Fiction logo

Ocean's 1100 CE

A Heist Microfiction

By Natasja RosePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
9

"You have got to stop losing letters like this."

The ability to shapeshift into a bat was useful when it came to museum heists. Security might wonder how a bat even got into the building, but they'd call Animal Control instead of rushing down themselves. Demetri, of course, pointedly ignored Stefan's commentary.

Maybe he was embarrassed. This was the third time this decade that Demetri's old correspondence had turned up in a museum, all unsent letters from that period in the 1400s. "Emails are a thing now, and far harder for historians to steal."

Demetri focused on picking the lock, as Stefan looked away from a rainbow flag. Ugh, even museums were capitalizing on Pride Month to attract visitors. Stefan glanced down at the display card "A letter from a nobleman to his..."

He stopped.

Looked again.

Leaned over to read the letter.

"My dearest, you will never read this letter, and I know not if I will ever be able to tell you in person..."

Ugh, this wasn't a letter to that illiterate milkmaid was it? "...my nightshade wreath..."

That was Stefan's exclusive nickname, and this was a love-letter! "What the fuck, 'Metri, why didn't you ever say anything?"

Short StoryMysteryMicrofictionLoveHumorHistoricalFantasyAdventure
9

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Jason Ray Morton 11 months ago

    Ok, that was cool.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Splendid!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Nicely done.

  • Great story and it was an early challenge entry. Good one

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    This is giving me Dracula: Dead and Loving It vibes. Brilliant.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.