Fiction logo

Nightmares in Dream

The story of a person who never was a human being

By Shamim Ahammed ZoardderPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

It is half-past eight every night to return home from the office. When I got back home, I sat down on the corner of the roof with a cup of smoked coffee and saw the red and blue light running on the busy road. Today, as usual, I stood by the roof railing with a cup of coffee. Although the table and chairs are arranged. But there is a difference between having a cup of coffee with one hand tied behind the back and having a cup of coffee with the other hand. To get that feeling, of course, you have to stand on the roof of my house and have a cup of coffee.

My apartment is on one side of this floor, the rest of the floor is my roof cum balcony. Sometimes I think of myself as Sharafat Karim Ayna, just for this house. There would be no mistake in calling my house the house of Mr. Ayna from the Aynabaji (The plays of Mr. Ayna) film.

With a long sip of coffee, I picked up a Marlboro shuffle from the table. What a strange cigarette made by Marlboro! Fire also changes color, everything in the world now wants to change colors like chameleons and humans.

I'm not a chain smoker, I think of myself as a fancy smoker. Although I smoke, I am not as eligible as buying these cigarettes with so much money. One of my colleagues Tawfiq bought a few packs of Marlboro shuffle for me when he came from India. The month will go by with these. I was enjoying the change in the color of the fire with a tug of the cigarette, at that very moment, I heard a few knocks on the steel door of the roof, and went ahead.

I was a little annoyed and asked "Who is on the side ??"

I ...

Who are you

I am Chowdhury Sifatullah Sifu alias your Sefuda (Sefu Brother).

Mister, are you joking standing next to the door?

Hmmm ... why am I joking? huh?? If you don't open the door quickly, I will drink and hit on your buttocks.

In the backyard, I opened the door, whether to wound or to escape from the wound. As soon as I opened the door, I realized that it wasn't the naughty boy in the neighborhood. I see our Sefuda standing in front of me with a bottle of wine in his hand.

- Will you stand in front or not? Or will I inflict two blows ?? hmm??

Listening to Sefuda, I turned away from him. Sefuda once looked at the flat, once at the corner of the roof, and walked to the other side. I followed him. Leaving the bottle of wine on the table, he pulled up a chair and sat down.

Sefuda is upset enough, it is clear from the look on his face. Before I ask questions, he started.

Such a big house but no elevator? Did you know I live in one of the top livable cities in the world? What a beautiful environment there. But look, you can't see anything in the dust and dirt in this city.

Sefuda, the owner of the house may not have heard the name of the elevator when he built this house. I replied.

Sefuda did not flinch at my answer and asked me the opposite question.

Huh, what are you drinking??

I forgot about the cup of coffee in my hand. When he asked, I looked at him and said,

Coffee...

Huh, these coffee-toffees won't work, you have to drink wine. You can't be human without drinking alcohol. If not, you will be jealous to see me all your life.

But Sefuda we don't have a wine shop here? If you search, one or two liters of distilled wine can be found.

So do you have to drink coffee?? You could tell me I'd send you a few bottles of wine.

If you were stuck at customs ??

Huh, Custom Detainee! Customs officers too cannot be human without drinking alcohol.

Customs officers won't drink detained alcohol, Sefuda. Those wines will be deposited into the government treasury.

They don't drink alcohol, so what do they drink?? Cola? Anyway, You start drinking distilled wine from today. Be human. You can stay young like me forever. Countless girls will follow you. You can become a loving man, artist, researcher, writer like me.

Hearing Sefuda's speech, I snatched the bottle of wine from Sefuda's hand and slammed it down my throat. If the girls really line up behind me. Even if it is not a long line of girls, it will be good for me if my old love returns to me.

I got a lot of gifts from her, nothing was given in return. If I can get the opportunity to send her some gifts! As soon as this thought came to my mind, I started swallowing more quickly.

I realized I started being human, girls are following me, it's not too late for me to be a boyfriend. All that is left is to ring a bell.

After a while, the bell started ringing. Sefuda's theory of alcoholism has worked. My phone is ringing, it's a call from my girl. I started flying to the air with a good and heavenly feeling.

Suddenly! I'm feeling that I'm going down ?? I think someone is pulling me. I thought it's that girl.

As soon as I fell, I heard a sound. Sefuda was terrified to see me fall down. Anxiously, a bottle of wine slipped from his hand and fell to the floor.

I was still on the ground, a little accustomed to seeing that I was lying on the floor, not on the ground. The glass filled with water next to me has fallen into several pieces.

Somehow I got up and realized that everything I had been seeing for so long was a dream. I don't even know when I fell asleep after coming from the office.

I went to the kitchen with sleepy eyes and prepare a coffee. Going to the roof, I see the street lights flickering and I think I have to check the taste of the Marlboro shuffle given by Tawfiq at noon, I'm very curious to see how this changes the color of fire.

I put the cigarette on my lips and light the fire. When I lift my hand to light the fire, I saw it's 11 o'clock at night. I was enjoying the change in the color of the fire with a tug of the cigarette, at that very moment, I heard a few knocks on the steel door of the roof, and went ahead.

Who ??

Huh, I… don't you recognize me ?? I am Chowdhury Sifatullah Sefu, a famous writer, researcher, and lover. The one you guys named Sefuda....

Sefuda is a famous public figure in my country living in Austria.

Aynabaji is Bangladeshi Crime thriller film Directed by Amitav Reza

Sharafat Karim Ayna is the main Protogonist of the film "Aynabaji".

In this fiction, The apartment of Mr. Ayna is look-alike to my apartment. In this fiction, expect the apartment, the name Sefuda, Ayna; all things are fictional.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.