Fiction logo

One More

Dillon R. Morgan

By Dillon R MorganPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2

“Nii-san. They’re here.”

Ayami panted from sprinting up the sloping path while I remained bowed before our parents’ graves a moment longer, praying for their protection and guidance. A wisp of incense rose from the glowing stick atop the white stone.

She gasped as I yanked Father’s amulet from around my neck, breaking the leather strap. After seven years around my neck, I tucked the amulet beneath my cloak and touched it against my bandaged shoulder, where my left arm had been.

I released the bloody ‘Justice’ amulet from my fist before the graves and let it fall to the dirt. Bracing my sheathed sword against the ground to rise, I winced with the pain.

The sun retreated behind the mountains, casting a shadow over our home and the valley below. Justice left with the light, abandoning me to the evil growing stronger in the darkness.

With a deep sigh, I returned my sword to my belt, then faced the path descending into the bamboo thicket. My hair, swept over my eyes by an icy wind, stuck to my cold sweat like fibrous plaster. Recalling the Master of Wars teachings, I kneeled.

“Ayami.” I called in a raspy voice carried away on the breeze.

She sniffled and crunched gravel under her sandals as she approached. “Yes.”

“Tie my hair back. Then bring my hat.” She grunted in confirmation and obeyed.

With my eyes closed, I meditated and savored her delicate fingers in my hair. Memories, like rusty fishhooks, snagged into my mind’s eye. Memories of carrying her in the market with our parents long ago.

Inhale.

The memories swirled in my chest, tearing at my heart and lungs, refusing to leave. The sweet aroma of pastry, her weight on my shoulders, and rice falling on my head as she snacked. Playing with her petite feet as they dangled over my chest and the sound of her laughter, so long forgotten.

She placed my hat on my head, bringing me back to the present.

Exhale.

The memories of lives lost long ago faded. The lives still to protect came into sharp focus, solidifying my resolve. The fighting would end tonight.

“Ayami. Take Haru into the mountains. Pack whatever food you can carry and flee for the pass. Don’t stop. Don’t speak to anyone along the road. Run straight to the village. I pray you make it by morning. If not. . . .”

I dropped my head and squeezed my eyes shut, but tears slipped through regardless. Ayami collapsed and wrapped her thin arms around my neck, burying her face in my back to muffle her sobs.

“Don’t cry, Ayami. We must show them our strength.” Her head turned toward the graves with a moan. She sniffled and wiped her eyes on her sleeve before standing.

Struggling to rise, I snapped at her attempt to help, causing her to recoil in pain. She and my parents would see me endure the hardship, shoulder the responsibility, bear the burden. Their last memories of me would be of their honorable brother and son, without weakness.

“Will you say goodbye to Haru?” she asked in a fragile whisper.

“No—” I choked on a sob and bit my lip for control, tasting metal. “Don’t wake him.” I finished. My eyes to the darkening sky, I saw the first stars shimmer into existence. I’ll be with you all soon. But first, one more fight.

“Tell Haru about them.” I closed my eyes and let the blessings and strength of our ancestors wash over me. “Tell him about Mother’s love and Father’s strength. Tell him about our family’s honor.”

Ayami broke down and embraced me from behind, blubbering. It took all my self-control not to return her hug, but she needed to see and remember how our family faces danger.

How we face death.

Once Ayami settled and let go, I patted her head without looking back. With my straw hat low over my brow and peace behind my eyes, I set off.

Every step felt like my last as I descended into the dark valley, into the underworld of Yomi. The enemy might lurk under cover of the thicket, but I knew Tsuyoshi too well. He and his clan would wait in the clearing by the old wisteria under the presumption of a fair duel.

The bamboo absorbed my footsteps, leaving me in an ominous quiet as night approached. The cicadas should have buzzed from the pines, and the dragonflies should have zipped by at dusk. Even they must know what waited beyond the bamboo. On the hot and muggy summer evening, I felt nothing but the chill of death.

I stumbled halfway to the clearing and caught my breath beside a small pool. In the fading twilight, I could see the effect of the blood loss in my reflection. Peering into the depths of my sunken eyes, passed the ghostly pale skin, I saw the gates to Yomi opening.

Throwing back my head, I coughed as the sake burned my throat. Even the warmth of alcohol couldn’t reach my soul. My knuckles turned white around the bamboo flask as I scoffed at how weak I’d become.

Resuming my march toward fate, the faint sound of men’s voices reached me first, then the glow of a fire through the bamboo.

I slunk off the path and circled the clearing, rolling my steps to avoid crunching the fallen bamboo leaves. Five, ten, maybe fifteen men waited in ambush, assuming some still hid in the shadows. Tsuyoshi leaned against the wisteria, mutilating its ancient trunk with his dagger, dropping splinters over its knotty roots.

I hesitated. From where I stood, I could strike first and kill him before his men could react. My palm itched on the hilt of my blade as cold sweat ran down my temple and spine.

From the path, I entered the clearing.

Tsuyoshi’s men noticed me first and tensed appropriately. My aching heart fluttered, briefly encouraged that our family’s reputation had not been forgotten. I let the men surround me as I stepped into the center of the trap.

“As expected of a noble house.” Tsuyoshi shoved off the wisteria, causing purple petals to rain over him. He brushed off the flowers with disdain and scowled at me.

“I’m not sure if you noticed, but I left an engraving for this occasion.” He indicated the scars in the bark. “Would you like to read history before I make it?”

My steady gaze masked my pain as I stood tall with honor. He could taunt, but I would remain a noble’s son until the end.

“Well, let’s have our duel. I assure you my men will not interfere.” He smirked and stripped off his cloak to reveal full leather armor, freshly oiled. His lieutenant brought his helmet which bore a large horned crest above the forehead.

Ignoring Tsuyoshi’s attempt at intimidation and surveying the militia, I recognized every smug face. Our clan would remember them in the next life.

I dropped my hat and shrugged off my cloak. Shock swept around me at the sight of Tsuyoshi’s foul play. Each pair of eyes took in my cotton hakama bearing my family crest. Shame replaced their shock as they looked away from the bloody bandages wrapped around my torso and shoulder.

Tsuyoshi noticed the change in the air, his arrogance faltering for a moment.

“Stand ready!” His men snapped to attention, though none would look him in the eye.

He turned to me with a snarl and whipped his sword from its sheathe. The screech of freed metal pierced the deadly silence. With both hands on the hilt, he leveled the tip between our locked eyes.

My vision blurred, but I focused all my remaining energy on standing steady. Sweat ran into my eyes as I slowly slid my blade free, holding it out low to my side. I glared into the eyes of my enemy and killer. Let them see the difference between you and me.

My stance provoked a harsh bark from Tsuyoshi as he lunged with murder in his eyes.

Adventure
2

About the Creator

Dillon R Morgan

I love stories in all their forms. When I'm not writing I enjoy books, movies, shows, games, and music.

Stories give us a break from reality and insight into life. I hope you enjoy my stories and find something meaningful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.