Fiction logo

One Boy’s Wish

The story of a boy and his one wish.

By Tiahna - Education = ChangePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
7
One Boy’s Wish
Photo by Elida Prifti on Unsplash

One Boy’s Wish

The town was busy, the buildings were tall and the sun was hot. At least that’s how it appeared to one little boy. Adrian was only 11 years old but he was on a mission. He needed to find some work.

As he walked up to an elderly lady with heavy bags of groceries, Adrian smiled and asked her if he could help. Hoping that she would say yes and repay his kind deed. And if she did not, all well at least he got to help someone today.

Adrian had been doing little odds and ends around this town for the last two weeks. No one knew why, they assumed he wanted to help and needed some pocket money for a toy or bike.

His family were new to town and they happily helped out this cheerful young boy.

‘Excuse me Sir, could I please help you mow your lawn?’ Adrian asked the older man preparing his lawnmower.

‘How much would that cost me boy?’ His reply was short but meant well enough.

‘Just anything you can spare, please.’ Acknowledging Adrians hard working attitude and ambition, the man set the lawn mower up for him.

‘When you are done, come knock on the door and I will pay you for your hard work.’ The man smiled at Adrian and left him to it.

Adrian began mowing the lawn.

Chapter One:

I ran down the Main Street and stopped in front of the cake store. There it was, the biggest chocolate cake they had. I stared at the price tag next to it and started to tear up.

‘No, it’s time to get to work.’ I told myself as I continued down the street. I’m halfway there and then I can buy it.

‘Hello Adrian, you’re back!’ Francis was a kind old woman who always had a job ready for me to do. She couldn’t pay much but every dollar counts.

I went about doing the gardening, taking her bins down the driveway and sweeping her veranda.

‘Adrian?’

‘Yes, Mrs Francis?’ I called back.

‘Can you please come in here, I’ve got some cake and milk for you.’

I took my shoes off and went inside, Francis was one of the few people my mum trusted for me to help out. They worked in the same building.

‘Thank you.’ I said as I sat down and started on my cake.

‘This is a delicious chocolate cake.’ I complimented Francis as she sat across from me.

‘I’m glad you enjoyed it, I brought it from the bakery on Main Street.’

‘I love that bakery!’ I smiled at Francis as she sipped her tea.

‘Do you buy much from there?’ She asked making conversation.

‘No, but that’s why I’m doing all these jobs.’

‘Every year, dad would buy mum a great big chocolate cake for her birthday. This year though, dad’s in heaven and won’t be able to send her a cake down.’ My eyes welled up with tears as I explained it all to Francis.

‘So I am saving up to buy her the biggest chocolate cake the bakery has. Mum is going to be so happy when she sees it and won’t be so sad about Dad not being here anymore. She will remember their good times but know that she also has me here.’ I smiled at Francis as I finished my story.

‘Adrian, you are the sweetest boy. Have you told anyone else this? Or even mentioned it to your mum?’ The look in her eyes showed a bit of pity but also an aspect of admiration for the small boy who sat across from her.

‘No not yet. You are the first. I want it all to be a big surprise for Mum though.’ I smiled at her with teeth coated in chocolate cake.

Chapter Two:

The next day I went down my usual route to Main Street, and stopped at the bakery.

‘Excuse me, are you Adrian?’ A voice sounded from the entrance to the store.

‘Ah, yes.’ I replied to the woman.

‘Come into the bakery, I want to talk to you.’

‘Okay.’ I walked in feeling like I might be about to get in trouble. I only ever stopped at the window but maybe she was scared I was going to steal the cake.

‘Adrian, my Aunt is Francis. The woman you’ve been helping out for the last month.’ She smiled as she spoke to me.

‘It’s nice to meet you, Mrs Francis is a wonderful lady.’ I tried to remember my manners as I spoke nervously. Hands behind my back twiddling with my thumbs.

‘Yes and she thinks you are an incredible boy, so for all the hard work you have put in, I want to thank you. You never ask for much even though what you want to buy is costly. You have helped many people in this town. So as a thank you, I want to make a chocolate cake just like the one you stop to stare at daily. This one will have ‘Happy Birthday Mum’ written on it though.’ She spoke with such enthusiasm that my anxiety melted away.

‘How does that sound?’ She asked with glee.

‘I can give you what I have earnt so far?’ I said in shock.

‘No, this is a gift from me to you.’ She reassured me.

‘Thank you!’

Adrian started crying, shocked at the kindness offered by a stranger and thankful that he could fulfill his wish. His wish of giving his mum one of the traditions Adrians late father started before he was born.

Kindness grows kindness.

If you enjoyed this Story I wrote, please share, leave a tip or heart. ♥️

Thank you, below is another story for you to read.

Love
7

About the Creator

Tiahna - Education = Change

My main aim with my writing is to teach you something or make you question something.

Otherwise I hope you find some enjoyment from my fictional stories. 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.