Fiction logo

Night Sweat

A story of loss and gain

By Lacey DeariePublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
2
Night Sweat
Photo by Mink Mingle on Unsplash

It was a dream to begin with. I dreamt I was swimming. My brain created this image, almost a memory, of the day on honeymoon when we skinny-dipped. Then I remembered we got divorced and when I looked over at him, I saw no face. It frightened me and I woke up, still wet from the sea. I took a shaky breath and threw the covers off. He was gone. My youthful hope was gone. My libido was gone. My periods were almost gone. I felt loss, even though I had gained wisdom and candles on the cake.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Lacey Dearie

Indie author πŸ“š Blogger πŸ’» Humanities student πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸŽ“ Editor of the 27th best blog in Scotland apparently πŸ† Unapologetic daydreamer πŸ˜‘ Natural introvert/selective extrovert πŸ’ƒπŸ» Member of the Cat Writers Association πŸˆβ€β¬›

Find me on Komi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Two things- this is excellent and I felt it all. Also, only just realised you'ra a fellow Scot?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.