Fiction logo

No Mow May

Probably April Down South

By Roy StevensPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
18
No Mow May
Photo by Anna Rozwadowska on Unsplash

Mike Singleton wrote a piece on the subject of "No Mow May' about two weeks earlier than this was published. I wasn't aware of Mike's piece or I certainly would have chosen an at least slightly different name; sorry about that Mike. Here's a link to Mr. Singleton's work, just in case you haven't seen it already: https://vocal.media/earth/no-mow-may

We're all headed the same way with a stream of loaded bees returning to the hive in the other direction. It's not far; our Queen was brilliant for picking a location close enough to the one beautiful field full of flowers in this whole neighbourhood.

The other colonies have to travel much further over all those flat, green lawns to get to the single field that feeds us all. This time of year, it's so hard to find food sources.

But there's one family of humans who let the flowers grow. We'll never sting them!

Good luck little Buzzies!

My wife picked some Forget-Me-Nots which no longer sported their yellow centres today. She told me that once the pollinators get their food from the flowers Forget-Me-Nots lose their yellow signal to the bees, so they won't come back when there's no more food available. Cool! It got me thinking about the real value of "No Mow May".

Microfiction
18

About the Creator

Roy Stevens

Just one bad apple can spoil a beautiful basket. The toxins seep throughout and...

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Valentina Savage11 months ago

    I love it! Well written and lovely

  • Absolutely perfect 👌 my friend Thanks for the insight❗

  • Heather N King11 months ago

    This is so lovely! I love getting a glimpse into the bee storytelling world!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I like how this was a cute little “tall tail” with the bee as narrator while addressing a serious issue the planet is facing. I always talk to bees when I see them. I always tell them I love them. They might not understand English, but just like the plants we need, I bet they understand energy. I’m forever grateful for bees.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I will confess mine was getting out of control. Nearly had to peg the laundry out on horseback. It's had a bit of a trim, but there's still plenty of nosh out there for bees, birds and frogs!

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Love this, Roy! Those precious little buzzing buddies are important for the survival of the entire planet! Such a perfect little tribute!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    I love this story Roy! It was simple and beautiful and so in the spirit of spring! I didn't know "No Mow May" was a thing and I also appreciate the anecdote from you wife about the Forget-Me-Nots.

  • Dylan 11 months ago

    This is really wholesome. Amazing story!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Excellent. Let that garden grow!

  • Oh wow, that was so fascinating! I never knew that!

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Great story and lesson Roy 😎🥰

  • Wonderful microfiction of your original article.

  • Test11 months ago

    How delightful, Roy! I love love love pollinators...I have a cottage garden full of flowers and, come Spring, the bees and birds visit en masse. Always so friendly too -- I'll be watering the garden, and the bees just politely pop out the way, then get back to it after the sprinkling. Bless their buzzy little hearts. Mother Nature is truly a gift, and so is this lovely tribute. No-mow May! Let that grass grow wild! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.