Fiction logo

Oh Deer, I Can Talk

A Unique Friendship

By Timberly PricePublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
Oh Deer, I Can Talk
Photo by Chris Greenhow on Unsplash

I grazed on lush green grass outside the forest's edge. As the smallest one in the herd, I often got left behind, struggling to keep up with their long strides. Even though I tried to shake off these feelings, I still felt like an outsider among them. As I wandered away from the safety of the herd, I couldn't escape the nagging thought that I was too small and insignificant to truly be a part of the group.

My throat grew dry, and the scent of water wafted into my nostrils. Intrigued, I followed my nose until I came across a large stone bowl filled with water. A group of birds hopped around the rim, but I shooed them away with my short antlers and lowered my head to drink. After quenching my thirst, I returned to my grazing, savoring the sweet taste of the fresh grass.

A sharp snap echoed across the field, causing my heart to race. I lifted my right leg, ready to bolt if danger approached. Glancing up, I saw a woman with long hair a few feet away from me. I hesitated, unsure if she posed a threat, but my curiosity got the better of me.

The woman squatted down, making strange clicking sounds with her mouth and extending her hand toward me. She spoke in a soft, mumbled voice, saying, “Come here, little one. Come here, sweetie pie. Oh, you’re so adorable.”

Her strange behavior made me uneasy, and I kept a safe distance, watching her warily as she continued to make odd noises. Although her words sounded kind, something about her cooing and clicking made me feel uncomfortable. I kept a safe distance, watching her warily as she continued to make odd noises. I couldn't help but think to myself, “This woman is strange.”

To my surprise, the woman fell back onto her bottom, letting out a fearful scream. Her eyes were wide, and I could have sworn she was shaking. I took a few steps back at her sudden outburst and wondered what was wrong with her. She lifted her hand, running it through her silky hair, and said, “I can’t believe I’m imagining a talking deer. You’re losing it, Patricia.”

I snorted as I watched the woman talk to herself. “If only I could talk and tell you how foolish you look.”

Her eyebrows shot up once more, and she pointed a finger at me. “You did talk… You talked!”

I looked around and asked her, “Can you understand me?”

“Yes, I can,” she slowly got to her feet, backing up a bit herself. “This wild.”

“You’re telling me.”

She walked over to me in a slow manner and asked, “How long have you been talking?”

“I don’t know.” I stepped closer to her. “This is my first time encountering a human.”

“This surely is amazing, but dangerous too.”

“How is it dangerous?”

“If the wrong people get their hands on you, and learn about what you can do, you’ll become a spectacle.”

I squinted at the woman. “What’s that?”

“They’d show you off to everyone, hold you captive, and capitalize off of you.”

“Would you do that?”

She thought for a second, tapping a finger on her chin before shaking her head. “No. As much as I could use the money for mortgage payments and loans, I couldn’t do that to you.”

“Thank you,” I lowered my head.

“You’re welcome.” She placed a gentle hand on top of my head and said, “You should go.”

I gazed at her for a brief second before I scurried off into the woods and back to my herd. I didn’t dare tell them about my experience with the woman, but I couldn’t help but think about our strange experience.

***

Months passed, and I haven't stepped back into the woman’s yard. I trusted her, but I didn’t know how our friendship would last. As I grazed near the edge of the forest, my ears perked up as I heard a low growling sound in the distance, and my muscles tensed in preparation for danger. But what I heard next made me jump into action. I heard the same scream I had heard three months ago; it was Patricia. She was in danger, and I was going to save her.

I galloped as fast as I could to her home and found her cowering by her garden. A large grizzly stood above her, roaring with fury. I knew I needed to act fast, so I charged at the brown bear, hitting him with my antlers. He stumbled away but then turned his rage on me. We tussled in Patricia’s backyard, and the bear kept swiping his huge paws and claws at my body. I noticed Patricia back away cautiously and I thought she was going to leave me to fend for myself.

To my surprise, she returned with a large can and sprayed it at the bear's face. The bear let out a softer grunt and then ran off into the woods. Patricia grabbed my face with her hands and asked, “Are you okay?”

“I think so, are you?” I asked her.

“I am thanks to you.” She threw her arms around me, giving me a warm hug.

She pulled away, and I noticed blood on her shirt. My neck was hurting, and I knew I had been injured. The pain was flaring up my neck and I mumbled, “I guess I’m not okay.”

Patricia checked my wound and said, “It’s not bad. It’s only a superficial wound.”

“Are you sure?”

“Positive.” She stood straight and said, “But I can patch you up for helping me.”

“You can do that?” I questioned her.

“Of course.” She nodded. “I’m a veterinarian after all.”

She spent an hour stitching me up as we talked about our lives, learning what it was like to be human or deer. While our friendship might not have been conventional, it was certainly unique.

HumorShort Story
1

About the Creator

Timberly Price

Fiction writer and self-published author.

Follow me on Instagram: @timberlyprice_author

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Oh dear, the pun in the title sold me! 😂 I love that you went with a narrative from the perspective of the deer! This makes your story so unique and really helps it stand out! This was a beautiful and heartwarming story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.