Fiction logo

October Nights

October 3rd

By Rachel DaileyPublished 3 years ago 13 min read
Like
October Nights
Photo by Egor Vikhrev on Unsplash

I hate that my parents made us move to a different state. What's so great about Nevada anyways? The fact that I started a new school in the middle of senior year was already horrifying as it is. I miss my friends already. This is the second time that I have become the new girl. And where I live is even worse; we live right near the woods that are off limits, which I thought was just weird. Every day I have to walk past the woods so I could get home faster. I never paid any mind to it. I plug in my headphones and just walk. The first week of school had already went by, and I guess it seemed okay. As soon as I got home from school, my younger brother Nate wanted to use my headphones ‘cause his broke. "Fine, but if you break these, you're giving me the money for new ones." "I promise not to break them, thank you Julie" he responded, and gave me a hug. I went up to my room to start on my homework, but for the first time ever, I decided to look out my window. It's actually kinda nice. Did I just say that? Not too far ahead, I could see the woods. And I could've sworn I saw something. It looked green. I'm probably just tired. I closed my shades so I wouldn't get distracted. Since I didn't have my headphones to listen to my music, I put on the television to see what's on. Came across something about witches putting curses on people. Thought it was interesting so I left it on. The second I laid on my bed, I fell asleep. Had a weird dream that I was running through the woods, but I couldn't see. It was really dark out. Next thing I know, Nate is waking me up for dinner. Apparently my parents had to stay late at work, so they left me in charge to feed us. "What do you want to eat then?" I asked while yawning. "I want mac ‘n cheese." He said with a smile, but he knows he can only have mac ‘n cheese once a week. "Fine, just don't tell mom and dad I made it for you." His way of thanking me was to jump on me. "Okay get off." I said with a little annoyance. "You're the best big sister ever!" He yelled, officially waking me up. We both went downstairs so I could start on dinner.

