Fiction logo

No Bacon for the Bobcat

No means no

By Sav MapPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
No Bacon for the Bobcat
Photo by Chandler Cruttenden on Unsplash

"Always fry bacon in Crisco," she reminded us as we sat on the floor with the half-bobcat kitten, listening to the snap, crackle, pop of fat meeting fat.

The kitten lifted his snout to smell the aroma waves of pork fried in lard. He gave us a pleading look.

"And don't be givin' none to that spoiled cat!" she ordered, her back to us at the stove, knowing he was already begging.

"He ain't special just 'cause he got no tail," she added.

" 'Caint we give him just a taste?"

"No! not even a tiny bit, you hear?"

family

About the Creator

Sav Map

Stories I find, or they find me.

Contact me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (20)

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Fancy not giving the bobcat a bit of bacon! Loved this little tale.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Aw c'mon. At least when the bobcat grows up they'll know not to eat the kids! Well done!

  • Awww, poor kitty, lol! Congratulations on your Top Story! I've subscribed!

  • Ricardo de Moura Pereiraabout a year ago

    Very good article

  • Rosemary Kashabout a year ago

    This made me smile.

  • Lisa Habout a year ago

    I love this imagery! It feels so natural and I already love the characters I've never met.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    I'm one of the people who would have given the cat some food. Well done on a delightful little story and congrats on Top Story. You have a new subscriber!

  • https://vocal.media/humans/did-scientists-just-discover-what-happens-when-we-die

  • J. Jayabout a year ago

    Cute! I can imagine the begging bobcat wanting the food XD

  • Serhat Köseabout a year ago

    an amazing animal

  • Sienna Harperabout a year ago

    Well said

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    A lighthearted story with a poor hungry half Bobcat! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story✨💖🎉😉

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story

  • Testabout a year ago

    Lol! It’s so hard to resist their cuteness! I rarely give my cat human food, but I’m always tempted… however, my cat is a house cat - not a bobcat. Lol

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    I always share food with my dogs, unless they can't eat it. I'd have slipped that bob cat a crumb. 🤗

  • Ayyan Khananiabout a year ago

    That was a cute story Check out my writings too and drop a like if they’re ur type <3

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Awww 🥰 so cute! Very sweet top story

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I seriously thought you were going to cook the poor thing... 😬 Interesting Top Story!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I’d have given him some haha. Nice work!! 👏😁

Sav MapWritten by Sav Map

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.