Fiction logo

Observe

Part 5

By Lucy TorralbaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Observe
Photo by Henry Becerra on Unsplash

All of a sudden I'm taken aback, the young woman is no longer the barista I had just spoken to less than a minute ago. The young woman who's in front of me looks like she could be one of the barista's relatives; her mother or maybe sister. She has green eyes with hazel around the pupils, curly almost raven black hair shoulder length, with so many freckles covering her face, and full pouty lips. She's trying to tell me something, but there's no sound coming her. Then darkness engulfs her entirely.

My head starts to ache while my eyes start blinking rapidly. After a second or two I see the barista in front of me again. So many thoughts ran through my head, the first was to say something, anything to make this moment any less awkward. "Apologies...thank you for the refill and the scones", was all I could think of that wouldn't make me look like a creep. She smiles and says, "Your welcome and enjoy." Before I left the counter, I had just enough time to catch the name tag. Toni must be a nickname, it didn't seem to suit her that much.

Making my way back to the chair where I left my book. I couldn't stop thinking of the other woman I saw in place of Toni just now. My heart was ramming against my ribcage almost as if it was trying to escape my body. I had to practice some breathing techniques I learned years ago to calm my nerves. In for four, out for five. I repeated this technique for at least a minute or two. Slowly but surely the technique starts working, my heartbeat slowed, breathing was getting easier to control, along with the muscles in my shoulders that I didn't even know were tense started to relax.

Once my body and mind are at ease I think of the woman who I saw that must've been a relative to Toni. I take out my phone and make a note of her appearance. When I'm done making the list I could feel my heart start beating just a bit quicker while my palms start to sweat. I haven't felt this way in so many years. I may have met the other woman from my pervious life. The real question is, "Who was that woman to me and why did I just see her now and not Toni."

I'll find those answers later on. Do some research on my target, I send to my assistant Jill. She sent a reply almost immediately, Will do, anything specific? I barely take a moment to send my reply, Look into her family history as far as you can go, then find out why someone wants her dead. As fast as ever she sends, Copy that.

I tried to read my book while Jill works on Toni ancestor's history. After a few minutes of reading the same paragraph without retaining any of the words I decide to give up on reading for the rest of the day. All my concentration was on the woman I saw in Toni's place just a few moments ago.

My mind won't let me think of anything else besides her. Whoever she was or whoever I think she was must've been important to me long ago. Deciding it would be better to have an image of her for comparison I draw the woman on my phone. The eyes are the trickiest due to the hazel and green combined. Finishing the drawing barely does the woman any justice, she'll remain a mystery until I remember her from my long forgotten past.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Torralba

Just a writer at heart trying to tell some stories of my own. Currently working on one main story, will update whenever I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.