After we had finished dinner, I started to clean up so our parents wouldn't find out about it. "Alright Nate, go brush your teeth and get ready for bed" as I put the last dish in the sink. "Dessert first!" He said demandingly. "Fine, one cookie and that's it. I don't need you staying up being hyper." Nate agreed to one cookie. After everything got cleaned up, I went up to my room and started on my homework. I peeked out my window again, and I saw that green light again. What is that? That can't be the reason why it's off limits. It's just too weird. I shrugged it off. It’s probably some kids trying to prank the neighborhood. The next morning I woke up and asked Nate for my headphones. "I'm still using them. One more day?" He pouted, and I caved in. One day without headphones shouldn't be too bad. I went to school, and when lunch came around, this prissy girly-girl sat right in front of me. "Hi! I'm Hailey, sorry I haven't introduced myself sooner. How are you liking it here?" Oh god, she's too cheery, and a cheerleader. That explains a lot. "It's a school." I said trying not to smile with sarcasm. That's when I saw the look on her face that showed I wasn't going to be easy about this. "Well, we don't need to be snarky, but why don't you go shopping for real clothes then maybe you'll fit in." Still trying not to smile, but I'm quite proud that I actually got someone to show their true colors already. "Sorry that my look doesn't fit 'your' standards to high school living." Keeping a straight face and looking her dead straight in the eyes. She cleared her throat, and walked away. "Nice meeting you Hailey." I said in a more perky tone. She stopped in her tracks, didn't even bother to look back at me. I went back to reading my book. Then someone else sat in front of me. It was a guy this time. "Wow, I never thought I'd see someone get under Hailey's skin that quick. I'm Jack by the way." He smiled and put his hand out expecting me to shake it. I budged and shaked his hand. "I'm Julie." I never thought I'd catch myself smiling at a guy like that. We chatted for the rest of lunch. We had a few classes together, so he would sit next to me. Very subtle. After school, like always, I walked home the same way. Past the forbidden woods. Since I didn't have my headphones, I thought I’d look into the woods this time. I walked up to the edge when a cop grabbed my shoulder. "No ones allowed in the woods miss." With a very stern tone in his voice. "Hey dad. Oh hey Julie!" Oh my god, Jack's father is a cop. Best to stay away then. "Hey Jack." Did I just blush saying his name, keep it together Julie. "So you two know each other?" His father had said, and Jack's reply was too perky and obvious. "Yeah from school. We have a few classes together." "Well, maybe you can come over and help him with his grades. If he expects to be a cop like his old man, he has to keep those grades up." "That's a great idea dad. You should come by tonight. I really could use the help." Oh my god, at this point I'm just trying to keep my hands from shaking. "I can't tonight ‘cause my parents are still at work, and I have to make dinner for my little brother." And that is basically half of the truth. I still don't know if my parents are working late again. I said goodbye to them, and told Jack that I'll see him tomorrow in school. I do hope maybe next time I could actually see him more. Great, I'm starting to sound like a prissy girl. Get a grip Julie! I just got home, and low and behold, I just got a text from my parents that they're staying late at work. "Nate! What do you want for dinner?" I yelled so that he could hear me. "Hot dogs please!" He yelled at the top of his lungs. All I do is boil water and put the hot dogs in. By the time they're done I yelled for him to come eat. "You want dessert?" I asked him, after shoving the rest of my hot dog in my mouth. "Nah, I'm full." Alright then. Easy enough for me. And just like every night, told him to brush his teeth and get ready for bed. Just didn't expect him to nod off so soon. Who the heck is calling me? I answer my cellphone, and I never thought it would be him. "Hey, it's Jack." It's a good thing he can't hear my heart pounding through my chest. "How did you get my number?" I asked. He replied that he asked one of his dad's co-workers, a cop to get my number. "Right, that's not creepy at all." I said with a chuckle. "Yeah sorry, I got nervous in front of my dad earlier." "Nervous, you say?" I said back with a smile. "Yeah, not gonna lie, I think you’re cool. I want to get to know you and maybe take you out to eat one of these days." I'm trying so hard not to sound like a nervous wreck. I've never been on a date. "Like a date?" I said nervously. He replied with a yes. "What I said earlier in front of my dad, was just to get him to stop about the grades." "I can still help you with the grades." I replied, while my nerves were starting to settle down. I heard him chuckle, and I think he smiled. "Hey, I actually have a question" I asked. I asked him about the woods, why it's forbidden. "Well there have been rumors, but I honestly don't think they're true. The rumors say that there's a witch that kills you. I don't know all the details, but that's just what I heard from locals. My dad might know a little more about it and I can ask him." "No that's okay, I was just curious." I had stopped him right there, without getting his dad involved. "Hey uh, I'll see you in school tomorrow, I still got some homework to do." I said that as a lie, so that I can go out to the woods myself, see if maybe there's something out there. I don't really believe in witches. We both hung up the phone, and while I'm standing by my window, I can actually see a green light in the woods. I've been seeing it every night now. I check on my brother, and yeah, he's knocked out real good. I guess a full stomach will do that. I grab my little pocket knife, just in case I come across anything.

