Fiction logo

Older

Something is in the Atmosphere

By LATANYA N CHATFIELDPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Older
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

The invisibility cloak of time isn't a real thing. I thought it was when I was younger, but now the fight to stay in alignment with that thought has taken its toll. You see, when I was younger I saw extraordinary things. Some things you would not believe unless you were there. One encounter I tell people about is when I met the people that live in the core of the Earth. They choose to stay hidden because they enjoy living in peace. The Earth's surface is volatile and they just do not roll like that. I stumbled upon their doorway when I was exploring a cave in South Africa. I slipped and fell down a deep dark opening. I passed out before I hit the bottom because I just knew it was my time to go, but what found me was incredible.

Korb looked to be a little bit older than I. I do not know how I knew the name of this being, but I did. I immediately begin to feel information downloaded into my head. It hurt, but I felt a sense of gratitude that the knowledge choose me.

Korb was standing and looking at me in amazement. I thought it was amazement until Korb began to cry. I looked around and felt that Korb had done something that was not supposed to be done. The portal to Middle earth had been left open. I was not supposed to be inside this world. I wanted to go back but it was so far up that I had not received the information on how to get back up. My family should be looking for me by now. I do not want my mom to worry so I looked at Korb and we both were thinking the same thing.

I followed Korb very carefully making sure no one saw us. Korb would be in a middle world of trouble if I were found. Korb opened the portal hoping to see someone from the past. Someone that was loved by Korb. I could feel the anxiety building so I touched Korb on the shoulder. Korb turned to look at me and changed the direction to where we were heading. I wished I could have paid more attention to how this world looked, but I was in such a hurry to find my way back up to the surface that I could not appreciate whatever beauty there was.

Korb and I were moving fast. We were walking so fast that I did not notice the terrain on which we were walking on had changed. I started sliding and sliding and then I fell. The ground felt cold and wet like a frozen pond, but it was very hot in the atmosphere. Very Hot. I started to feel faint again so I tapped Korb on the shoulder. Korb knew what I was thinking.

We reached a clearing that led to a stone pathway. the pathway seemed to go on forever. Korb pointed to the pathway. We made eye contact. I seem to think I had made a friend. A friend that I would never see again. I followed the pathway to an opening in the rock. I looked back and Korb was still there watching me. I waved. Korb just stared. I slipped through the rocks and just as it all began. I was falling again.

I awoke to the taste of beach water and sand in my pants. My head hurt again and the sun was beating down on my skin like I had stolen some of its shine. I sat up and saw people on the beach. My skin felt a little tighter from lying in the sun and my body was sore. Maybe that was from the fall. The people on the beach were approaching me fast.

I could hear them ask me a question but I really was not paying attention. They kept saying "Sir", but I was only 13-years-old. Maybe that's what they called all children. I stood up and I was taller than I remembered. Something was different. Something felt very different. I looked at my hands and they were not my 13-year-old hands. I felt my face and it was definitely not my 13-year-old face. There were no mirrors, but I knew I was much older. About 30 years older than I was what seemed like 15 minutes ago.

Years after that incident I had learned that the Middle Earth people age when they leave the core of the Earth. The same thing had happened to me but at a faster pace. I sensed that Korb knew that and tried to get me out fast because I was aging by the minute. I decided to stay hidden. Only 30 minutes had passed since I fell into the opening changing my life forever. I no longer walked alongside time. I am time. Time had robbed me of experiences because I slipped into someone else world and never experienced my own.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

LATANYA N CHATFIELD

I love to write all genres and teach my kids that they can do and be anything at any time in their lives.

Check out some of my other stories, short reads, thoughts on my podcast website: https://lovingyourselftolife51725778.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.