-like metal wrapped delicately around her left ring finger in a gentle twist. What looks to you like tiny, emerald leaves litter the outside, between the black vines.

“Perhaps I can help you see it the way I do.” The woman closes her soft eyes and smiles. “Time is scattered and messy, like sprinkles in a Funfetti cake or ants in a nest or – actually, forget about the ants, that’s a bad example. Um, Funfetti cake or…” She sighs again, and grimaces. “That’s not quite right either.”

She stares at the ring and slowly begins to slip it off.

“Maybe I’ll have the answer by the time you get back.” The woman pauses, then smiles slowly. “Time,” she murmurs with a chuckle. “Four letters to sum up everything in existence, ever. Who am I trying to impress?”

You, the universe whispers.

Always you.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

heyitsfiye

Hello!

I'm a queer 17-year-old who writes short stories and poems under a pen name whenever time allows. I'm trying to practice my writing and build up my skills so that I can someday finish writing my novella. :D

Instagram: heyitsfiye

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.