Do I lock the door, or not lock the door? I decided not to lock the door. That's if I happened to get chased out by an animal or some weirdo in a mask. Who knows. I put my hood up so that I don't get spotted. Thank you mom for giving me your old black hoodie. As I got closer to the edge of the woods, I see headlights of a car coming, so I bolted right into the woods. I don't think they saw me. I kept my hands in my pockets on my pocket knife, with the blade still enclosed. I just started walking, and don't really know where I'm walking. I'll eventually find my way out. It's really dark out, so should I use the flashlight on my phone. Probably not, someone might see the light of it. I walked further into the woods, and I spotted something on the ground; it was green, the same kind of green I've been seeing from my window. It looked like a necklace, and then it started to get really bright. Like traffic light bright. Even brighter than that. I heard something crunch behind me, that common horror movie twig-snap before something bad happens. I stood up and turned around expecting it to be nothing, but what I saw was a woman. She was weeping, barely dressed. Covered in rags, and what looks like moss. "Are you ok?" I asked without being loud. I got a little closer, thinking maybe she got lost. She had her head down, and moved like she was looking for something. "Are you looking for this?" I raised the green necklace up to her, and the light grew stronger. She then finally raised her head up, and I did not expect to see what I saw. Her eyes glowed green as well, the same as the necklace. The gem of the necklace grew even brighter, and shook violently in my hand. Somehow it got snatched from my hand, and stuck right into her forehead where the third eye is. She looked at me, and said "Thank you for finding my stone, but I'm afraid you're gonna have to die now." It sounded like a million voices came from one mouth. How is that possible? She started moving closer, and I actually got scared. I started to back up, then I bolted. Though, everywhere I turned she was right in front of me. I can't get out of these woods. Are you kidding me?! What do I do?! I took my phone out to call Jack. Maybe he can get his dad out here. As soon as I dialed his number, I got one ring and that thing knocked my phone out of my hand. How did she know? I ran back the other way, but no matter where I go, wherever I look, she's there in front of me. I closed my eyes, hoping if it's the case. I closed my eyes shut, and I heard her come up to me. I can hear her sniffing me. It's like she couldn't find me unless my eyes were open. If I can find my way out without opening my eyes, I might have a chance. I walk with my arms out in front of me so that I don't bump into anything. But one thing that I didn't expect happened. I just happened to trip over something. It felt rather large, possibly an animal. Why does my curiousity get the best of me? I decided to open my eyes just for a bit to see what it was I tripped over. And right before my eyes, it was a body. A dead body. His eyes were gauged out, and I noticed that his hands were covered in blood. His own blood. Oh my god. Then the witch appeared in front of me. I immediatley shut my eyes closed and ran. I don't even know which direction I'm heading. I need to see where I'm going to get out of here, but I can't. The only thing I could think of, was the impossible. I found a tree to sit against. I took out my pocket knife and had the blade open and ready. I opened my eyes, and just a few meters from me, was the witch. Maybe as long as I don't go too far in with the knife I might be ok. Maybe. I screamed as I shoved the blade into my right eye. Hoping that maybe if I get all my adrenaline going I could make it out of here. And from what I noticed with my left eye, the witch screamed as well. Now it made sense. I took the blade out, and shoved it into my left eye. Just not too far I kept telling myself. And with my scream, she screamed to. Realizing that I just blinded myself to stay alive, I didn't hear the witch scream anymore. Sounded like it drifted in the wind. Ironic. I told myself to just breathe, and get my ass up. Then I just remembered, I can't find my phone now. Wait a minute, I hear sirens. Holy shit, did Jack actually get his dad to come out.? I was able to hear my way out of these god forsaken woods. Yelling out for help as well, I stumbled out of the woods and onto the road. Sweet pavement. I cried out for help, and I heard voices and footsteps. I guess my hearing is starting to improve. Two voices that I heard sounded familiar. It was Jack and his dad. "Jack! Is that you?!" I yelled out. "Julie! Oh my god, what happened?" He sounded horrified just from looking at me. "Dad! She's over here!" He yelled out for his dad. I could hear him call for backup and an ambulance on the radio. I felt Jack put one of those emergency blankets on me as he helped me up. I just feel better knowing that I'm out of those woods, and that Jack is here too. "Hey Jack?" "What is it Julie?" He responded, still sounding nervous as always, and also worried. "Are you still up for that date one of these days?" I asked with a chuckle, as I smiled. I heard the chuckle and smile come from him. "Yeah, I am. Lets get you better though, so we can make that happen." I laid my head on him as we walked over to the ambulance. And that was five years ago; I still remember that day like it was yesterday. And now with my new eyes, my now husband Jack just can’t get over how green they are.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Dailey

I've always been a nerd when it comes to horror movies, fantasy and such. But other things that I do enjoy, I love to write stories, short stories, I'm even trying to write a book. I even try to make stories using my dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.